We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Ranked #221 of 563 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel in May2013 during my tour to dubai. It is very big hotel. Very neet and clean. breakfast is having verity of dishes and teasty too. hotel is having dance bar namely Mehandi. It is very entertaining. Overall staying here make your dubai trip very pleasent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amittravelerjodhpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 619 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was the only who checked in around 7 pm thus it was quite a breezy check-in. One staff named Mahmud was attentive and friendly.

The rest of the hotel room is up to acceptable standard. Clean room and one small thing that I like is this could be the first hotel I encountered which has loofah. I know nothing grand about this but when you visit Dubai during hot humid summer months, this little thing counts!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had great expectation travelling to Dubai for the first time. I arrived late evening after travelling from New Delhi with wife and 2 kids . The receptionist was surly, not welcoming. The room was spacious with good amenities, Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is far from a metro station and market area, Over all my experience was the hotel is overrated, We stayed 2 N than we shifted to Marina Area in ‘OCEAN VIEW HOTEL ‘’ that was memorable ……………..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chhibbervikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My partner, our 16 month old and I arrived at the Hotel at around 1am as there had been a fire in our Hotel a few blocks away. At first there was some agro as we didn't have our passports and the reception staff wasn't interested in hearing that grabbing our passport had not been our number one priority when leaving the hotel. It was getting stressful as baby had been woken with fire alarm and increasingly stressed, but the Duty manager intervened.

The reception staff clearly saw an opportunity and the rate given at 650 AED (c£115) was overpriced but in the circumstances we had little option but to pay.

The first room we were given was on the 6th floor that had a window that could not be closed and was directly above a sofa which was not only a safety risk but also meant we could easily hear the full noise of the Air-con. After complaining reception gave a much better room, The room was a good size studio with excellent bedding. Room and hotel generally was very clean,

Fair selection at breakfast including Chef on hand for Omelets etc.

Well appointed swimming pool.

Checkout was a much smoother process.

Would stay again but not at the price paid. Would say £40-50 room value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bookend48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, spacious and with good service. I enjoyed some authentic Arabic food at the breakfast buffet. The only negative is that wifi connection is charged at about $25 a day which is a bit of a rip off!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here for five nights whilst attending Arab Health in January/February 2013. Reception were very helpful and room amenities were good but overall the hotel service was not up to normal Dubai standards. On a couple of days the room was not cleaned until very late (after 6pm) and on two days there were no towels and it was only after Reception intervened that some were provided. Breakfasts were difficult simply due to the large number of guests trying to occupy the breakfast area at the same time. It was a debacle on two days. On the plus side the underground parking was very convenient and the bars and restaurants were very good. Laundry service was also very efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Good but not value for money.. They were nott equiped o handle big crowd and no basic room service also....... Overall not worth to stay........

Good but not value for money.. They were nott equiped o handle big crowd and no basic room service also....... Overall not worth to stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#183 of 563 in Dubai
1,330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Mina
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai

Address: Bur Dubai Al Kuwait St 25, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $67 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing