We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Personable”
Review of XVA Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
XVA Art Hotel
Ranked #60 of 547 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming & Personable”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is a small beautifully restored property in the sun-baked historic neighbourhood of Al Fahid. The immediate area of the hotel is a zone that is closed to traffic. Taxis do not know how to find this hotel, so have a map on hand and know where you want the taxi to drop you so you can walk in to the hotel. Have the hotel's phone # with you. All this being said, the journey is worth the effort ! The hotel also serves as an art gallery and its owner has filled the rooms and courtyard and additional gallery area with an eclectic rotating collection of works. The staff is all lovely. Breakfast and a café serves in the inner courtyard. In terms of hospitality, I think a special note is to be given to one of the managers, Iwan, who is knowledgeable in culture & art, helpful, enthusiastic, and genuine in his efforts to assist. A very personable hotel.

Room Tip: I think the back courtyard is best. So peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OpinionDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hallo OpinionDP,

Thank you for such a lovely note about our hotel. It is informative and personal at the same time.

We got along pretty well during your two visits as we share the same passions (arts & other fine things in life) and the same jokes as well. Giving you advices had been too easy job for me.

If you ever travel to this part of the world, you are always welcome to stay with us again.

Enjoy life to the max!

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager of XVA Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    169
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
269
109
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The fact that the manager knew our name on arrival and had the time to talk to us about what we wanted to do and make recommendations about where to go demonstrates the attention to detail he went to. The room, no 1 was as described, clean and perfectly presented, breakfasts where traditional, varied, well cooked where apropriate and completely sufficient. The staff where all smart and attentive.
There are thousands of moden, anonamous rooms in downtown Dubia vying for our money. Stay there if that's what you want or stay here in the old Dubia, off the beaten track away from the high rises. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is the one to choose if its available. Sleep quality only average due to traditional ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobwyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good morning Bobwyatt,

It has been a pleasure to read your review about us. Thank you very much for your time to write your opinion.

We do care about our guest; approaching them prior to the arrival to help with the program and on the spot, we also take our time to listen to the guests' wishes.

Yes, room 1 is special with the view and windows but forget not that all our rooms are uniquely designed, all special yet deepening on your taste.

Happy travelling, Bobwyatt!

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager of XVA Art Hotel, Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Comfortable Space. Charming Personality. Attentive Staff.

I'm not a high maintenance person by any stretch of the imagination, but certain things make for an outstanding experience. From the reservations process, to possibly checking in early, to booking a desert safari tour, and even offering a shower room after my check-out and before my late-night flight made my stay at XVA exceptional.

I can attest to what other reviewers wrote here: it is a beautiful hotel, with an art gallery, in the historic district of Dubai. The property really is gorgeous! And when you add to that the level of service from the staff - you really cannot go wrong.

Thank you again, Iwan! Hope to be able to host you someday here in Cebu, Philippines!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Trish671,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our attention to details, the human touch that makes your stay in XVA special.

As you mentioned, you are definitely not a high maintenance type of guest. You gave a certain cheerful ambiance to our hotel.

Passing Dubai again? You know where your home is :)

Warmest regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Prior reviews set a high expectation for the hotel and Staff
It meets all of them.
First the location is quite in a clean pedestrian only area. This requires a shot walk to the hotel.
We arrived very late and the cab driver called and the night manager came to the cab to help with our bags
Cab ride at midnight from airport was 10 min and $15 with a nice tip.
Room is very nice with 12 ft ceilings and a lot of art. Windows are high in wall on the exterior and court yard sides. This is not a room with a view but very comfortable
Iwan is the helpful manager everyone raves about. He came by to welcome us at breakfast and took care of our desert tour. I emailed him prior to arrival and he quickly responded with great help.

The tour he suggested was magical. heritage Tours. Arriving in the desert camp after dark by camel is special as is the dinner
Oh don't miss the Lemonaid with mint. A mohito with out the rum!!!!
We are very happy and had a special time the big hotels can't offer.

Thanks to Iwan and his staff
James & Anne

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Good morning James C,

We are rather suprised how soon you wrote a review about us, practically when you were still staying with us. Thank you so much.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and learned that you enjoyed the advices I personally gave you. These kinds of details I intend to give to all of my guests.

Next time you are passing Dubai, do contact us again. We have surely tons of new ideas to spend your time in our city.

Happy travelling,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager of XVA Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The XVA is a lovely surprise in the heart of old Dubai. The staff is terrific, the food delicious and the space is divine. This is one of a very few places where you can sense of what life might have been like before modern Dubai rose from the desert. And the best part: when you step out of your room, you’re in an amazing gallery, filled with excellent original art.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear PLC64,

It is great to hear how you like our hotel. The combination of contemporary art is calm heritage setting has pleased you in many ways.

We are in constant changing with the exhibition and the room decoration, you'd be suprised that next time you come, you'll soak in a different atmosphere.

Enjoy your period in Abu Dhabi and do visit us while you are in Dubai.

Warmest regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager - XVA Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a fabulous, peaceful hotel in the middle of very busy Dubai. Close to the Dubai Creek and within easy reach of the Souks, XVA Art Hotel is a gem. Iwan and his staff are charming and so helpful. Be sure to try the mint lemonade. We will stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Alexandra T,

We are gorgeously happy with your review, so compact and inviting.
We shall keep it this way, maintaining our style and extending our smiles to the guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel.

Have a nice day.

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager - XVA Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

First of all, we are very thankful and super happy that we found this place and every time we got back from exploring the crazy city of Dubai we were like "Oh man it's so awesome to be back here"!

The hotel is in the old (rebuilt) city of Dubai and it's only a easy 2-minute walk from the entrance gate. The hotel is all about arts and even if you are not into that (like me ;-)) you feel comfortable and chill at any time. The room (no 3) was on the first floor and we loved it right away. It's nice, clean and cosy. A bit on the smaller side but that's not an issue at all. The best part was the deck with a couch and swing overlooking the courtyard. The whole old town is lit up at night so very romantic if you are into that :-)

The room comes with breakfast which is absolutely outstanding! There is a selection of 3 but I personally recommend the pancake - yummy! Great coffee too. Breakfast area is in the courtyard which turns into the XVA café after breakfast is served. A really nice athmosphere... We also highly recommend relaxing in the café and try one of their fresh vegetarian meals and of course do not miss their famous Mint Lemonade - to die for!

I'd also like to highlight the customer oriented and super friendly service all of their stuff offered at any time.

Whoever owns the XVA hotel, they can consider themselves fortunate to have found Iwan the Hotel
Manager. He's a real character, a funny guy that performs customer service at its finest. He gave us the best advice on what to visit - he literally suggested things for us which totally hit the nail on the head without even knowing us - the guy knows :-) He also suggested the best restaurants in the area and gave us several options - I will never forget the Iranian restaurant he sent us to where we had an amazing dinner for about 10 USD for two :-) Thanks for everything Iwan!

All in all, we highly recommend this hotel to anyone who does want to stay away from a dull and cold Dubai hotel resort with a busy road in front - this place has real charme so do yourself a favor and stay there!

(Swiss couple P + M)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank prapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Prapbc,

Thanks a million for such a raving review. The way you write it is just like the way you made conversation with me.

All made possible by the great XVA Team and the happy spirit of yourself.

I hope you will pass by Dubai again - trying our mint lemonade - or getting some good tips from me for visiting the ever changing Dubai.

All the best,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager of XVA Art Hotel, Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Sea View Hotel
#43 of 547 in Dubai
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Ascot Hotel
#48 of 547 in Dubai
1,394 reviews
J5 Rimal
#25 of 547 in Dubai
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XVA Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XVA Art Hotel

Property: XVA Art Hotel
Address: Al Fahidi St | Opp Musallah Post Office, Near Dubai Museum, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 547 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — XVA Art Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and peaceful boutique hotel, XVA is set within the heart of Al Fahidi quarter, formerly known as Bastakiya, the oldest region of Dubai. Unique for its Persian architectural heritage, its maze-like alleyways and proximity to the Creek, Al Fahidi is viewed today as one of the cultural centrepoints of Dubai. XVA occupies a renovated traditional majilis-style building, boasting original architectural motifs and wind towers and three open courtyards, in which one can relax and soak up the exceptional atmosphere of this heritage space. XVA’s Art Hotel includes twelve boutique rooms, designed by well-established designers and artists from the region. These include Zayan Ghandour, Numa, Nada Debs & Karim Rashid (Gaia&Gino).The XVA Art Hotel is covered in many national and international travel publications. Featured in Condé Nast Traveller as one of the 10 hotels to stay in Dubai and in 2006 as the number 1 “Not To Miss” spot in Dubai, Wallpaper magazine mentioned us as a boutique hotel to stay. Lonely planet listed us twice in their recent Dubai guide as a place to stay and to have lunch. For transit travellers, this hotel is ideal due to its close proximity to Dubai International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your XVA Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing