We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites
Ranked #50 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at dubai marriott harbour hotel and suites in october 2011 & it was a wonderful experience. It has a fully equipped kitchen which is very convinient with small kids. The rooms were huge, neat, clean, excellent view from all rooms, all ammenities like tv in all rooms. But the hotel is 10 -15 mins walk to nearest metro station and the hotel also does not have any shuttle service to metro station. Either walk or catch a taxi..... The hotel has free shuttle to emirates mall which is really good. Overall a wonderfull experience. Shall definately stay at next visit...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherishTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHarbourMgr, Front Office Manager at Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Rishi03

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see that everything was up to your satisfaction while you were here.

We hope to welcome you back here in Dubai Marriott Harbour!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Since others have already quite rightly detailed the good aspects of this hotel (eg huge suites), I guess it falls on me to share the not-so-great aspects:

1) We had a lot of technical problems with our room. One TV didn't work (faulty cable), the fridge wasn't plugged in (leading to the first night's groceries having to be thrown out), the oven didn't work until we (after 20 minutes of waiting for someone to show up) tried pressing all the buttons and found out that the "hand" button (child lock?) got the oven going. Light bulb above the stove had blown. Scale in bathroom said it had a flat battery. All of these issues were eventually fixed by maintenance (some after 3 trips), however it took up a lot of our time, and no apologies were received at any point.

2) We had some very bad smells in our suite. On the first day we were told that someone had burnt toast in the suite next door and that this would not reoccur, and it didn't for a few days after that, but then it came back. The sofa smelled like urine. When we contacted maintenance about this, someone came and washed it while we were out, but that just made it even more damp, if anything making the problem worse. This never got resolved.

3) Kitchen lighting is pretty horrible - very, very bright flouro tubes. Nowhere to sit and completely cut off from the rest of the suite, too, so not possible for someone to make food while the rest of the family sits around chatting. No detergent of any sort, nothing for the dishwasher, we had to ask our housekeeper to get some. Kettle didn't work. No lids for the saucepans.

4) Our room had two bathtubs, however the hot water heater is so tiny that it runs out of hot water when the bathtub is half full, so it's impossible to use the bath.

5) Decor in our room was quite 80s (pale blue tiles).

6) The new building next door blocks sun from the pool area until around 1pm (at least in Nov), and as others have noted, the pool is FREEZING, so is only really usable between 1pm and 4pm, when the sun is shining directly onto it (in November).

7) As others have noted, big construction site next door, so there are huge trucks constantly driving back and forth right outside the lobby, it's dusty, etc, and you can't get anywhere without walking right by the construction site. Not much the hotel can do about this, of course, and the new building does look really cool.

8) As Marriott Gold we were entitled to free breakfast for 2, however our 3 kids had to pay. First 2 days it was 30 AED each, then the price went up. When we asked why, we were told that our kids ate more than they expected(!). I skipped breakfast after that.

9) It can take up to 10 minutes(!) to take the elevator from the 24th floor down to the lobby, and the same time to get back again. Sometimes (eg late at night) it can go much faster, but on average about 5 minutes. Situation is not helped by staff constantly using the elevators, despite the fact that they have one dedicated for staff use.

10) It takes about 30 minutes for the lobby staff to organize a taxi for 5 people, so if you are 5 or more, either book the taxi well in advance, or (given the low price of taxis in Dubai) just take 2 regular taxis.

11) Unfortunately I had to work a lot on our trip. Internet was generally OK, but occasionally agonizingly slow - it took me hours to do what I could do in minutes back home.

12) Staff do not respect the "Do not disturb" sign - they will just ring the doorbell regardless, and enter your room if you're not there to stop them. As with every other hotel in the world, it says "We care about the environment" and rules as to when they will change towels and sheets, but they don't follow it, they always change everything, every day.

As you can tell I was not so impressed with this hotel, and it sort of sums up why we no longer stay exclusively at Marriott. I used to be Marriott Platinum, but you really don't receive any sort of special service as a result, so better to stay wherever suits you rather than trying to be loyal to a single brand. If I ran a hotel and a Gold or Platinum member had as many problems as we did, then I would do something about it. There are a lot of good things about this hotel, and it's definitely worth considering for families. We really liked Dubai but next time we will probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyslopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHarbourMgr, Front Office Manager at Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Hyslopc,

Thank you for sharing your comments and we really appreciate you adding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your satisfaction while you were here. I will make sure to revisit your areas of concern with our division heads in order to ensure proper resolution to avoid reoccurrence of such incidents.

Thanking you again for your constructive feedback

We hope to welcome you back here in Dubai Marriott Harbour!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We are family of four with two teenager children. We have stayed at large appartment on the 12th floor with gorgeous view on to Marina. The hotel has lovely bar on 52nd floor with fantastic view of Dubai's skyscrapers. We have observed sunset and sunrise from two balconies we had. My teenage kids occupied double bed bedroom while we had master bedroom with large TV. The common living room had library with books for quests wanting to relax with good read by the hotel's pool. Kitchen is well equipped and Carrefour supermarket is within walking distance from the hotel. Room service menu is rich enough with variety of cousine on the offer with delivery time up to 45 minutes. Hotel also offers small fittness club and Spa. A bit difficult to get the appointment for the massage but the Spa itself seems like a tranquil place.

We would certainly recommend to families as very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaPasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHarbourMgr, Front Office Manager at Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear NinaPasz,

Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate you adding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that everything was up to your satisfaction while you were here. As you have mentioned our rooms are quite spacious and works really well with travelling families. I will make sure to share your comments with our team about your recent stay.

Thanking you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back here in Dubai Marriott Harbour!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed at the Marriott Harbour hotel at Dubai in May this year. I Had a roomy apartment to myself. Overall a very comfortable experience!! The rooms were neat and clean, ample toiletries, comfy bed and everything one would expect in a hotel. The living room was large and comfortable. Kitchen utensils were ample with tea and coffee facility. The location was also pretty OK with the marina a few steps away. The train station was also quite nearby, around 5 minutes walk through the Marina. Recommended for stay both by family and business people. The only issue was with the TV in the main bedroom. somehow it was not working properly. Every morning the alarm would go on in the morning and could not be somehow managed though the remote nor was the TV working properly. But overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sainbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHarbourMgr, Front Office Manager at Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Sainbasha,

Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate you adding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that your time here in Dubai Marriott Harbour was up to your satisfaction. I will make sure to pass your comments to our concerned deparments for overall room conditions.

Thanking you again for your feedback

We hope to welcome you back here in Dubai Marriott Harbour!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Excellent stay at apartment - was on 17th floor, only 6 apartments per floor so large lounge dining area, surprisingly large kitchen with every mod con, 2 large bedrooms & 1 small (slept 2 adults & 3 kids comfortably) 3 bathrooms. Very friendly service, didn't bother with breakfast (expensive) just walk round to Carre Four 5 mins round corner to stock up. Only 2 gripes: freezing pool, & argument with IT guy who wanted to charge us for room wifi we never used (use free Internet in business centre or lobby instead). Free shuttle to beach, Madinat souk, emirates mall all worth going to but for £2 take taxi to free beach at Dubai Marina Residences just 5mins away.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

First, I have to say that the Management (Islam) and the Concierge (Pio) were priceless during our 5 night stay at this hotel. We They were SO EXTREMELY helpful in getting around Dubai and making the best of our vacation. The hotel staff was always friendly.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, washer/dryer and utility room with fold-up bed. There were three bathrooms. Our suite was spotless. The kitchen was well-equipped with coffee-maker, teapot, toaster, dishwasher, stove, oven, refridgerator/freezer, etc. The bedrooms/hall area was separated from the living room and kitchen by a door to keep noise down for those trying to sleep--nice detail. There were flat screen tvs in the master and living room. The windows opened which was nice. There was also an iPod doc alarm clock in the master and an additional ethernet plug on the desk.

We had a city/marina view. BEAUTIFUL. Our room had no balcony...though our reservations stated there would be one. We were told that the balcony rooms did not have nice views.

The hotel is located on the Marina Walk, a short distance from lots of different restaurants--Chinese, Mexican, Turkish, Baskin-Robbins, Starbucks, pizza, etc. Everybody appeared to be smoking Sheesha during dinner. There were a couple of grocery stores with GREAT prices nearby. Try the Arabic bread it was fresh and lovely out of the toaster.

There is also a 5km jogging path that will take you to the beach & more shopping. The hotel shuttle will take you to the public beach and shops twice a day. A taxi to the public beach and shops costs about 10Dhms, just under $3.

The hotel shuttle will also take you to a shopping area and a mall. The Dubai Marina Metro station is about a quick 5 minute walk from the hotel. A daily pass is 16Dhms ($4.40) and is good for the Metro and all the buses. We got everywhere we wanted to go on the Metro. It runs until 11pm during the week and 12midnight on the weekends. The weekend starts Thursday night.

The hotel has a 24 hour self-service business center. There are a few computers and a meeting room with a small table. There is no wireless in the guest rooms or the business center. The wireless is in the hotel lobby is a pay service. You can also get wireless in the Counter Culture (lunch/snack cafe) free for one hour if you purchase something. The food in Counter Culture (soups, salad, sandwiches) is EXCELLENT. The high speed internet access in the room is wired only--if you don't have an ethernet plug in your laptop, get an adaptor before you go. If you buy internet for your room, the wireless in the lobby is included.

We went to the bar on the 52nd floor of the hotel nightly for drinks. Drinks are a little less expensive during happy hour. A happy hour glass of wine is 25 Dhms, regular price is 35 Dhms ($9.60). A bottle of wine during happy hour is about $30. Martinis are 40Dhms--$11. These appeared to be standard Dubai drink prices. The bar food is ok. Last drinks are served at 1am. In the Dubai, drinks are only served at bars inside of hotels. Therefore, do not look for drinks at the Marina Walk restaurants.

A local newspaper is delivered to the room daily. There is nice daily turn-down service during the week. They leave you complementary water and an apple.

Overall, our stay was lovely. We were only disturbed by the construction noise on the "twisted building" twice during our stay. One day, it started at 7:30am and continued through about 5pm. Since some of the Souk shops close between 1:30-4pm, the construction noise was noticable during our nap. Bring earplugs or noise cancelling headphones.

Room Tip: High room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuntieAnne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHarbourMgr, Front Office Manager at Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear AuntieAnn,

Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate you adding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Noting your experience and showcasing our property certainly adds a value for our future guests. I will make sure to share your generous comments about Islam and Pio in our next management meeting. They really appreciate your feedback.

Furthermore, I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the construction noise. Dubai Marina is a brand new area in the City of Dubai where construction continues around the clock. I will make sure to update your profile accordingly so that we will try to allocate a "quiet" room on your next visit.

I look forward for welcoming you back to Dubai Marriott Harbour on your next visit to Dubai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel . The 3 bedroom apartment was huge with full kitchen facility and utility room . Ideal for a family stay. Stayed on the 41 st floor which had magnificent views over the Marina . Restaurant and bar on 52 nd floor again has amazing views of the Palms. Staff all very friendly and I would stay here again if in Dubai.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHarbourMgr, Front Office Manager at Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Doug161,

Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate you adding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that everything was up to your satisfaction. I will make sure to pass your generous comments to our associates.

We hope to welcome you back to Dubai Marriott Harbour on your next visit to Dubai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
The H Dubai
#19 of 561 in Dubai
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#4 of 561 in Dubai
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites

Address: King Salman Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud Street, Dubai 66662, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#53 Family Hotel in Dubai
#87 Business Hotel in Dubai
#97 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $208 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true 4-star luxury at our deluxe hotel in the heart of Dubai. The Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites welcomes you with gorgeous one-, two- and three-bedroom suite accommodations, as well as an array of superb amenities that will delight you. Sample delicious cuisine at one of our three hotel restaurants, including The Observatory - an amazing 52nd-floor dining experience offering sweeping Dubai city views. If you're in Dubai for a meeting, the Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites is pleased to offer flexible venues and comprehensive event planning and catering services. If you're here to discover the city, you'll find some of Dubai's best attractions - including Dubai Marina, Dubai Yacht Club or Dubai Marina Mall - right at your doorstep. Venture slightly further from our 4-star hotel on the exciting new Dubai Metro and explore the Mall of the Emirates, Ski Dubai, Wild Wadi Water Park, Palm Jumeirah and the Burj Al Arab. We look forward to your visit at our deluxe accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel And Suites
Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel Dubai
The Harbour Hotel Residence
Emirates Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing