We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flora Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flora Grand Hotel
Ranked #108 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

All was great: helpful cheerful personel, good location, transfers, quiet, near to amenities.
Breakfast looked a bit spicy for early in the morning so we didn't take it.
Hotel a bit old but well refurbished.
Could do with more electric plugs in the room.
Loved staying in Dubai and will come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. The comment on the breakfast and electric sockets have been noted for improvement and would be worked upon.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    842
    162
    40
    19
See reviews for
481
634
202
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is nice hotel close to the airport and metro. It is situated in old dubai so very different from the pictures of Dubai, but we found this great as we got to see the real dubai.we found it was very easy to get to all the attractions and shops as everything is near the metro line. Just don't use the line between 7:30 - 9:30am and 5:30 - 7:30 pm it's jammers. The rooms were nice and clean the bed comfy. There is a really good supermarket just on the corner for water etc...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Partyhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and the services were upto your expectation.We are glad you liked our location and the proximity to the metro station was a big help.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent stay at this hotel, with thanks to Sunil, Ibrahim and Anzar for their help. We arrived at the hotel following our cruise from Barcelona. We had to wait for our room as we arrived at the hotel at 10am, and check-in isn't until 2pm. It was worth the wait because these 3 people arranged for us to have an upgrade to a junior suite which was really nice. Large room full of extras not normally provided in other hotels, in which we have stayed all over the world..
The hotel staff are hardworking from the cleaners to reception. They are helpful, friendly and always smiling. My only comment would be that the half board option of dinner is good, but there could be an improvement in the food on offer. The pool area on the roof is really nice. The location of the hotel is also good just of the main street and very near to the metro.

Would highly recommend this hotel, and really loved Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Your kind appreciation for the team has been communicated and specially to the trio in the front office who have looked you well.

The concern mentioned on the cuisine has been noted for correction and improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is close to airport, a 10 minute taxi ride, but a bit off main attractions. Luckily, taxi in Dubai is affordable so that it was not a big problem. The hotel is on an off street that you may have to go to the main street on the other side of block to hail a taxi. Most hotel facilities are available and small. Rooms could be small with no or very limited view as it is surrounded by bigger building. Our room faced the other hotel on a lower level so that we did not see any sunlight during the day. You should probably request a room on higher floor with some sun exposure. Inside, you can expect to see most common amenities. Our room was newly renovated. There are some design flaws but otherwise decent. For example, water would leak to floor when taking shower, but I finally figure out how to block water.

Hotel buffet restaurant is OK with average varieties, nothing fancy, enough to fill you up. For 2 days, it is OK. Anything long could be a problem as you could get tired of the same things. There is a tour company desk in the lobby that can arrange local tours within less than 24 hours. There is also a little coffee/bakery shop by the lobby. From hotel, it is about 15 Dirhams to water taxi or Festiva City, 50-60 dirhams to Dubai and a little more to Emirate Mall. Overall, it is not that bad thanks to affordable taxi.

Overall, this is a good value or transit hotel. For longer stay, check out somewhere nicer, like nearby Hilton. It is not a good choice if you are a closet phobia, or claustrophobia. Be aware of add on, e.g., 3rd person, as it is quite steep. It could set you back for $50 per day for an extra person. The staff are friendly and nice, probably the best part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for higher floor with some view or sun exposure even in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are very happy to note that your stay was satisfactory and the services were up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel
The Flora Grand Hotel is a basic 4 star hotel, no frills no design, just a good hotel. It is situated in Deira not very far away from the airport (so now and then you will here the planes at night). There is a underground station just 5 minutes away from the hotel and together with the clean rooms these are the big advantages of this hotel. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor and is good. The waiters do everyting they can to serve you a good start of the day. The guests get two small bottles of mineral water complimentary in their room every day. There are coffee and tea making facilities in each room.
The price quality level of this hotel is very good, especially for Dubai. If you do not want to spend a lot of money on a hotel choose the Flora Grand. However there are a few things you should know before considering this hotel;
Deira is the old part of Dubai. This has its charm but you have to realise that you will always need a taxi or public transport if you want to go the fancy areas of Dubai. For example, the Dubai Marina area (with the Walk) is 40 minutes away and the Dubai mall/Burj Khalifa is around 30 minutes by underground. The welness area of the hotel (swimming pool, gym and sauna) did not meet my expectations. This area definitaly needs maintanance. Everything here is very old and dirty (especially the sauna and steam room). Staff members in this area are demotivated and not cleaning the place at all. The area is also open for non-guests. There is plenty of room on the top floor of the hotel and the owner should consider a big make-over. The rooms in the Flora Grand are small for Dubai standards, for me it was fine but if you need some space then there might be a problem.

Due to the good price quality level I recommend this hotel. However, I would choose another hotel the next time I visit Dubai. If you book far in advance you will have a nice 5 star hotel for a few more euros. The next time I would stay along the creek or in a hotel between the Dubai mall and the creek with a bigger welness area (like the Sheraton f.e.).

Near the hotel
The hotel is situated in a quiet street near the busy and lively Al Rigga street. Around the corner of the hotel you will find a supermarket. On Al Rigga street you will find little shops, hairdressers and cheap restaurants. I had a haircut and a shave at Diva (mens hairdresser and spa) on Al Rigga street for only Dhs 55,-. I highly recommend this very busy but very clean place. Here, I had the best shave and haircut ever! You will find this place near the entrance of the underground.

I highly recommend the restaurants Tablet 9 in the Hilton Creek Hotel and the Ashiana in the Sheraton Creek hotel. These two restaurants are a bit pricey but fantastic. They are in walking distance of the Flora Grand. The Radisson Blu hotel (20 minutes walk of 1 underground station away) offers 6 restaurants of a high quality. I had a dinner in Yum, a wok restaurant with delicious food for cheap prices.

Go for a walk along the creek at night. You will see the lightened boats passing by and see big groups of Chinese ladies (line) dancing along the creek.

Transport
Public transport is very cheap, clean and efficient and therefore very popular and very very busy, especially the underground. In the peak hours it is almost undoable (like f.e. Tokio) and during day time it is still busy. In one week time I only had a seat twice, all the other journeys I had to stand. Tourists can buy a card (Nol card, available at every underground station) which they can upload with their credit card, it is very easy and very handy as you can use it for the underground and all busses in Dubai. I do not know if tourists can buy a gold card but do consider it as gold card members have their own wagon in the underground. There is also one wagon where men are not allowed (women only wagon). Taxis are very cheap too and they all work with a government controled meter. I did not feel the urge to rent a car as the traffic jams in Dubai can be horrible and the driving style quite dangerous.

Beaches
I can recommend the open public beaches. The beaches in Dubai are safe and clean and there are enough facilities. It is a misunderstanding that ladies are not safe at the beaches. I visited several beaches and there were a lot of women (even covered ladies). Keep in mind that there are constructions going on at the JBR beach (the Walk). This causes some noise. I prefered the Jumeraih open beach. I did not visit Jumeirah beach park but I heared this is very nice and will cost you only Dhs 5,-.
I visited a beach club on the Palm Island (Riva) but found it disappointing (only tourists) and not worthwhile.

Must see/do in Dubai
Bastakia area, soukh and the old house of the first sheikh near the creek;
Taxi boat from one side of the creek to the other side;
The gold soukh (unsophisticated jewellery but nice to see)
Dubai Marina area and the walk
The Dubai mall, fountain and the Burj Khalifa
The Burj al Arab
The Palm

Book a visit to the Burj Khalifa via internet in advance. This is cheaper than buying a ticket at the cashier (if there are tickets left...). Via internet it will cost you Dhs 100,- .

For me the Dubai mall was fantastic because of the nice shops, restaurants and the fountain in front of the mall. I also liked the atmosphere. You will clearly see a mixture of various cultures here. The other malls are a bit disappointing after being to the Dubai mall.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker ask for a non-smoking room. Ask for a room on a high floor. They are more qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We appreciate the time you have taken to pen down a very detailed feedback specially all the important information on Dubai. Iam sure our future guests and all the other probable travellers will benefit a lot from it.We are also happy that you had a enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall hotel service is excellent! I was even admired by all present attention to every detail! There is a lack of free wi fi but I hope the hotel management is gonna take it to a consideration. I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autechre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us and the services delivered by the team members were upto your expectation.


We look forward to welcome you back at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and had wonderful experience. Rooms are big with all the amenities. Excellent staff service and always helpful… very clean and peaceful
This hotel is very near to airport (just 10 min drive) on Al Rigga road, but very far from all the attractions in Dubai, normally it takes 40-45 min to reach major attractions like Dubai Mall, Mall of Emirates, Burj Khalifa etc…
Excellent food is served in Monsoon Restaurant, however buffet breakfast does not have enough options for vegetarians .. It was very disappointing
Overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant. The breakfast concern have been noted and we will try and improve our veg options. be rest assured that you wil not be disappointed the next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#34 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#118 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suba Hotel
Suba Hotel
#95 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
TIME Grand Plaza Hotel
TIME Grand Plaza Hotel
#74 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flora Creek Deluxe Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Grand Hotel

Property: Flora Grand Hotel
Address: Al Rigga Rd. | 26b Street, 28; Al Muraqqabat; Deira, Dubai 120328, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#65 Family Hotel in Dubai
#68 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#70 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#79 Business Hotel in Dubai
#99 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai is a four star deluxe hotel conveniently located in the heart of Dubai's thriving commercial and leisure district, just 10 minutes from Dubai International Airport and on the famous Al Rigga Street - the most exciting part of town all year round. The hotel offers 200 rooms to choose from, including Superior, Executive, Deluxe, Connecting Rooms and Suites for uncompromising indulgence. Indulge your mind and body at the Health and Leisure facilities at the Flora Grand Hotel Dubai.The facilities includes Free Hi Speed Wifi Internet fro all inhouse guests,Gym and Health Club, Serenity Spa, Outdoor Swimming Pool and Gym. The Monsoon is the hotels all day dining restaurant serving a wide range of international cuisine. You can also enjoy a delightful selection of cookies, fresh pastries, juices and coffee at Al Nakheel coffee shop. Our privileged location in Deira Dubai combined with the highest levels of hospitality and comfort makes the Flora Grand Hotel your best choice in Dubai. Rooms: 200 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Flora Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai
Hotel Flora Grand
Flora Grand Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing