We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly above average and trying with a tinge of unhappiness about the staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Ranked #248 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
hong kong
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Slightly above average and trying with a tinge of unhappiness about the staff.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was generally clean and bright. The room I was given was huge but after the initial impact I got used to its size. The bed was good, the hot water and pressure were good but the room was so big it was over whelming to me, used to Asian hotel room sizes. The furniture and fittings reminded me of Russian dark furniture and drapes. Heavy and not really very inspiring. The atrium was nice and open, fresh. The main restaurant was good and the food was in my opinion plentiful varied and good with good options provided. Reception cold. Not a happy lot in general, very rarely was there a smile from anyone. The friendliest people were the drivers in the hotel car. To me the lack of warmth showed as a negative sign. With the exception of the food I wouldnt go back if I had the choice.

Room Tip: Depends whether you like large rooms or moderate sized rooms. Also one side of the hotel (west I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    189
    106
    47
    37
See reviews for
96
98
53
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a night and it was the worst stay ever! Right from the time we got in till the time we left, it was all bad! The moment we reached Dubai we called up the hotel asking if we can have an early check in and the receptionist said 'Yes, your room is ready!' And when we reached the hotel we were in for a shock! They completely denied speaking to us and telling us to come early!! We were travelling with an infant and we had no room! We had to wait till 2 in the afternoon to get one and when we did it was not what we had requested!
To make matters worse, they had given us a room with a bed that made a creeking noise whenever we sat on it! And that was enough to wake up my sleeping baby!!
Breakfast is okay- no friendly faces except for the chef at the egg station who was cheerful!
Check out also was terrible with no help from the reception to pick up luggage!
Never again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrs-srmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on buisiness good choice of buffet style meals mainly curries and western dishes

Sweet selection very nice too, especially um ali dish.

All from docklands restraunt although there are others within hotel

In room wifi quite expensive.

Some noise from disco heard in rooms three floors above.

Staff very friendly and helpfull

The hotel is nice and modern although the roof pool is rather small its worth popping up with a camera at sunset for a nice view of the burj kalifa


Metro & bus stops nearby make sure you buy transit tickets in advance or if taking a dubai cab use one with red or blue roof as "unmarked cabs" are not governed by the same pricing and can charge double

If travelling to dubai be aware skype will not work unless installed prior to arrival.



  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killiepaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Dhow Palace when on a business trip at Arab Health last month. The reception staff weren't the friendliest or most efficient, but the room was spotlessly clean and ultra comfortable. The wifi was pretty rubbish too. I would certainly recommend this hotel for its location and comfortable, clean rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather7191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel is in very good location and is clean and tidy. We were not given wifi or fridge in the room as specified. On the 1st day we were told we will be able to check in when we arrive at the hotel but did not as there were no rooms available. We were given a room at 12:00 waiting from 9:00 am in the lobby. The cleaner staff walked in our room without knocking on our 1st day..I requested toilet rolls at 2:00pm but was not provided until 22:00. I rang the receptionist at 9:30 no one came and i had to go down to the reception to ask for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuki_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed briefly passing through Dubai on way from UK to Cape Town and then again on the way back as staff were so helpfull, price was reasonable and room was good.

Our timings didn't fit very well but staff were very cooperative in helping out.
I needed some urgent printing /scanning done and concierge was particularly helpful here.

I would definitely stay again as I know the standard of service and rooms are well up to the mark for the cost involved. Rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumsite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

To be honest this hotel served its purpose. We needed a base - as we were going to be out for majority of the days. We stayed in the Captain Suite.
Reception - It is the first point of contact and we were met by a very disinterested bored looking receptionist who checked us in but failed to offer vital details like where breakfast was served timings etc. Not a problem we asked for it ourselves amongst other details. He could have also given us information regarding the free shuttle buses daily to the various malls and beach. We had to ask for all information. I have read negative comments about reception staff here, and I hope that if the management are reading these please initiate a change. It costs you nothing as you already have the staff and a simple smile or handing out of information wont cost anything and will leave a better impression.

Housekeeping: Very efficient, helpful and pleasant.

Rooms: We stayed in the Captain Suite. The room is very spacious, bed comfortable and noise not an issue. Online it was advertised as having free airport transfers, fruit basket on arrival free wifi ( no problem at all, not slow) and access to the admiral club. I asked reception about that but I got a blank look. To this day I don't know what the admiral club is!
The room was cleaned on a daily basis and a free newspaper daily. Attention to detail is lacking. For e.g. plenty of dust under the bed. Also one day I removed my childs cot sheet so that it could be changed (had a visible dirty patch thanks to my daughter) however on our return the same sheet was used. Not a problem as it was usable. However a 4 star hotel should pay attention to detail. The staff were excellent. These are just minor details management need to pick up on for training....

Breakfast: This was included in our rate. I would describe it as average. You had everything - an omellete station, yoghurts, cereals, fruits and Indian breakfast items too which I never tried. If it is not included in your rate don't worry as you are not missing out on much.

Restaurants: We tried the Indian restaurant Aangan in the hotel on our first night. Food is super, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Live entertainment.

Pool: It is a roof top pool and you will need to climb a set of stairs to access it. Attendant very pleasant. The pool certainly during our stay was underused. It is heated, clean and you can get your pool towels there too.

Public Transport: Nearest train station is Karama which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Travel is inexpensive, the trains are clean, regular and got you to the main tourist attractions e.g. the malls, Burj Khalifa, marina etc without any hassle and in good time. Plenty of taxi's outside the hotel too.

Overall, if I had to I would not mind staying here again. Issues I have highlighted are minor. They did not pose a problem and we had a good trip to Dubai.

P.S there is a supermarket 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#52 of 540 in Dubai
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Palace Hotel
Regent Palace Hotel
#287 of 540 in Dubai
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#149 of 540 in Dubai
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Address: Bur Dubai Al Kuwait St 25, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing