We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Ranked #244 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had to stay there as all the other hotels close by were fully booked.

The spate of bad experiences started right from the reception......the female receptionist was surly and ill mannered.

The rooms were worse.........carpets were smelly and upholstery needs changing.

The lobby was very noisy and the breakfast was another disappointment.

The only thing which was a tad interesting was the nautical theme.

All said and done,I doubt i would ever stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Please stay at some other hotel........Dubai has lot of better options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    194
    110
    49
    40
See reviews for
101
102
56
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at Dhow Palace hotel for a week. It was my 1st time in Dubai.
They we were kind enough to allow me check in 3 hours earlier than normal check-in time at no extra cost.
The meals were excellent and their workers are quite friendly.
I enjoyed the wine and desert the most.
They've got this really nice Health Club at the Last floor, which has a gym, a pool area, a Sauna, a steam room and a massage room.
The hotel has 4 resturants in there. I only ate at two of them....the Chinese resuturant was excellent.
The door men were very helpful.
They'll point you in the right directions, help you get cabs...and help carry ur lugages to your room without demanding tips. They are happy to help.
I enjoyed the tours and Dhow dinner boat cruise.
I was a pleasant stay at Dhow Palace

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although late I felt that I should write this review I was booked by the company last year November 2011, we requested an airport pick up, which didn't arrive. Check in was a disaster the female receptionist was very unhappy with her job and it showed, the room had a bad odor, breakfast was very disorganized in fact a chaos. I didn't bother to have dinner at the hotel. There was a noisy bar at the lobby which I felt it didn't help the hotels image at all. I can carry on, however not worth it. I will never visit this hotel if it's the last hotel on earth.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Weston, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had great expectation travelling to Dubai for the first time. I arrived late the night after travelling from Kenya. The receptionist was surly, not welcoming and had a run in with another guest that spilled over to me. The check in experience felt like a transaction.

The room was average with very expensive Wi-fi service. The restaurants Docklands and the Chinese restaurant had average food. The service in the Chinese restaurant was exceptional.

The bellmen provided excellent service. Everyone else was average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the moment we checked in at 3 a.m., we were very happy with our choice of hotel in Dubai. Very pleasant staff and lovely decor. We were unexpectedly up-graded to a Viceroy Suite, which was just fantastic. Such luxury - wish we had more time to spend in our suite, but we had a lot of sightseeing to do in Dubai. The buffet breakfast was very nice, with something for everyone...the omelettes were great - certainly didn't go hungry! The Reception, Housekeeping and the Concierge staff, were very helpful at all times. The Hotel arranged the Open Bus tour for us, at short notice and even collected us at the hotel. The complimentary shuttle to Dubai Outlet Mall is also good - pity we only had 2 hours to shop! Definitely Mall to visit. We had dinner at the Hotel's Gypsy Chinese Restaurant which was fab - see separate review. Had a swim in the hotel's pool, very welcome after a hot day of sightseeing. All in all a great stay... certainly would love to go back there, if we are ever in Dubai again. Great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokopane, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a pleasure it was to stay in the Dhow Palace Hotel. It was a real pleasant surprise when we checked in at 3 o'c clock in the morning to be upgraded to the Viceroy Suite. Everything is clean and of a high standard. The staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is generally not too far from a metro station but in the heat one would rather opt to take a taxi to their destination. The hotel facilities was very good. The hotel is highly recommended. They have a few fine restaurants in the hotel and I can highly recommend the Chinese Indian restaurant - Gypsy. Their service and the food were excellent. They serve big portions, so be warned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amclean2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel.Booked by my travel agent for my stop over for 2 nights.Big rooms,very comfortable bed,excellent bathroom.Hotel has 24 hrs.check in.It was great stay,and safe as I was by myself.
Hotel staff were helpful and their recommended taxi City 555 was great and reasonable priced.Hotel's buffet was good and again very reasonable priced.In all, lot more for my money that I expected.Breakfast was average, and Wi-Fi to expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas130849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.7 mi away
Regent Palace Hotel
Regent Palace Hotel
#312 of 550 in Dubai
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#165 of 550 in Dubai
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#46 of 550 in Dubai
1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
Address: Bur Dubai Al Kuwait St 25, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing