We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flora Grand and all you should know about Do Buy”
Review of Flora Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flora Grand Hotel
Ranked #113 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Flora Grand and all you should know about Do Buy”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel
The Flora Grand Hotel is a basic 4 star hotel, no frills no design, just a good hotel. It is situated in Deira not very far away from the airport (so now and then you will here the planes at night). There is a underground station just 5 minutes away from the hotel and together with the clean rooms these are the big advantages of this hotel. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor and is good. The waiters do everyting they can to serve you a good start of the day. The guests get two small bottles of mineral water complimentary in their room every day. There are coffee and tea making facilities in each room.
The price quality level of this hotel is very good, especially for Dubai. If you do not want to spend a lot of money on a hotel choose the Flora Grand. However there are a few things you should know before considering this hotel;
Deira is the old part of Dubai. This has its charm but you have to realise that you will always need a taxi or public transport if you want to go the fancy areas of Dubai. For example, the Dubai Marina area (with the Walk) is 40 minutes away and the Dubai mall/Burj Khalifa is around 30 minutes by underground. The welness area of the hotel (swimming pool, gym and sauna) did not meet my expectations. This area definitaly needs maintanance. Everything here is very old and dirty (especially the sauna and steam room). Staff members in this area are demotivated and not cleaning the place at all. The area is also open for non-guests. There is plenty of room on the top floor of the hotel and the owner should consider a big make-over. The rooms in the Flora Grand are small for Dubai standards, for me it was fine but if you need some space then there might be a problem.

Due to the good price quality level I recommend this hotel. However, I would choose another hotel the next time I visit Dubai. If you book far in advance you will have a nice 5 star hotel for a few more euros. The next time I would stay along the creek or in a hotel between the Dubai mall and the creek with a bigger welness area (like the Sheraton f.e.).

Near the hotel
The hotel is situated in a quiet street near the busy and lively Al Rigga street. Around the corner of the hotel you will find a supermarket. On Al Rigga street you will find little shops, hairdressers and cheap restaurants. I had a haircut and a shave at Diva (mens hairdresser and spa) on Al Rigga street for only Dhs 55,-. I highly recommend this very busy but very clean place. Here, I had the best shave and haircut ever! You will find this place near the entrance of the underground.

I highly recommend the restaurants Tablet 9 in the Hilton Creek Hotel and the Ashiana in the Sheraton Creek hotel. These two restaurants are a bit pricey but fantastic. They are in walking distance of the Flora Grand. The Radisson Blu hotel (20 minutes walk of 1 underground station away) offers 6 restaurants of a high quality. I had a dinner in Yum, a wok restaurant with delicious food for cheap prices.

Go for a walk along the creek at night. You will see the lightened boats passing by and see big groups of Chinese ladies (line) dancing along the creek.

Transport
Public transport is very cheap, clean and efficient and therefore very popular and very very busy, especially the underground. In the peak hours it is almost undoable (like f.e. Tokio) and during day time it is still busy. In one week time I only had a seat twice, all the other journeys I had to stand. Tourists can buy a card (Nol card, available at every underground station) which they can upload with their credit card, it is very easy and very handy as you can use it for the underground and all busses in Dubai. I do not know if tourists can buy a gold card but do consider it as gold card members have their own wagon in the underground. There is also one wagon where men are not allowed (women only wagon). Taxis are very cheap too and they all work with a government controled meter. I did not feel the urge to rent a car as the traffic jams in Dubai can be horrible and the driving style quite dangerous.

Beaches
I can recommend the open public beaches. The beaches in Dubai are safe and clean and there are enough facilities. It is a misunderstanding that ladies are not safe at the beaches. I visited several beaches and there were a lot of women (even covered ladies). Keep in mind that there are constructions going on at the JBR beach (the Walk). This causes some noise. I prefered the Jumeraih open beach. I did not visit Jumeirah beach park but I heared this is very nice and will cost you only Dhs 5,-.
I visited a beach club on the Palm Island (Riva) but found it disappointing (only tourists) and not worthwhile.

Must see/do in Dubai
Bastakia area, soukh and the old house of the first sheikh near the creek;
Taxi boat from one side of the creek to the other side;
The gold soukh (unsophisticated jewellery but nice to see)
Dubai Marina area and the walk
The Dubai mall, fountain and the Burj Khalifa
The Burj al Arab
The Palm

Book a visit to the Burj Khalifa via internet in advance. This is cheaper than buying a ticket at the cashier (if there are tickets left...). Via internet it will cost you Dhs 100,- .

For me the Dubai mall was fantastic because of the nice shops, restaurants and the fountain in front of the mall. I also liked the atmosphere. You will clearly see a mixture of various cultures here. The other malls are a bit disappointing after being to the Dubai mall.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker ask for a non-smoking room. Ask for a room on a high floor. They are more qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We appreciate the time you have taken to pen down a very detailed feedback specially all the important information on Dubai. Iam sure our future guests and all the other probable travellers will benefit a lot from it.We are also happy that you had a enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    873
    170
    40
    20
See reviews for
500
662
209
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall hotel service is excellent! I was even admired by all present attention to every detail! There is a lack of free wi fi but I hope the hotel management is gonna take it to a consideration. I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autechre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us and the services delivered by the team members were upto your expectation.


We look forward to welcome you back at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and had wonderful experience. Rooms are big with all the amenities. Excellent staff service and always helpful… very clean and peaceful
This hotel is very near to airport (just 10 min drive) on Al Rigga road, but very far from all the attractions in Dubai, normally it takes 40-45 min to reach major attractions like Dubai Mall, Mall of Emirates, Burj Khalifa etc…
Excellent food is served in Monsoon Restaurant, however buffet breakfast does not have enough options for vegetarians .. It was very disappointing
Overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant. The breakfast concern have been noted and we will try and improve our veg options. be rest assured that you wil not be disappointed the next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The day i entered Flora Hotel i found a Handsome personality standing in front of me to assist me.
His name is Mr.Anzar. I can say i never met such person in any of the hotels visited and stayed.
Hats off to Anzar. He helped me a lot and gave a tremendous service. I would suggest the hotel management to maintain the same customer service and delight.
Thanks a lot for all your services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay and that the same was made memorable by one of our managers. Your kind appreciation has been conveyed to him much to his delight and will motivate him to do the same or better for our future guests at the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nothing to complain.
One little thing: The hotel ist difficult to find. It is not at Al Rigga Road but behind. Better to say Flora Grand Hotel behind Al Rigga road, entrance 26 b street.
If you are in the Hotel you find personal which is very polite, helpful, friendly, competent and whatwever you want. Rooms are in a good condition, clean and well equipped.
You can park your car in the basement. Metro stations red and green line are nearby.
Up to now we stayed in different Dubai Hotels, Flora Grand is the one we like to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VielreisenderBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and the services delivered by the team members were above expectations.

We would like to see you back soon at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sialkot, Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had my recent stay in the hotel in a twin room. One day, while I was to take a bth, water heater broke thus creating the mess in the bathroom. All my clothes, accessories were wet. Electricity was also gone including room. The complaint was launched but duty manager appeared after 30 minutes. As I was to go for Arab health so time was passed and was getting late. I was given a new room but it was quite small. They never gave us some extra service etc and was transferred to the another room with same specs while saying sorry.
The next day air conditioner of this room was tripped and became alright in 4 hours. Thought it was my second time experience knowing its name for comfort, but this time was really bad and miserable for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Experience129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

At the outset please accept my humble aplogies for the all the inconvenience caused by the mechanical failure of the water heater & AC. The alternative room given to you though small was the first available room as you are aware that due to the Arab Health conference the hotel was full and we managed this room with great difficulty. As I mentioned in my reply to your mail directly to us we would like to make up for this bad experience in your next stay if you let us know in advance your future travel plans.

Iam sure you will have such a wonderful experience in your next stay that you will repose your faith in our hospitality.

We hope that you will give us that oppurtunity and return back at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

A very decent family hotel , location is excellent for moving on
restaurants , supermarket , money exchange close by at walking distance .
Remember the room is serviced once a day maybe a hotel policy .
Housekeeping staff very friendly and professional ready to help always.
If you are interested in Visitors keep off . No liquor get your own from the airport .
Good for Families .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oyster_king007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are very happy to note that you had a memorable stay and the team members looked after you well.

The housekeeping does the service once a day but they would have been most happy to be at your service if desired more than once a day.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#20 of 550 in Dubai
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#127 of 550 in Dubai
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.9 mi away
Flora Creek Deluxe Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Suba Hotel
Suba Hotel
#131 of 550 in Dubai
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Grand Hotel

Property: Flora Grand Hotel
Address: Al Rigga Rd. | 26b Street, 28; Al Muraqqabat; Deira, Dubai 120328, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#65 Family Hotel in Dubai
#69 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#70 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#79 Business Hotel in Dubai
#103 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai is a four star deluxe hotel conveniently located in the heart of Dubai's thriving commercial and leisure district, just 10 minutes from Dubai International Airport and on the famous Al Rigga Street - the most exciting part of town all year round. The hotel offers 200 rooms to choose from, including Superior, Executive, Deluxe, Connecting Rooms and Suites for uncompromising indulgence. Indulge your mind and body at the Health and Leisure facilities at the Flora Grand Hotel Dubai.The facilities includes Free Hi Speed Wifi Internet fro all inhouse guests,Gym and Health Club, Serenity Spa, Outdoor Swimming Pool and Gym. The Monsoon is the hotels all day dining restaurant serving a wide range of international cuisine. You can also enjoy a delightful selection of cookies, fresh pastries, juices and coffee at Al Nakheel coffee shop. Our privileged location in Deira Dubai combined with the highest levels of hospitality and comfort makes the Flora Grand Hotel your best choice in Dubai. Rooms: 200 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flora Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai
Hotel Flora Grand
Flora Grand Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing