We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good choice for a stopover”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #56 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A really good choice for a stopover”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Qamardeen on our way to Milan. Last year we stayed at the sister hotel the Al Manzil.
We really enjoy Dubai as a 2 night stopover on our way to Europe from Austraila. After 16 hours on a plane I am ready to get off and we found 2 nights gets rid of your jet lag so when you hit Europe you are ready to go feeling well rested and relaxed.
The Qamardeen is a smaller hotel than the Al Manzil and this may account for the feeling of friendlieness that I felt from the moment we checked in.
We were extremely lucky as they had a room for us to check into early – Brilliant at 9am in the morning. As we’d flown all night from Sydney this was very welcome indeed.
The room was very similar to the Al Manzil, comfortable and cool. We had the hotel collect us in a car from the airport and next year will make sure I request this service again. Costs only about $30 and is such a pleasant and easy way to arrive at the hotel.
The hotel is within easy walking distance from the huge Dubai Mall – we ate all our meals here, is really good value and has a very varied choice for lunch and dinner. We also enjoyed watching the fountain show yet again (we’ve seen it before but it still highly entertaining).
This year we decided to go up the Burj and this was only about 15 mins walk from the hotel too. Do make sure you know exactly where the meeting point is – as much to our surprise it is not actually at the Burj, rather in the shopping centre next door. You enter the Burj via an underground passage way. Definately book your ticket ahead on line as this is much cheaper and it is well worth the price.
We also enjoyed a wander around the aquarium in the dubai mall. As we were a bit overtired and hot – that change in weather takes a bit of getting used to. A slow stroll around the mall was just the thing for 2 very weary travellers.
We also spent time having a ride on a traditional dhow across the creek and stopped for lunch at a riverside restaurant. The scenes we watched of all the heavily overloaded boats leaving the docks was very interesting and entertaining.
I now like 2 hotels in Dubai and can still not decide which one to go back to next year. Either are really nice and i enjoy both. The Al Manzil is a bit closer to the Mall but the Qamardeen is more boutique.

Enjoy the decision
regards
Suz

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest 'Suz003',

Thank you for truly wonderfully written review from a seasoned traveller like you.

Having gone through your previous posts, one can see that your posts are very useful to other travellers whom you have helped make the right decesion on where to stay and and where to go.

On behalf of the Qamardeen and Al Manzil teams here in Dubai, we are very humbled and encouraged by your positive comments regarding your stay, the location, the surroundings and the value for money.

I do hope that the choice for future travellers between these two gems in Dubai will not difficult as either Hotel will give excellent service delivery, value for money and tranquility in busy city.

Thank you again for the review.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    438
    76
    35
    19
See reviews for
270
699
205
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed her during a one day stopover in Dubai. Really nice hotel with lovely rooms, good pool and everything you would expect from this class of hotel. Staff were very nice and helpful, and the hotel is excellently placed for Dubai Mall and the Burj.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest - 'Paddy100',

Thank you for your concise review about your stopover stay at the Qamardeen Hotel.

We do hope that we can continue to re-invent and make the Qamardeen and even better place to stay for our guests.

best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Two nights here to break up the trip home was a welcome rest. Staff were very helpful and friendly - our request to book an extra night to fit in with our late departure was very quickly and efficiently dealt with. There is a large pool ( which we didn't try) ; a very good breakfast buffet; Dubai Mall is 15 minutes walk away with access to the fountains as well ( a shuttle bus is available at some times) ; and there is the opportunity to base yourself here and see other areas by taxi. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisll_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest -' Chris11_11',

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to note that you had a good stay and the stopover break worked out right.

The Qamardeen Hotel location works best for those on a quick journey break as it is ideally located for exploring all parts of the city within an easy 30 minute ride as well as a quick 10 minute walk to the Dubai Mall and nearby world class attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you again in teh near future.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I am currently sitting at the hotel lobby writing this review. I love this hotel. Very clean and comfortable. The room is nicely decorated, modern and definitely a great place to rest. The staffs are extremely helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is just perfect. Walking distance to Dubai mall and Burj Kalifah.

Unfortunately, I requested my check out time to be extended to later in the afternoon since my flight is at 2 am in the morning but they couldn't help me for the extension due to busy period of the hotel. I think the hotel could do slightly more to help their guest especially person like me, the first timer visiting Dubai.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dubai.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epchandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest -'Epchandavid',

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about Qamardeen Hotel.

It is great to know that the Hotel stay was good and that team and the location made it worthwhile for you.

However I have noted your disappointment about not getting a late check out as your flight was at 2am. As you have rightly pointed out, this was during a busy period hence extending your check out would have inconvinienced another traveller that would have paid and needing the room - my apologies for this.
We normally do try and accomodate such requests when we can.

I do thank you again and hope to see you in the near future.

Our Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Comfortable rooms, friendly and attentive staff. Clean and modern but with a middle eastern feel. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend it for either holidays or work travel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Multimuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest - 'Multimuffin',

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is good to note that you had a good stay and that the fusion between Modern and Middle Eastern was apparent and added to your stays' experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worriedwoman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Myself and my husband spent the final 2 nights of our trip to dubai here. we were very pleasantly surprised from start to finish it was excellent, our room was large and very clean, reception staff here are the nicest we have ever met. nice pool area small but nicely cooled and not busy when we were there. We walked home to the hotel both evenings by going through the car park of the souk al Bahar this was quite quick and manageable in the heat. the only negative to report is there was some construction noise which did disturb us a little bit I am sure there is little the hotel can do about this if we were staying longer we may have asked for a room at the back of the hotel. All in all a great value hotel in Dubai staff here are 5 star

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worriedwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest - 'Worried Woman',

It was great to read your review - thank you!

It was good to note that you the room size worked for you as did the courtesy of the reception team.

I have also noted your concern on the construction noise which we have since communicated to the concerened parties of a nearby building and this has subsided by a great amount.

We do thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Qamardeen.

Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel is less than 1/2 mile from the world's tallest building and the world's largest mall- not a bad location!! The rooms are a unique design but I liked it. The food is expensive. For the price and location you can't beat it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest - 'Emarsh69',

We do appreciate your feedback and your comments.

We have noted your comment that food is expensive and would like to comment that we have tried our utmost to ensure that the food is good value to the money paid.
However we shall take your comment in consideration as we periodically review all our pricing and content to ensure that the guest gets the best value for money paid.

Our Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#31 of 550 in Dubai
2,175 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#70 of 550 in Dubai
2,033 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#38 of 550 in Dubai
2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Taj Dubai
#11 of 550 in Dubai
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Property: Vida Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing