We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chef knows what he's doing and he's it doing great!”

Soul Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #24 of 10,059 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Marina
Description: Soul is situated on the hotel's second floor and comprises a bar, lounge and evening restaurant. It has an indoor-outdoor poolside bar and lounge setting which is open from 12 noon, and a New York-style brasserie restaurant that opens only for dinner. The venue's sassy spirit and urban atmosphere is second to none, providing an engaging, casual and sociable place to enjoy poolside cocktails and exceptional food. With an air of vibrant Manhattan and music to match, Soul Bar & Lounge serves mood-enhancing artisan cocktails, rare whiskies and malts, inventive wine flights and chilled beers. Soul restaurant's funky design harbours a comfortable ambience where guests can enjoy fresh local seafood, shellfish, global steaks and other selections from the brasserie menu for dinner. Complementing the exquisite food is a vast selection of by-the-glass-wines, along with a choice of indoor or al fresco dining. This bar, restaurant and lounge venue combines night-time glam with an upbeat, engaging atmosphere.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had the pleasure of going to Soul with two friends of mine and had a fantastic evening. The service was very friendly and eager to recommend us the most popular dishes, for a good reason, as those were very tasty! The ambiance is great and restaurant stands out from all other restaurants in hotel I've been - you really dont feel you are actually inside a hotel! Eddy, the chef has a great innovative talent and brought to us a delicious meal with the highest quality meat I had in Dubai! The side dishes were also very good and I am definitely looking forward to hit this gem again. The Soul raised my standards and now it will be harder to be impressed by another brasserie -steakhouse in Dubai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jon_aesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHotelJBR, General Manager at Soul Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Soul restaurant as your dining destination in Dubai.

We are delighted to hear that you found the service friendly and the ambience great. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the meal and found the meat to be as one of the highest quality meat in Dubai. We have passed on your kind compliments to the team, especially to Chef Edi and they are equally delighted.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Horst Walther-Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 359 of 429 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

One word to describe the steak and experience I had at Chinwaggery, PERFECTION. It was truly the nicest steak I ever had. The spices on the eye rib were fresh and vibrant and it was cooked perfectly. From appetizers to dessert we have not been disappointed The ambience and feeling of the restaurant was amazing; the perfect place to go with the girlfriend or mates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gyombybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My Wife and I had a superb meal here although I thought it was called something else. We met the Head Chef who came out to speak to us after each course! My dishes included Halibut and a superb duck dish. All were very, very good.

Really nice and the bar attached was also a nice little spot for a drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHotelJBR, General Manager at Soul Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Mr. Pete,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal at the Soul restaurant and found food of very good standard especially the halibut and duck dish. We are glad to know that you liked the Chinwaggery Bar and found it to be a nice spot for drinks.

Mr. Pete, thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Horst Walther-Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Could not recommend this place more. The staff were very accommodating and answered every request, the chef's recommendation for the steak was second to none, overall a very very good restaurant.

2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHotelJBR, General Manager at Soul Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Mr. Michael

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you found our Soul restaurant good and enjoyed the Chef's recommended Steak, which is definitely one of our signature dishes. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff accommodating and helpful.

Once again thank you very much for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Horst Walther-Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went to Chinwaggery on a Friday night and chose to be seated outside. The patio area was pleasant and from 8pm there was a saxophonist, the whole atmosphere was very relaxed. I do really like staff who are attentive without being bothersome and claustrophobic. Our service was great, we were able to take courses at our own pace without people hovering, but if you wanted something they were there instantly. OK fillet steak, vegetables and a sauce are not great culinary test, but I was just wowed by this meal. Every element was flavoured and cooked to perfection. The poached pear dessert was nice too, although I thought the cloves were in danger of overwhelming the other flavours. A really enjoyable evening and a must repeat on my next visit to Dubai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHotelJBR, General Manager at Soul Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Mr. Nigel,

Thank you for visiting Chinwaggery+Soul and for taking time to write a review on TripAdvsior.

We are happy to know that found the atmosphere of the restaurant relaxed and pleasant and liked our staff service and attention. We are also glad to hear that you were wowed by the meal, especially steak which is one of our signature dishes. We have also noted your feedback with regards to the flavour of cloves in the poached pear dessert and would like to thank you for the same.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Horst Walther-Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Soul Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing