We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel in the heart of historic Dubai”
Review of XVA Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
XVA Art Hotel
Ranked #60 of 547 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A unique hotel in the heart of historic Dubai”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

With the help of a friendly taxi driver, and maps provided by the XVA hotel staff, I arrived very early one Saturday morning in May 2012. I was greeted with smiles and offers of breakfast, before being shown to my room.

The room was a perfect haven for the tired traveller, arriving from Australia – cool, with a airconditioning and a fan, a large, comfortable bed with lots of pillows, drinks in the fridge and magazines to read. The bathroom exceeded my expectations as well – all the luxuries of a five-star hotel, but hidden behind large, ornate timber doors.

The rooms lead out onto a leafy courtyard, with tables and chairs, and displays of work by local artists. The cafe, which is part of the hotel, has an entirely vegetarian menu, with a delicious array of food. For dinner I had the eggplant burger, which was a very satisfying meal, while still being light – perfect for the 40 degree heat. I had been strongly encouraged by others to try the mint lemonade, and it didn’t disappoint...I will be looking for a recipe so that I can make it for myself! The placemats are laminated pages of the guest book, with thanks and praise from around the world.

At breakfast the next morning, I had the pancake, which also came with pita bread and cream cheese. Before heading to the airport, I returned to the hotel from my sightseeing, for yet another mint lemonade!

I would highly recommend this hotel, and its staff, who were unfailingly friendly and helpful. I was sorry to not have time to see the gallery, but will definitely be returning on another trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Natasha,

I enjoyed reading your review very much and regret not to thank you earlier for this. This kind of informative review brought many travelers to our hotel.

Please pass by our hotel again as you stop over in Dubai. This will be a nice deja vu experience as nothing much has changed since you left, except the time.

Best regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    169
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
269
109
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

When the taxi dropped us off coming from the airport we thought this must be a mistake: At night the area around the XVA hotel is dark and very quiet, unlike the busy streets only a few hundred meters away. The hotel itself is an oasis of quietness and "down to earthness", especially considering the hundreds of 5 star hotels all catering pretty much the same way. Styled like a traditional regional house, the rooms are located around the inner courtyard which during the day serves as the XVA Café and attracts dozens of tourists.

If you are looking to spend a few nights in one of the record breaking biggest, must luxurious, most expensive 5 star hotels, you will be disappointed by XVA. If you are looking for a laid back, hostal type of accomodation in a quiet place away from the shopping malls, this is a very nice alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Felix_333,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and location of the hotel. It has been a year ago you were with us, I can assure you that our service and products have not changed in characters. Due to high request from our guests, we are now opening our restaurant for dinner as well.

When will we welcome you back to our hotel?

Have a nice day!

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We liked the location in the only heritage place in Dubai, and yet close to everything. The room with a nice bathroom was comfortable and charming. The breakfast was excellent, although I would appreciate more diversity. The service is great. What gives this hotel a good vibe is the art collection and the artists. If they would have a swimmingpool it would be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Rita,

Thank you for taking your time writing this review. You seem to enjoy the arts exposed in our gallery. The vibe continues as Dubai art scene has gotten been flourishing the past year, with many new galleries and exhibitions. This March we will take part in Sikka Art Fair (a local initiative accompanying Art Dubai), annual art celebration in our neighborhood. Some artists will place three installations all over our hotel. It will be an exciting time.

Would this be a good reason for you to revisit Dubai and our hotel?

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice hotel situated in the Bastakiya district of Dubai. There are exhibitions and a nice breakfast in the cafe also open to the public. Rooms are smallish but nice and individually decorated. You will probably encounter quite a number of tourist so it is not a quiet place during daytime. The neighbourhood is fantastic, though and you are close to the old part of Dubai.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikkelholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, USA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The XVA Hotel was perfect for us, in a newly rebuilt "old town" area, within walking distance of many attractions as well as convenient to the subway, and quietly serene and cool after a hot day of touring. Our room was off the second courtyard, beautifully decorated in a traditional-style building. Breakfast was served in the first courtyard and was delicious. The desk staff was extremely helpful in providing information and directions to subway, sights, and taxis. The hotel held our luggage on the last day and provided facilities for showers before we headed to the airport for a very late flight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed 3 night in a deluxe suite, check in 22 Jan 2012.... simply perfect! It's also true that this is a charme hotel, so please Stupid people that rated very low this place .... Write on google Charme Hotel. Next time book a business Hotel or if you are so rich go to burj Al Arab!?!?
XVA is located in the only and last old part of Dubai, very close to river and creek, but in a very quite spot. Breakfast is simple and fresh done. Staff smiling and polite. We stayed in room 1 but in general all the rooms are not so big due to the old building that was born hundreds year ago not to be an hotel.
If you are a traveller book this Hotel, if you are a turist....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aprivite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Pretty expensive place for little value. The rooms are small and quirky, which is cool, but they WAY overcharge for it. For over $250 USD a night my first room had no hot water, then I changed rooms and the sink didn't have hot water. It was later fixed, but the staff was a little inexperienced and generally were not overly customer service orientated. When we checked in we were just taken to our room with no explanation of the hotel. For the prices they are charging, they need to get their act together.

The neighborhood is cool, unique, and the hotel could be a very nice boutique hotel- but they need to drop their prices significantly. I don't recommend it unless you get the price down to about $150 USD.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a little more space, but are also WAY overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Sea View Hotel
#43 of 547 in Dubai
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Ascot Hotel
#48 of 547 in Dubai
1,396 reviews
J5 Rimal
#25 of 547 in Dubai
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XVA Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XVA Art Hotel

Property: XVA Art Hotel
Address: Al Fahidi St | Opp Musallah Post Office, Near Dubai Museum, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 547 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — XVA Art Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and peaceful boutique hotel, XVA is set within the heart of Al Fahidi quarter, formerly known as Bastakiya, the oldest region of Dubai. Unique for its Persian architectural heritage, its maze-like alleyways and proximity to the Creek, Al Fahidi is viewed today as one of the cultural centrepoints of Dubai. XVA occupies a renovated traditional majilis-style building, boasting original architectural motifs and wind towers and three open courtyards, in which one can relax and soak up the exceptional atmosphere of this heritage space. XVA’s Art Hotel includes twelve boutique rooms, designed by well-established designers and artists from the region. These include Zayan Ghandour, Numa, Nada Debs & Karim Rashid (Gaia&Gino).The XVA Art Hotel is covered in many national and international travel publications. Featured in Condé Nast Traveller as one of the 10 hotels to stay in Dubai and in 2006 as the number 1 “Not To Miss” spot in Dubai, Wallpaper magazine mentioned us as a boutique hotel to stay. Lonely planet listed us twice in their recent Dubai guide as a place to stay and to have lunch. For transit travellers, this hotel is ideal due to its close proximity to Dubai International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your XVA Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing