We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Dreaming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates
Ranked #26 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Kempinski, is more a name you might expect to hear on the morning roll-call of cop show such as NYPD-Blue. “Officer Kempinski,” “Has anybody seen Kempinski?” For a moment the rapid chewing of gum ceases and from the back of the room you hear the laconic reply “yeah, Sa-arg.” The gum chewing recommences. Apparently, there is a lot more to the name than would first appear. Embossed across all their paraphernalia from bath towels to drink coaster are the reassuring words: “Hoteliers Since 1897.” Which means that your stay should be worry free-right?

My wife and I stayed at the Kempinski Hotel, Dubai for 4 nights in mid-January on our way back to Perth via Vegas and LA. We arrived late in the evening and were picked up by a car from the hotel. The lateness of the hour coupled with the fact that the drivers English was about as good as my Arabic meant that the trip from the airport was a silent affair. Even when we drove past the world’s tallest building the Burj Khalifa-not a word. The hotel its self is located next to a freeway. Don’t however let that put you off, as we looked around Dubai almost everything appeared to be located next to a freeway either completed or under construction.

The lobby as in most 5-star hotels was open, with an air of breezy-efficiency about it. Then came check in. We had booked a non-smoking room with a view across to the world famous hotel The Burj Al Arab. After some fevered finger work by the guy on reception we were told that we “had the view but the room was smoking” not to worry he said all chipper like, there was only a “slight smell,” of smoke-would we like to take a look? Wanting to try and maintain some sort of good humour off we went. Upon opening the door of the room the aforementioned “slight smell of smoke” would have been enough to comatose The Marlboro Man in his hay-day. Back to reception. More finger action on the keyboard. Then we were told “we now have a non-smoking room but no view.” Again, would we like to take a look? Off we trundle again. Room lovely and he wasn’t kidding about any view. Unless he meant the view was the spectacular vista of the underside of the fly-over of the freeway. Back again to reception.

Having just flown 16hrs from LA, by now our patience and good humour was at an end. I said to the guy behind the desk, ”we had booked a room non-smoking with a view so far we have seen two rooms, please make the third room the Last room you show us.” The inflection on the word “last” did the trick. Hey presto, a non smoking room with a view appeared. I don’t see why you should have to go through all that just to get what you paid for!

After all that, the room was lovely. Decked out like an apartment, bespoke with heavy brown (but not old-fashioned) furniture, its best describe as functionally modern. Spotless clean, the living area is separated from the bedroom. The bed is fantastically comfortable, and the bathroom is huge. There is also tea and coffee making facilities in your room and the bar fridge can be approached with confidence (unlike some hotels) where the beverages within are on a hair-trigger which means even the slightest jolt sees the cost being place on your bill, and an extra 3 hours added to check out time trying to explain to the sceptical staff that you never actually consumed the thing in the first place.

The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast (150 Dirham pp) It was wonderful. All that you’d expect from a 5-star property. And a really great way to start the day. I did have a drink in the bar which I suppose given the religious sensibilities about alcohol was never overly busy. However, they do serve a lovely German-style wheat beer on tap. Which I got to know quite well.


The hotel is adjacent to The Mall of The Emirates. A monolith to conspicuous consumption so gargantuan that not even 3 full days was enough to navigate our way round it. In fact, I think Ferdinand Magellan circumnavigated the globe quicker. If you’re impressed by indoor ski slopes then it’s worth a look.

Dubai hotels are expensive. The Kempinski keeps the flag flying proud in this area as well. Is it worth the money? On the whole we’d have to say yes.

We would return here? If Dubai were on our list of “must see” again. But sadly, it isn’t. 3-4 days here is more than enough. Dubai may have the biggest this or the tallest that but in their rush to achieve modernity something vital has been lost. And despite his best efforts, all “Officer Kempinski” can do is stand at the back of the room and chew.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PerthMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

We normally stay at the One and Only Royal Mirage in Dubai however we were pleasantly surprised by the Kempinski. We stayed in the chalets overlooking the ski slopes. It was like a winter wonderland! This was incredible!!! The chalet is on 2 levels...upstairs is the bedroom and ensuite overlooking the slopes. The downstairs is the living area and dining room with bathroom. Very roomy! The windows are FLOOR TO CEILING overlooking the snowy scenery. The decor is not new like the light switches were peeling and some things needed refurbishment... The views, space and location make up for this. It is very clean and the service is impeccable. We have access to the Executive lounge on 11th floor where they serve complimentary afternoon tea and cocktails in the evening. Breakfast buffet was good but they need to rotate the menu and vary it a bit daily. We stayed for 3 days and I got pretty bored with the variety. The hotel provides complimentary transfers to and from the airport in a small limo. Excellent location in the mall... we will be back. Staff were very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Thanks to Violetta and Erick in the Executive LOunge...they were awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderNoak, management representative at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2010

Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates was an enjoyable one, and thank you for your kind feedback. Going the extra mile is something we pride ourselves on at Kempinski and we are delighted to hear that our Executive Lounge staff and services and our signature Ski Chalet accommodation met your approval during your stay.

We do hope we will be able to provide you with an exceptional stay at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates the next time you are in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Holger Schroth,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We had a really nice two-night stay over Christmas. Really good food at K Grill, Aspen and excellent roomservice. All the staff we met were helpful and friendly. It was very covneient to be able to walk straight into the mall to do last-minute shopping and we made use of Ski Dubai for a couple of hours on Christmas night. My husband had booked us into on eof the ski chalets because he thought it would be a really nice way to spend Christmas but it overlooked the family ski park and was just too noisy for us. The following morning the staff were really obliging and moved us to a room which was really, really quiet - surprising because it overlooked the non-stop traffic of Sheikh Zayed Road. I'd go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderNoak, management representative at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2010

Management response from
Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates, management representative

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates over the holiday season. It gives us great pleasure to know that we helped make your Christmas in Dubai a special one.

We are also happy that we were able to move you to a quieter room and apologize for any inconvenience caused by your initial choice. Do request a similar room at the time of booking your next stay, we will be very pleased to oblige with the best available choice as our rooms overlooking Shaikh Zayed Road provide as stunning a view as those that look out onto the snowy slopes of Ski Dubai.

We will be delighted to welcome you once again at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates the next time you visit Dubai.

Kind regards,

Holger Schroth,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I stayed there over the weekend only. The location was perfect for shopping and skiing! Although we rent a car, but we didn't use it that much.. the shopping mall is just outside of the lobby and you can find ANYTHING there... we did some shopping, watched couple of movies, enjoyed skiing, had our meals there, and even fooled around playing in the indoor kids' playing zone...
The room was very good and comfortable.. the size was good for such a short stay... i can't think of anything that bothered me.. Except for the fact that our room was at the very end of the floor so we had to walk a very loooooong distance to get there! it was so funny!
The staff were helpful when you need them ...
But, there is one thing, the weekends are usually super extremely busy and crowded.. so we suffered a tinny bit from the queue at the restaurant PLUS it was not quiet at all .. not the room, just the lobby was experiencing a regular flow-in and -out of people from and to the mall .. !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2nari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

big rooms, good view out window,perfect location, good breakfast,pool, polite staff. i just loved this hotel coz it is located inside of huge Mall. anytime you can go shopping, anytime you go skiing or to caffe.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
Thank NataliiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderNoak, managment represntative at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2010

Management response from
Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates, management representative

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback about your enjoyable stay at Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates. We are always grateful to receive appreciation such as yours as it inspires us to continue to provide a superior guest experience. We do hope that our service, amenities and location continue to meet and exceed guest expectations in the future, and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our colleagues.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Holger Schroth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

I love this place, has a huge mall, indoor ski slope, nice lounge, just missing a beach

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
Thank Jack4575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed at the Kempinski for 4 nights, arrived early morning at the hotel & was just looking to drop our bags off with them when we were told our room was ready & we could have the keys straight away which was really great after a long overnight flight. Paid for the deluxe room and it was amazing, just like the pictures, massive bed, great lounge area, flat screens in lounge & bedroom, very clean & the bathroom was just something else, massive shower, big separate bath, two sinks & even a separate toilet area, for me the deluxe room was well worth paying the extra. Hotel it self was very impressive, staff very friendly and helpful & very convenient being next to the mall. Had dinner at the main restaurant on the first night, very nice food and not as expensive as I thought it would be. Only went to the pool area once, very nice & relaxing area though fairly small so maybe not ideal for family's with children. Most evenings went to the hotel bar which was a nice place to drink at the end of a busy day. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and I hope to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dav1d66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Taj Dubai
#12 of 561 in Dubai
1,692 reviews
The H Dubai
#19 of 561 in Dubai
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#16 of 561 in Dubai
702 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 561 in Dubai
3,588 reviews
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#4 of 561 in Dubai
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road, Al Barsha | Attached to Mall of the Emirates, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#46 Business Hotel in Dubai
#54 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $246 - $933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location next to Mall of the Emirates, this hotel offers convenience to both business and leisure guests with world-class shopping, dining and entertainment a stone throw away. The mall itself includes more than 520 stores of prestigious international labels, a 14-screen multiplex VOX cinema and numerous food and beverage outlets - and not to forget the world's first indoor Ski dome. During more serene hours, guests can rejuvenate at our renowned Softouch Spa or simply sit back and relax by the outdoor infinity edge pool. In short, limitless possibilities are offered here and there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emirates Mall Hotel
Kempinski Hotel Dubai
Kempinski Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing