We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - staff need training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Ranked #222 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The rooms were nice, they obviously allow smoking in the rooms as there was a slight smell of cigarettes, but not too bad. We requested a room furthest away from the nightclub after reading reviews here and didn't have any issues with the noise. The bed was soft and room spotless. The staff however need training. Filipino girl who checked us in didn't know where anything in Dubai was.
Didn't eat at the restaurant there as there are far better restaurants in Dubai to eat at. Cost-wise it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 554 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were picked up from the airport which was nice, then arrived and all looked good. Got to the room and it stank. It was a smoking room. I was so sick from it, it's not funny. I asked to be moved however they couldn't move us. We were also supposed to get a fruit basket in the room and turn down service with chocolates well this never happened. Not happy with this hotel and my husband paid a good amount for the captains room. None of the lights worked in the room except 2 and there was no hot water in the shower. I had a hotter shower at the beach that day which was lovely. I would recommend finding somewhere else if you can and give this one a miss. I've stayed in 2 star places which are better in the middle of Asia.... Oh and there was a spa bath which was huge and doubled as a shower. The water went everywhere except in the bath and it's so slippery for a shower so be careful. Oh and the breakfast was great and the service in the kitchen and from the staff at the front door was great as well. 5 stars to them but not the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived and could not get as room until after 2 pm. No problems, we stored our luggage. When we did get to our room we stayed four nights. 9th floor. Room was clean but bit small, and lighting rather drab. The room has stale air and no opening windows, so we started to get giddy. Air con works but sir is still stale. Perhaps a few pot plants woudl alleviate this somewhat. Wi Fi not easy to get. Breakfast next day was a buffet, (scramble to get a seat and find cutlery). Food was plkentiful and warm. Coffee however was not good. The staff in the dining area are not trained and second day asccused us of not paying. We told them three times our room number. Chasing us into the main lobby nd asrguing with us was embarrassing. On our departure the night before my husband settled the acount and asked for early morning wake up.....this never happened,. Upon leaving the reception wanted more money for hotel tax. We explained we had already paid, but she demanded more. We refused to pay more, as it is a clerical error on their system. Concierge was helpful.
There is a nightclub as part of the hotel, so maske sure you dont get a room near there as the music plays past midnight. The location is quite a walk from the train stations so you need to get a cab once you get off the trains.

Room Tip: Get a room furtherest away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have stayed here three times now using Dubai as a two night stopover en route from Australia to London and Paris. Our travel agent always obtains a good rate and I think the hotel represents very good value for money. It is reasonably well situated in that it is a cheap short taxi ride to anywhere you would want to go in Dubai. Rooms large and clean, Beds comfortable, air conditioning very good. Buffet breakfast not brilliant but adequate.
Dubai is not a destination, more a staging point and this hotel is a good place to rest before continuing on with your journey

Room Tip: Lots of groups stay at the Hotel so go to breakfast a little later (say 8.45 AM) as the crowds have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great stay at Grand Excelsior formerly known as Dhow Palace which is conveniently located in Bur Dubai area , Good location for shopping and Night life. The rooms are quite spacious and tidy . The staff very helpful . Ideal for groups and individuals.

Room Tip: may ask for the main road view from the room otherwise all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudeepms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel was an amazing surprise. It was stuck out in a back street near the Emirates Mall- no views- built like a ship inside and outside. It had fabuloue staff an excelent manager who worked very hard in the two weeks we stayed there to make our stay a real pleasure. The food was so good and differet every night that it was pointless going anywhere else but they also had a Grill room restaurant which was silver sevice and beautifully elegant. The room was so big and the bed the most comfortable bed I ever slept in I did not want to leave. It was walking distance to the Emirates Mall which is always fun to visit and close to a Tashkent restuarant which serves nice an cheap Uzbekistan food very nice. One other great feature which is missing from even 5 star hotels was it had a separate shower not over the bath which is the way it shoul be. I have very fond memories of this hotel even though there was nothng to see around it.

Room Tip: Any corner room on any floor only not the floor with the pool and spa as you can smell the chlorine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nash 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Checked in for a few hours of sleep after an early morning arrival from Istanbul, before a night flight back to Manila. It took forever to check in, perhaps due to our large group. Hotel interiors are a bit on the pretentious opulence side, not really to my taste. Decided to have breakfast first before getting some rest. Good breakfast. Found out they gave my friend and I a room with just one huge king sized bed instead of twin beds we requested for. Too tired to argue, we just went ahead to use the room. Huge room, huge bed, clean bathroom but certainly dated furniture, bordering on tacky. Thankfully, the free wifi and strong air conditioning in the room made up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasalamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#176 of 556 in Dubai
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#172 of 556 in Dubai
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.0 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai

Address: Bur Dubai Al Kuwait St 25, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $66 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing