We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shocking treatment of old people” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dubai International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dubai International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“shocking treatment of old people”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

An elderley couple arrived from Geneva at midnight with a written prepaid confirmation of funds paid in full for their stopover in Dubai before they continued their journey, and were denied access to their room by reception as they said the accommodation had not been prepaid. What is the world coming to when old people are left in transit for 10 hours because someone never did their job correctly ! ! ! Of course the check in personel now have no recollection of this incident at all and no one wants to take the blame. When I called earlier I asked to be transferred to a manager but got cut off in the process. I am a travel agent and I will never ever recommend any one to stay with this hotel again
The staff pretend not to know what is going on.
shocking ! ! !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank inge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,510
    1,480
    308
    82
    65
See reviews for
1,122
1,216
689
1,133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very expensive hour hotel ( we were told that 140Euro is good deal for 6 hour stay,room only rate), but when you are exhausted and you don't have any other option that to pay or shop from midnight until 10am (not very suitable with tired 6month old) you take it. The hotel is located above the check in gates, with one way windows and provides great relax. Its furnished nicely in pleasant coloured scheme and you just wish you could stay longer in the big comfortable bed or have another hot shower. But when you look on the bill when you get home you don't understand why you have paid so much for a room which is not so special and it is not located in central Rome, Paris or Venice, but in the airport hall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had a 5 hour stop-over in Dubai - not long by many standards - but we had been travelling economy class with Emirates from Australia and hoped to arrive in Europe in good condition. At approx $115 for the room, it wasn't cheap by any standards but we decided that compared to buying two meals, coffees, wandering around tired and aimless for that time and possibly buying things we could do without, it would be realistic value. We were met at the Emirates gate by a man with our names on a sign who personally whisked us up to the check-in desk where we had a prior booking. In no time at all we and our hand luggage were installed in a very cool, curtain darkened room with twin beds, luxurious doonas, coffee and tea making facilities and white robes and slippers. We had a lovely shower, a cup of tea, and slid under the doonas where we fell soundly asleep. Although we had set our own alarm, the reminder call from the front desk that we needed to head down to our next connecting flight was reassuring. When we looked out of the curtain we could look down into the departure lounge at all the people trying to sleep in chairs and pacing about. It was one of the most inspired decisions of a 6 week trip and would do it again whenever travelling through Dubai. And yes, we did arrive in Prague in good shape!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I flew Emirates from Manchester to Bangkok and as I was travelling with a pregnant wife and a very active infant, the thought of a 2 hour connection in an uncomfortable airport seat followed by a 7 hour flight was daunting. I therefore booked the tickets so that the connecting flights were 12 hours apart.
This hotel is NOT cheap but is very convenient for the transit passenger. We decided that paying the little extra was better than collecting our luggage, passing immigration, transferring to and back from a hotel in town in the burning desert heat and then re-checking in and re-passing security.

We were greeted at the gate by the hotel representative and escorted past transit security to the hotel. Check in was very quick. The room was very clean and had all the amenities that we needed. The cot bed that I had asked for had been set up (I’d emailed them 72 hours prior). The room was very quite even though the buzzing duty free was directly below us. The bed was very comfortable and we certainly were not disturbed.
We were tired and the room service menu was very good so we decided to have lunch in the room. However, there is no shortage of restaurants, cafes or fast food joints in the Duty Free.
The hotel doesn't have free WiFi but I took advantage of the 30 minute free use of the net in the business suite.

I didn't use the pool or spa but both looked quite good. The gym is small but well equipped.

The best part was checking out and then heading to the gate (a 3 minute walk) 20 minutes before departure.

Overall, a very pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone transiting in Dubai. If you are travelling on a long haul journey and have a 8-24 hour layover then this hotel is definitely worth it.

Tip: if staying in this hotel then you cannot collect your baggage. Make sure you pack some clothes in a trolley bag or backpack. You won’t need toiletries as they are provided in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr_moe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the Dubai International during a layover last year and it worked so well that I planned the flight to specifically to include the layover this year. Advance purchase keeps the price down (although it is expensive) and ensures you're met as you get off the plane. The guy who did the escort obviously knew his way aroud and took me through a security scan that had no-one waiting so got to the hotel check-in very promptly. Within a very few minutes I was in the room.

The room was better than I remembered from last time - some refurbishment has been going on and other than one or two marks on the carpet it was spotless. Had room service before bed and again at breakfast for less than 100 dirhams total which I though was not bad.

For people who don't realise, this hotel is airside and you don't have access to your checked luggage - that's the whole point. But really you need no hand luggage other than a change of clothes - all toiletries, bathrobe and slippers are supplied.

As I got on to my flight to Australia the next morning I felt a miilion times better than I would have if I had just transferred straight off the flight from Europe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jslonisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had a 10 hour stopover in Dubai although with flight delays it was only 8 hours. We were meet off the airbridge from the Emirates flight and escorted through transit security and up to the hotel within 20 minutes of landing. The check-in was slightly chaotic but the room was well presented and it was lovely to have a sleep and shower before continuing on with the long flight to New Zealand. I would definitely stay here again if in transit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel, as you would expect, is high-priced for little luxury. However, when you have that really long layover in Dubai, and you don't want to go through the hassle of going through customs (visas, etc.), then it is really worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Atlantis, The Palm
#91 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,677 reviews
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Melia Dubai Hotel
#94 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#24 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubai International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubai International Hotel

Property: Dubai International Hotel
Address: Dubai Airport | Terminals 1 and 3, Dubai 3556, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Dubai
Hotel Class:5 star — Dubai International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Dubai International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing