We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you can see the BURJ KHALIFA....sort of”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #52 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed May 23, 2011

very clean, tidy hotel, pretty close to the Burj Khalifa...however, a set of three tower blocks impedes your view...you can only see the top 30 or so floors with clarity.
However, the hotel is not bad at all....if you are in the lobby, though, needing a drink or some food, especially in the evening, I suggest that you approach the staff directly...they seem a little reluctant to approach you until you have placed your initial order

Room Tip: ask for a burj khalifa facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

Fast check-in and out, best service (include housekeeping)! It's near the Dubai mall and Burj Dubai. I planed to save money for eating, i used to eat at food court in Dubai mall. And I love this swimming pool in this hotel, it'small, clean, calm. But in the afternoon, i felt not good because of noise from constructing...

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ud.wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I travelled with my adult son. i was delighted with our down town central location. overall hotel was really fantastic. the only thing that bothered me was that the large windows did not give the privacy required, as there are apartments right across and the windows had only one thick curtain, no inner liner that can be drawn for privacy. so during the day, the curtains had to be left down for privacy. i complained a couple of times and the reception did suggest they could change rooms, but once settled in, we didnt really want to move around.
the definately need to look into this.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shammi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights here to finish our holiday after being in thailand.
the hotel was better than we expected. staff were spot on. we arranged hours before check in and our room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a pool room. we didnt use the pool while we were there but it was a small pool area but looked lovely and clean.
we had breakfast booked, if you havent its about £15. it was lovely and had a wide spread of food.
the rooms were lovely, the bathroom walls are glass but there are blinds to pull down. the toilet is separate.
the location was brilliant. right next the amazing dubai mall and burj kahlifa,
taxis everywhere were reasonable and the hotels private taxi was available with a very friendly driver.
i would love to stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessMungo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I hadn't heard of this brand when my office suggested this hotel while visiting Dubai on work but it seemed well located and so went ahead.

It was a stand alone boutique hotel, not attached to the Dubai Mall as I had expected, but a 10 minute walk away. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff competent and my overall experience was fine. I would probably stay within the Dubai Mall if I were to come with my family on holiday to avoid the walk from Burj Khalifa and the Mall.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsriram9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week.

Reception: We arrived at the hotel at 7am. The reception didn't have any record of our booking and post a call to the website (which we made) we managed to resolve it. Despite the disorganization they managed to check us in around 9:30am which was still in advance of the normal checkin time.

Room: We upgraded our room to a pool room after our first night. The room was good, had fully wired internet, was spacious and the accommodation staff checked it twice a day. It is impossible to fault the accommodation staff.

Pool: The pool is not too big but there always appeared to be enough loungers during our stay. The pool staff were excellent also.

Breakfast & Lunch : We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel and both were excellent.

Location: The hotel is located approximately 10 minutes walk from the Dubai Mall and the Burj Khalifa. There is a Starbucks approximately 5 minutes walk away and overall we were pretty happy with the location. The general area is under construction but this did not impact us in any way.

Taxis are normally waiting outside the hotel and the average cost to The Atlantis/Burj al Arab/Emirates Mall/ Hilton Beach is approximately 11-13 Euro each way. These attractions are approximately 15 minutes away from the hotel.

Overall I felt we got good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Downtown Dubai is one of the more interesting areas to be located particularly if you need to attend the World Trade centre exhibition halls which are close by.
Also if you want to go to the beaches of Jumeirah or Jebel Ali you are that bit nearer.
Dubai Mall, the fountain and Burj Khalifa are pulsating in the evenings and fun to visit.
Only Deira seems a long way away but its all comparative.

The hotel has a bit of local architecture as does the whole downtown area, even the streets have marble in them ! Service is excellent here. The pool area is v. attractive and the main restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet. I didn't eat other meals here.

The only let down is the room. Its ok, but the view is not wonderful and the room size compared to most 4 stars in Dubai is a bit on the small side. Some people like open bathrooms, I'm not one of them. Separate shower was excellent though.

All in all, pretty good value but I might try the Al Manzil next door which I believe is slighly better and part of the same group.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#23 of 561 in Dubai
2,325 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#67 of 561 in Dubai
2,406 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#72 of 561 in Dubai
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#40 of 561 in Dubai
2,831 reviews
Downtown Dubai
DAMAC Maison Dubai Mall Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#25 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $205 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing