We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A contemporary brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Toko

Downtown Toko
Ranked #375 of 9,408 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $150
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Description: Downtown Toko Restaurant, Garden & Lounge located at Vida Hotel, is the hub for laid-back get-togethers and friendly gatherings. Now open With a brand-new interior and décor, this cheerful space is just what the Dubai casual dining scene needs. Spirit connoisseurs and foodies alike are invited to come and experience the remarkable birth of the venue, coupled with an incredible new menu for excellent value featuring tasty Chinese and Japanese street food including an exciting variety of dim sums, delicious wok dishes, and a special duck recipe specifically created for the restaurant. Spearheaded by Bulldozer Group Worldwide (the Dining & Entertainment Group behind Novikov, Sass Café, Cipriani Dubai, Movida and VIP room), the space has been designed by renowned Russian interior designer Nograph and will feature the main restaurant, lounge and garden that will evoke that intimate yet trendy feel. The famous outdoor garden, a relaxed, laid back atmosphere with lush greenery, beautiful outdoor chairs and comfy sofas will ooze cool, swanky vibes for the perfect weekend hangout.
Dubai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A contemporary brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I went there for brunch with friends yesterday. Made a nice change from a buffet style brunch. Food was excellent, every dish was served beautifully.
Moët Ice was a different concept, served on ice, but I chose to have it served in a flute! Staff were friendly and attentive, although the drink service was quite slow and when we asked what the Red wine was, the waitress said a Cabernet From Australia, when indeed it was a Chilean Shiraz! But I enjoyed the day and would most certainly go again, wonder if the brunch menu changes??
Next time I shall go in the evening and try that menu.
Will done for a different Friday brunch!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis A, General Manager at Downtown Toko, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear LadyC1961

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant, your feedback means a lot to us.

We appreciate how popular the brunch concept is in Dubai and pride ourselves in doing things slightly different and are very happy to hear you appreciate our contemporary style.

We will be changing the Brunch menu after Ramadan.

Myself and the TOKO team look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    96
    41
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

High-end Japanese Restaurant.
Amazing food, the scallop sashimi, salmon tartar, waguy beef, grilled avocado, Japanese salad are to die for! Sushi is very good, but i prefer more authentic sushi than sophisticated!
Great service, staff are friendly. Restaurant has very warm and nice interior.
All in all Toko is one of my favourite restaurants in Dubai.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jihane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis A, General Manager at Downtown Toko, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Jihane - thank you for taking the time to share your experience - I'm glad we were able to make it onto your 'favourites' list!

I will of course share your feedback with the team. -

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Toko in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food but v low key brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a friends leaving brunch - the food & service were fantastic & it's a beautifully designed bar/restaurant but it was very quiet on this particular Friday which was a shame. All in all a lovely day but not as much atmosphere as other locations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis A, General Manager at Downtown Toko, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Ch00ba,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are happy to hear you liked the beautiful design, the brunch is becoming very popular and growing with each week so hope to see you here again soon.
Best Regards,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Sushi; Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I dined at Toko last week and we had a wonderful meal. The food was delicious - the sushi and sashimi were truly melt-in-the-mouth and every new dish sampled was followed by a "wow!".

The service is faultless; the staff there are knowledgeable and friendly and are happy to recommend dishes and will help customers who aren't used to ordering sushi.

If you love Japanese food, I would highly recommend this gem of a restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JenW1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis A, General Manager at Downtown Toko, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Jen - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback - it's important to us.

I'm glad you enjoyed your evening and will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon and providing the same great experience.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Japanese restaurant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Superb Japanese food set in an amazing setting in Downtown Dubai.

I would definitely recommend it & I am really looking forward to my next visit. Everything we ordered was delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis A, General Manager at Downtown Toko, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Karyn - Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Toko Dubai.
I'm glad you enjoyed your evening; the team and I look forward to welcoming you and your guests back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Toko also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Downtown Toko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing