We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value and Good Location”
Review of Donatello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donatello Hotel
Ranked #231 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value and Good Location”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a great place for the money! The whole place was very clean and well kept. I had the smallest room available and it was huge. Separate bedroom with good mattress and plenty of pillows. Also had a desk, TV and safe in the Bedroom. Kitchen was large with stove, full sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, hot water maker, toaster, kitchen utensils, pots and pans, dining room table and clothes washing machine (no dryer). Living room had big screen TV with DVD player. My room did not have a mini bar, but supplies for making coffee and tea were kept full. No alcohol or bar in this hotel.

Nice small pool area. I did not use the spa, massage services or health club.

Location: Close to Metro Station (5 minute walk) and Mall of Emirates (10 minute walk). Several good restaurants nearby, my favorite was the Food and Drink Restaurant, about a block away by the Holiday Inn Express (the best food after 5:30 PM).

Food: Breakfast Buffet was rather weak for $10 USD. Ordered room service once and it was rather tasteless. Your are better off ordering food for delivery from the several close restaurants.

Internet: Poor WIFI in the room, but there was a hardwire connection I used for better speed.

Overall: I will use this hotel again for my next trip to Dubai.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    92
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
60
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've stayed here for a few weeks on a business trip. While the hotel looks small from the outside, it's much bigger on the inside. The lobby and breakfast area are very nice and clean, not overly decorated like other places.

Rooms are very big and well furnished, especially in the kitchen area - a big plus ! it's a nice touch which makes you feel a bit more at home. All staff is very friendly and helpful, making sure you have a good time. My regards to mr. Adrian Apostol, which was very considerate and professional in every matter during my stay.

The location is also excellent, as it's in Al-Barsha 2: Mall of Emirates is 2 minutes away by foot, the metro is close, taxis are always in the area. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAXXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We are in the middle of a 9-night family trip and felt compelled to post our opinions on this site. The apartment is well sized, big living room, nice kitchen, and bedroom. For the most part, the staff is nice, but some don't seem to make the effort to accommodate your needs. The place is very clean and well kept. However...

We are paying a moderate price for 2 adults and 1 child and yet the child has to sleep on the uncomfortable coach cushions, otherwise we would be charged AED 675.00 (~ USD 200) for an extra mattress. Nickel-n-diming is not something you'll usually see on a 5 star. I'm also disappointed that the dvd player barely functions, the image is missing the 'blue' color and the remote is precarious.

If you're staying on a single bedroom unit, don't expect a good view, as all of these units face buildings in very close proximity. The pool is nice and the gym is basic.

Therefore this is an average hotel, but far from a five star.

Room Tip: Single-bedroom units don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

These apartments were recommended to us by a friend who travels to Dubai frequently and we weren't disappointed! We had a 1 bedroom apartment but it was huge! we had a queensize bed, 2 bathrooms (one with 2 x showers and sinks!) and a large kitchen area. The staff were friendly and very accomodating and the Pool was lovely! great views over the Burj al Arab and I was always the only one up there! The apartments are located right next to the Mall of the Emirates and the Metro so perfect for exploring! We will definately visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prawn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS GREECE
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

i stayed with my partner for 8 nights to an excecutive suite 75sq meters.
the appartment was superb!! very vey comfortable, big bedroom with big clothes storage area, working desk, flat screen tv, and nice decorative as you can see on the photo.Very big bed !!!
One wc, and a bathroom , with bathtub and shower!!
Big kitchen area, fully epuipment and big living room area with dining area and big screen flat tv.
totaly was better than we imagine before.
Vey clean, helpfull reception staff, we easily found a taxi.
It's 5 min walking to the metro station, and 5 min to Mall of Emirates ( big shopping mall, with big Carefour super market). Because on the area there are more hotels-appatments, there are some restaurants and mini markets around where you can buy anything you need. Even there was a restaurant on the hotel 24 hours open for breakfast and dining , we didn't use it.
There was a small swimming pool on the roof top, but it was ok to spend some hours there.The only complain i had, was the difficulty to find some one from the spa personel to give us towel for the sunbeds.So, i went down to our room and i tokk the bathroom towels for the pool.
Free internet acces on our room.
No noise from outside.
My cousin when she came to our appartment was been jealous instead of her 4star hotel room next to Burj Khalifa.
How foolish i am when on my past trips to Dubai i didn't know it and i stayed to a 4star more expensive hotel !!!!
Of course i would prefer to stay again to Coral boutique Al Barsha !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Booked into this "Below Standard" Hotel with my husbands work. Had I been the one paying we would have left after check in! The rooms are like something from the 60's or 70's with drab decor and yellow & orange sofa's. Dirty marks on the walls, handprints on the walls, Patio doors filthy! The dust on the skirting boards was thick. The balcony was unusable due to the build up of dirt! Never cleaned for the 3 weeks we were there. The Housekeeping! Well, they dont clean under tables, dont dust tables or skirting boards, dont leave toilet paper and if you ask for some you are given 1 roll - we had 3 bathrooms!! Did not replenish toiletries, No towel or soap in guest bathroom (hello!! Hygene!! The kitchen tap swivels loose,no chain on plug so 5 broken nails from prising it out! Kitchen equipment for 4 people consisted of 1 fork, 3 knives, 3 mugs, 3 glasses!! The Ironing board sits at a slant and falls over if not careful, the washing machine is in italian, no english instructions. Very little in the way of utensils, not even a big spoon!. The pool is nice but the loungers are dirty and same dirty marks been there 2 weeks. The staff all seem pleasant enough but not had much contact with them. Unfortunately some revarnishing of old furniture was going on during my stay so my car was boxed in with furniture in the basement and the room was toxic with the varnish fumes for about the first week. Breakfast is very limited and if you want a Latte then it costs extra! Would I recommend this? No way! Far nicer hotel apartments in Al Barsha area. Would not come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesaholidayor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

i went 2 times to this hotel first time was Jan 2011 however last time i felt slight difference in terms of services it seems that there are new management there.
in addition to spacious rooms and the great location this hotel has a friendly staff with good follow up i will keep staying at this hotel specialy with their Value for money real feeling

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KALKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Pride Hotel Apartments
Pride Hotel Apartments
#308 of 545 in Dubai
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
#91 of 545 in Dubai
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Khoory Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Dubai
0.8 mi away
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
#191 of 545 in Dubai
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donatello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donatello Hotel

Property: Donatello Hotel
Address: Sheikh Zayed Rd | Al Barsha 1, Dubai 24948, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Donatello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated midway between downtown Dubai and Dubai Marina, the hotel offers business and leisure travellers a convenient place to dine and meet, with diverse business and leisure areas in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donatello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing