We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Donatello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donatello Hotel
Ranked #237 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Booked into this "Below Standard" Hotel with my husbands work. Had I been the one paying we would have left after check in! The rooms are like something from the 60's or 70's with drab decor and yellow & orange sofa's. Dirty marks on the walls, handprints on the walls, Patio doors filthy! The dust on the skirting boards was thick. The balcony was unusable due to the build up of dirt! Never cleaned for the 3 weeks we were there. The Housekeeping! Well, they dont clean under tables, dont dust tables or skirting boards, dont leave toilet paper and if you ask for some you are given 1 roll - we had 3 bathrooms!! Did not replenish toiletries, No towel or soap in guest bathroom (hello!! Hygene!! The kitchen tap swivels loose,no chain on plug so 5 broken nails from prising it out! Kitchen equipment for 4 people consisted of 1 fork, 3 knives, 3 mugs, 3 glasses!! The Ironing board sits at a slant and falls over if not careful, the washing machine is in italian, no english instructions. Very little in the way of utensils, not even a big spoon!. The pool is nice but the loungers are dirty and same dirty marks been there 2 weeks. The staff all seem pleasant enough but not had much contact with them. Unfortunately some revarnishing of old furniture was going on during my stay so my car was boxed in with furniture in the basement and the room was toxic with the varnish fumes for about the first week. Breakfast is very limited and if you want a Latte then it costs extra! Would I recommend this? No way! Far nicer hotel apartments in Al Barsha area. Would not come back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesaholidayor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Donatello Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

i went 2 times to this hotel first time was Jan 2011 however last time i felt slight difference in terms of services it seems that there are new management there.
in addition to spacious rooms and the great location this hotel has a friendly staff with good follow up i will keep staying at this hotel specialy with their Value for money real feeling

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KALKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

i stayed here for the second time in July 2011 because of my prior experience here in 2009 which was fabulous. bu this time it was disappointing. the hotel has been taken over by a new management few months back and according to the staff is focusing on cost cutting. having family with little kids, they use to have free shuttle service to mall of the emirates before which is no longer there now ( although the website still claims it), so it was misleading. the Porsche feel in the room is now longer there probably because of cost cutting again. they charge for the news papers and the lobby has to A/C.

on the positive side the rooms were still spacious and comfortable enough. the staff was also good but seemed helpless due to what they are forced to do to cut down costs.

Over all the standard has gone down which will make this place no longer one to consider for future. and by the way , don't think you can walk to the mall of the emirates, not in Dubai, not summer or winter, specially if you kids.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tariq79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms in Coral Boutique are really fanastic, very spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful at any time.
Generally, you feel like home in this hotel and you are really comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days . The " Suite " is a good flat with a nice kitchen . AC is very good which is a must in Dubai ! . Resturant needs improvement and food quality is less than average. Front desk is small , But the front desk personals are very good ( AHMAD is the best ). The hotel is within a 5 min walking distance to the Emirates Mall which is one of the best in Dubai. July is very HOT . We had a very good time shopping .

Room Tip: Away form the nose rooms end with 07 ++
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We reserved a 3-bedroom 3 bathroom, living room and kitchen suite. It was AMAZING and turned out much cheaper than a hotel. These suites are SPACIOUS ---- the bathrooms were amazing; great products too! Cleaning staff came late morning, which was very convenient; Hotel desk was very helpful.
I had booked an Airport Pickup w them --- it is quite expensive, compared to a cab. Just get the address of the hotel and take a cab from the airport --- it is a safe country, you'll be OK! I took a cab back to the airport and it was less than half of what they had charged me to send a car to pick me up.
Rooms were spacious and very clean; nice kitchen. We didn't cook there, but it was great to keep snacks in the big refrigerator. If you are thinking "small kitchen" --- no, it is a HUGE kitchen! You COULD cook a gourmet meal there. Spacious living & dining rooms too.
Highly recommended if you want a 3bed/3bath and don't want to pay for hotel costs.
Walking distance to the mall. EASY ENOUGH!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NellanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from April to May 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. The location of the hotel is very central; about 5 to 7 minutes walk to the mall of the emirates and a 10 minute taxi drive to Jumeirah beach. We had booked a 2 bedroomed apartment; I think the website provides a clear description of the rooms, so one knows what one is going to get. We took the Coral breakfast rate and found it value for money; the breakfast options were good even for a vegetarian like me. True, it may have been cheaper for us to prepare breakfast in our room every morning, but I wanted to be free from all work and needed to indulge a little!
The room itself was quite big...two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a guest toilet, a large living room, TVs, dvd player, washing machine, microwave etc. Very comfortable indeed. The gym was good and the swimming pool quite refreshing and clean, although on the small side. I liked the small jacuzzi...great relaxation.
The staff was friendly and helpful and they helped us to book the desert safari and wild wadi at reasonable rates.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to families with children, especially if you want value for money and don't mind not being on the beach

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank proy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Apartments - Al Barsha
0.2 mi away
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
#95 of 554 in Dubai
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pride Hotel Apartments
Pride Hotel Apartments
#309 of 554 in Dubai
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Dubai
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donatello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donatello Hotel

Address: Sheikh Zayed Rd | Al Barsha 1, Dubai 24948, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $54 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donatello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated midway between downtown Dubai and Dubai Marina, the hotel offers business and leisure travellers a convenient place to dine and meet, with diverse business and leisure areas in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donatello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing