We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs Maintenance”
Review of Donatello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donatello Hotel
Ranked #235 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is my second time there and my last. We were 3 adults we and booked 2 Bd room apt it was good, spacious and clean, but the air condition in the rooms needs a major maintenance. We could not sleep at night, we had to sleep in the living room all 3 of us because the A/C was ok in the living RM. Next day we called their manager and he offered us a 3 bd room apt which was huge and also clean. We faced the same issue again, the living room and the master room A/C were fine but the other 2 rooms were very hot. I don’t recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ET M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madge W, Manager at Donatello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Et M
First of all, thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. We regret to read that your positive impression on the space and cleanliness of our rooms has been negatively affected by the air-conditioning issue that you faced on your visit. We also regret that the attempt to resolve this issue was unsuccessful during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience faced.
Following the rebranding of Coral Boutique Hotel Apartments to Donatello Hotel Apartments, we have endeavored to ensure that such maintenance issues are attended to and resolved, and to date we have not had a similar issue since then. Should you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and experience the difference, please allow me to be your additional contact as it would be a pleasure to help ensure that your requirements are met.
Sincerely,
Jearim Dancel
Front Office Manager
Donatello Hotel Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Donatello Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on this site, I was very nervous about my stay here. But it was WONDERFUL!! The apartment was huge, tv in each room, clean bedding, clean high spec bathrooms, clean towels and a lovely kitchen too. The only 2 negatives, not enough cutlery for a 6 person apartment and the parking is pretty tight. It's really near the Mall of Emirates, so near I caught a taxi there instead of taking the car. I thought for 10 dhs it was money well spent. The staff were really lovely too, even when I was very grumpy with them after the 9 hour drive on the first night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiemcmorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madge W, Manager at Donatello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Jackiemcmorn
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive experience. Thank you for highlighting the location of the hotel which is truly suitable for visiting the Mall of the Emirates. We are also delighted to read that our staff was able to take good care of you on your last visit. I will definitely share this with our team.
We also thank you for mentioning the points on the cutlery and the parking. In line with the rebranding Coral Boutique Hotel Apartments to Donatello Hotel Apartments, these issues have been considered and attended to on our current projects and future renovation plans.
Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Donatello Hotel Apartments on your next visit to Dubai.
Sincerely,
Jearim Dancel
Front Office Manager
Donatello Hotel Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

i loved the customer service they have provided me and the room was specious and clean like, if your at home,
i tried the new restaurant they opened in the hotel called Ya- Baladi Lebanese food test like home made, and the facilities was well operated,
if i visit Dubai again i will visit that hotel for sure, and i advice every one to go there, for a
wonderful experience,
Shadi Marwan

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a great place for the money! The whole place was very clean and well kept. I had the smallest room available and it was huge. Separate bedroom with good mattress and plenty of pillows. Also had a desk, TV and safe in the Bedroom. Kitchen was large with stove, full sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, hot water maker, toaster, kitchen utensils, pots and pans, dining room table and clothes washing machine (no dryer). Living room had big screen TV with DVD player. My room did not have a mini bar, but supplies for making coffee and tea were kept full. No alcohol or bar in this hotel.

Nice small pool area. I did not use the spa, massage services or health club.

Location: Close to Metro Station (5 minute walk) and Mall of Emirates (10 minute walk). Several good restaurants nearby, my favorite was the Food and Drink Restaurant, about a block away by the Holiday Inn Express (the best food after 5:30 PM).

Food: Breakfast Buffet was rather weak for $10 USD. Ordered room service once and it was rather tasteless. Your are better off ordering food for delivery from the several close restaurants.

Internet: Poor WIFI in the room, but there was a hardwire connection I used for better speed.

Overall: I will use this hotel again for my next trip to Dubai.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've stayed here for a few weeks on a business trip. While the hotel looks small from the outside, it's much bigger on the inside. The lobby and breakfast area are very nice and clean, not overly decorated like other places.

Rooms are very big and well furnished, especially in the kitchen area - a big plus ! it's a nice touch which makes you feel a bit more at home. All staff is very friendly and helpful, making sure you have a good time. My regards to mr. Adrian Apostol, which was very considerate and professional in every matter during my stay.

The location is also excellent, as it's in Al-Barsha 2: Mall of Emirates is 2 minutes away by foot, the metro is close, taxis are always in the area. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAXXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We are in the middle of a 9-night family trip and felt compelled to post our opinions on this site. The apartment is well sized, big living room, nice kitchen, and bedroom. For the most part, the staff is nice, but some don't seem to make the effort to accommodate your needs. The place is very clean and well kept. However...

We are paying a moderate price for 2 adults and 1 child and yet the child has to sleep on the uncomfortable coach cushions, otherwise we would be charged AED 675.00 (~ USD 200) for an extra mattress. Nickel-n-diming is not something you'll usually see on a 5 star. I'm also disappointed that the dvd player barely functions, the image is missing the 'blue' color and the remote is precarious.

If you're staying on a single bedroom unit, don't expect a good view, as all of these units face buildings in very close proximity. The pool is nice and the gym is basic.

Therefore this is an average hotel, but far from a five star.

Room Tip: Single-bedroom units don't have a view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

These apartments were recommended to us by a friend who travels to Dubai frequently and we weren't disappointed! We had a 1 bedroom apartment but it was huge! we had a queensize bed, 2 bathrooms (one with 2 x showers and sinks!) and a large kitchen area. The staff were friendly and very accomodating and the Pool was lovely! great views over the Burj al Arab and I was always the only one up there! The apartments are located right next to the Mall of the Emirates and the Metro so perfect for exploring! We will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prawn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Apartments - Al Barsha
0.2 mi away
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
#97 of 554 in Dubai
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pride Hotel Apartments
Pride Hotel Apartments
#306 of 554 in Dubai
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Dubai
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donatello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donatello Hotel

Address: Sheikh Zayed Rd | Al Barsha 1, Dubai 24948, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $54 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donatello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated midway between downtown Dubai and Dubai Marina, the hotel offers business and leisure travellers a convenient place to dine and meet, with diverse business and leisure areas in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donatello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing