We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , ok service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Ranked #245 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Dehradun, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location , ok service.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is located in bur dubai which is sort of a central location. Had booked three rooms and they allowed one on a different floor. Even on requesting they refused to shift it to the same floor as the other two. House keeping service too was poor and never responded on time. Stayed there for six nights and twice the room wasn't cleaned properly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitoberai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    195
    109
    49
    39
See reviews for
101
102
55
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I arrived very late on April 25 just looking for comfortable room to sleep, front office staff Ahmed Tayel he was helpful and find for me a room on that late time (4:30 AM) even I don't have any booking.
Morning time around 11:00 AM I received call from one of the staff I can’t remember her name asking me to checkout (impolite) because the checkout time is 12 noon which I knew already,
I try to order breakfast from the room service but most of the items which mention on the room service menu it are not available.
Room is clean but the bed mattress and duvet is not comfortable hotel management need to do something for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daoudi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family for three nights and enjoyed our time spent in the hotel. Our room was spacious with plenty of space for my kids to run/play around. The Indian restaurant on the ground floor offers great food (with live music) at reasonable prices. I noticed some girls dancing in the bar next door but I didn't go in. There is spa and a small pool on the terrace. It can be a little crowded/noisy in the late evening (specially on the weekends) as there are good restaurants on ground floor and a disc/pub in the basement.

The staff was nice and polite but all of them were very busy as the lobby was full of guests waiting to check in. I will stay here again gladly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Dhow Palace is above average and well located. The room are extremely spacious and quite well-maintained. The hotel lobby itself is extremely noisy and always crowded. For some reason it lacks privacy and you feel like you're in a mall rather than in a hotel lobby. The choice of restaurants is good and they have a very nice Indian restaurant with live Hindi music(ghazals, etc) an. d they also have a nice Chinese restaurant. Breakfast spread was ok but its served in a banquet hall, not in a restaurant. I had issues with wi-fi connectivity most of the time, but the staff were very helpful. Overall, a functional place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSearcher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is well located if you are working in Dubai, it doesn't take long to get to the main business district, airport or International Trade Centre.

The food is good and the beer no more expensive than anywhere else and there is a good choice. The evening entertainment in the bar is usually singing and not really my taste but there is nothing wrong with it.

The restaurants are good particularly the Indian one.

The rooms are always very clean and spacious and the staff remember regular visitors as for my past two visits I have been upgraded free of charge.

I have returned to the Dhow each January for business for the last five years.

My main only issue with this hotel is the "second bar" most guests use the bar by the main doors but there is another to the rear of the hotel. Without being over the top this bar seems to be full of prostitutes throughout the evening which surprised me in Dubai. I am hoping that when I return in two weeks time this issue will no longer exist.

This issue however has not put me off recommending the hotel and giving it a very good rating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent four nights in the hotel and overall experience was good. First of all I would like to write here about the food, had home like experience and sleep quality was also very good. Last but not the least good budget hotel for vacations in Dubai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vjain003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've stayed at Dhow Palace several times, its never been a great hotel in terms of service, but the rooms have been good and the location always suited me along with the price.

On my last trip here however, the staff were once again quite rude at check-in, and were over-whelmed with the rush of people. The were not helpful about room-selection or the fact that it came with complimentary wifi (for which they needed to give you a scratch-card).

The room looked tired. The chair on the dresser was wobbly and was going to fall any minute. I complained and asked the chair to be removed. They said ok, but never changed it. I had called them twice.

The internet password on the scratch card never worked, this again lead to several phone calls to the reception where someone on the other end only huffed and puffed (you could hear her frustration through the reciever).

I have decided not to stay here any longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
0.7 mi away
Regent Palace Hotel
Regent Palace Hotel
#312 of 546 in Dubai
474 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#44 of 546 in Dubai
1,353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#170 of 546 in Dubai
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Address: Bur Dubai Al Kuwait St 25, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#204 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing