We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in with confidence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Ranked #232 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Grand Excelsior) proved to be ideal for our one night in Dubai.
Our room on the sixth floor afforded excellent views of Dubai's architectural wonders
particularly at night. Very spacious and equipped with all one could need. Comfortable large
beds. Public lounge areas were cool and have plenty of soft couches and chairs.

Staff pleasantly efficient and always helpful. Spotlessly clean everywhere.
Do not be put off by fellow cruisers comments - this hotel does what it says on the tin and does it well.

Room Tip: Go high if you can - sixth floor and up
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 543 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Currently staying at grand excelsior , arrived yesterday and had nothing but bad service from the start , staff are stuck up especially the women ,
Found my safe open when i returned from the mall . Asked reception to send some one up ... Its been 1 hour and im still waiting . Although nothing was missing to my knowledge the fact that no one has come to see me is poor . Will never return again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheikh9288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights - staff was good, wifi is free in the room (not often in dubai), rooms are clean and sleep quality was also good. The only thing - Al Karama metro station is very close to this hotel, but they didn't want to let me know this. First day I a took a taxi to the metro station and he started to drive me to the Burj al Khalifa (this taxi is the hotel taxi) in the end he wanted 20 AED to let me out without a bill or anything. I asked him about any bill or something he told me i can get it in the hotel. After i didn't ask, didn't want to spend my time on this.
There are two or three night clubs in this hotel - my room was on a good position so i didn't had any problems with sleeping.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Hoodstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have stayed a few times in Dubai and always be delighted with our choice of hotels, afterall, that is one of the main attractions of dubai, the grand opulent hotels. However, this hotel was booked as part of a cruise package and we did not choose it! It was clean and the staff were friendly but I would never choose to stay there!
It is old, dated Arabic style of hotel - not for me!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice hotel, very near to Barjuman City Center and Centerpoint. Also, near to Al Karama Metro Station. Hotel has good interiors and beautiful designed rooms. Easy to locate on the main road. Enjoyed 3 nights stay at this hotel. Would recommend for travelers.

Room Tip: Check for Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms/floors
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We used this hotel for a recent business conference, and accommodation for about 20 of us. I was very happy with all aspects of this hotel, the conference room was clean, comfortable and a good size, the food was excellent especially the nibbles for the conference and the staff went out of there way to help us, (especially the care taker who lent us his personal tools and the chef who got me custard for a demonstration I needed to do). My own room got upgraded to the captain suite which was amazing, and I like that you get two bottles of water every day. The internet was free and it was much faster then any other hotel I have stayed in. So overall the conference was a success, the attendees were happy and I was happy.

Advice I would give to travellers is make sure you take note of the previous "Dhow Palace" name to avoid confusion as many taxi drivers know it as this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Staying here now, if you booking make sure you are not at the side of the entrance, there is a nightclub with noise at 3.am when it closes, other then this, nothing to complain good hotel and good friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vrslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#176 of 554 in Dubai
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Palace Hotel
Regent Palace Hotel
#314 of 554 in Dubai
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#43 of 554 in Dubai
1,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai

Address: Bur Dubai Al Kuwait St 25, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $46 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing