We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for starving”
Review of Flora Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flora Grand Hotel
Ranked #124 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I have been to many hotels before but this hotel was the worst of all. since we traveled to Dubai in ramadan, there were no other places to eat lunch.so we had to eat at hotel and you can't believe how terrible the food was, the resturant was cold and smelled awful all the time, on the whole the food was disgusting. the room service was terrible, do not forget to bring your own shampoo,blanket and personal stuff cause you'll not find a toothpaste,tooth brush,slippers,comb or any thing you may expect to find in a four star hotel. The most unpleasant part for me was the guys at the reception part, who were impolite and couldn't speak english fluently,I do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel,there are many 3-star hotels in Dubai with more facilities than this terrible four star hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markopolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at the Flora Grand Hotel for 1 night mid-June this year and booked this hotel through Emirates from the many hotels it offers as part of its stopover packages. It is only about 10 minutes from the airport. Having arriving in Dubai around 5.00am, I was quickly checked-in and was allocated my room. The staff at reception were very polite and informed me that breakfast was available (I can't remember what time as it was early!). Breakfast is buffet style (hot bain-marie) and there are some cold items (fruit etc). There is a guy who will cook your omelette or eggs to your liking - it is cooked fresh in front on you or they will bring it to your table once ready. The room I got was very quiet and there are a variety of tv stations and various languages. Rooms are provided with more than sufficient amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, travel kit etc). There is a business centre/ computer room on the 1st or 2nd floor of the hotel - you will need to buy a voucher for either 30 mins or 1 hour. Computers are reasonably fast but the rooms can get stuffy - there is one computer per room and the rooms are small as the door closes behind you (it's like a closed up cubicle). The best part was I booked a taxi to take me to the Burj al Arab for Afternoon Tea - the trip down to the Burj took about 30 mins. The taxi driver allocated to me was very reliable and punctual. I also asked for him to pick me up from the Burj and take me back to the hour about 2 hours later. Again he was on time and because it was peak hour, it took about 60 mins to get back. Not having a liking to catching taxis, this experience was extremely favourable and the taxi driver was a very careful driver. So if you need a taxi to take you somewhere, ask the concierge for their in-house taxi driver - I thoroughly recommend him and also staying here. I would stay here again if I was to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivi0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

In old area not far from Dubai Creek. There are plenty of restaurants and a shopping mall not far away.The staff were very friendly although there was not much in the way of tourist information, but there is a tour desk. An excellent breakfast was included.
A word of warning regarding taxis - make sure you only use metered taxis. The hotel is in the habit of using their mates in unlicensed taxis who are waiting around the corner. They charge about 50% more than metered taxis and sometimes don't know where they are going. This is a very dubious practice from an otherwise fine hotel. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and would not recommend it.
Dubai is very spread out and getting around will improve when the Metro railway opens in September.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LloydNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We spent a nice time in very interesting and beautiful place in Dubai in Flora hotel. i want to say thank you for warm and friedly atmosphere in your hotel.
I liked so much your food, staff and attitude to us ... I wish you successful bisiness!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank DalidaAstana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Flora for 3 nights on the way home to Australia. The service at reception was friendly and efficient and we were upgraded to a lovely suite on our arrival at 1.30am after a long flight from Nice. The rooms were very clean and spacious. All staff were happy to help with information on where to go and how to get there. Breakfast was a bit disappointing .... ... not everything looked appealing. Overall, it was a great experience and we would definately stay there again and recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cankles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Flora Grand in Deira and found the hotel very comfortable, well facilitated and well located. Whilst cafes, shopping places and the Creek were not exactly on the doorstep nothing was more than an adventurous walk away. The hotel is located in an older part of Dubai and we were pleased to have chosen this over the newer and frankly blander, newer parts of the city. The hotel staff were always courteous and the concierge people were invariably helpful. We purchased our stay on the internet and we felt that the rate we received represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coaster10203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed here in Feb 2009 on our way to Oz and also on our return in May. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the hotel was situated in Old Dubai. The swimming pool on the roof was very inviting and the coffe shop in the atrium provided excellent fayre. Could not fault the hotel.

Jim in Shropshire UK

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#39 of 561 in Dubai
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#139 of 561 in Dubai
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#131 of 561 in Dubai
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#222 of 561 in Dubai
802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Grand Hotel

Address: Al Rigga Rd. | 26b Street, 28; Al Muraqqabat; Deira, Dubai 120328, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#60 Family Hotel in Dubai
#70 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#77 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#79 Business Hotel in Dubai
#110 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $77 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai is a four star deluxe hotel conveniently located in the heart of Dubai's thriving commercial and leisure district, just 10 minutes from Dubai International Airport and on the famous Al Rigga Street - the most exciting part of town all year round. The hotel offers 200 rooms to choose from, including Superior, Executive, Deluxe, Connecting Rooms and Suites for uncompromising indulgence. Indulge your mind and body at the Health and Leisure facilities at the Flora Grand Hotel Dubai.The facilities includes Free Hi Speed Wifi Internet fro all inhouse guests,Gym and Health Club, Serenity Spa, Outdoor Swimming Pool and Gym. The Monsoon is the hotels all day dining restaurant serving a wide range of international cuisine. You can also enjoy a delightful selection of cookies, fresh pastries, juices and coffee at Al Nakheel coffee shop. Our privileged location in Deira Dubai combined with the highest levels of hospitality and comfort makes the Flora Grand Hotel your best choice in Dubai. Rooms: 200 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flora Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai
Hotel Flora Grand
Flora Grand Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing