We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce place in DUBAI”
Review of Roda Al Murooj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roda Al Murooj
Ranked #100 of 549 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
south uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NIce place in DUBAI”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Last minute.com booking for a quick break away. Lastminute.com were excellent, flights on Emirates fine. We booked a club room so had a luxury limosine pickup and club room. We had use of the club lounge which made the break even better. We could enjoy afternoon tea from 3.30pm to 5.30pm. Then canape's from 7pm to 9.30pm with alcohol being served from 7.30pm free of charge.
Breakfast buffet was included in the price and was excellent.
We were during Ramadam, so there were a few restrictions. We could not take drinks down to the pool between sunset and sunrise. We did not find this a problem as we could drink water in our room and as it was so hot we were not down there for too long anyway. The hotel pool is being refurbished so we were able to use the apartment's pool, which was a short walk but very nice.
From check in to check out the service was outstanding - we would definately stay here again.
Taxis were very reasonable and would take you anywhere in Dubai. You can walk to Dubai Mall in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markone16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    589
    144
    65
    36
See reviews for
680
569
110
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Nice hotel, clean and quiet. Close to BIG Malls and shopping centers. The view of the Al Burj is great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!

I booked through last minute two weeks before arrival & was not disappointed!! I booked the Club Rotana package which includes complimentary; breakfast, afternoon tea & snacks (15:30 - 17:30) & alcoholic drinks & evening finger food (19:00 - 21:30) which was phenomenal!! The service at the hotel was 'first class' and made my stay at the hotel even more memorable.

The location is quite central, with the Dubai mall opposite and the Burj Khalifa next to the mall was ideal to travel in both directions if you want to visit Dubai City & Jumeira beach & palm island.

I would recommend the Red Bus Tour for two days as there is so much to do & see you will need two full days!!! Also spend an evening from about 18:00 - 20:30 on the public Jumeira beach next to the Burj Al Arab which was incredible.... The sea's temperature is about 25 degrees and the sunset is amazing!!!

The Ski resort in the Mall of Emirates is advisable if you can ski, if not, then not really worth the price!!! The desert safari was really good and would highly recommend but the highlight of my trip was afternoon teas at the Burj Al Arab. I booked a 15:00 sitting & didn't leave till about 17:30 after about 8 courses and numerous free refill coffees’, I was full for the rest of the day. The selection of sandwiches & deserts was unbelievable!!!

There's a Double Decker bar and C - Bar nightclub attached to the hotel.

Overall; I really enjoy my stay in Al Murooj & visiting Dubai. I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlH_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed in this hotel twice but our third visit we decided to use another hotel (which was a good dicision).
Our hotel change is based on the problems we had, both times, during check-in en out (in this order) which took so much extra time and was caused by their mistakes
The rooms are good, but nothing special and breakfast had more than enough choice but things just can get much better in this range.
Even if you choose this hotel by location (close to the Dubai Mall and Burj Kaliefa).
We used the Al Manzil Hotel last week. very good choice.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nlhenrverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for five nights recently and overall were very impressed with the hotel. It was our second visit to Dubai and we were looking for a hotel in a central location with a good pool-the Al Murooj ticked both boxes. The location is good-right opposite Dubai Mall and the Burj Khalifa and both are only a few dirhams in a taxi. You can walk to the Dubai Mall via a series of pedestrian crossings but this isnt a good idea in June....44 degrees!

The pool normally reserved for hotel guests was being renovated so hotel guests could use the residents pool instead (which is a much nicer and larger pool). The hotel has a British pub attached to it, the Double Decker. We went there a few times and it was very popular with British expats.

We booked through lastminute.com and paid a little extra to upgrade to the Club Rotana.This was well worth it. It includes breakfast and afternoon tea, as well as use the business/internet facilities. Best of all, between 7pm-9.30pm every night canapes and aloholic drinks were served- drink were of a high standard (international premium brands). The canapes were exceptional and chnaged every night...more like a mini buffet. We saw several people having the canapes as dinner in the evenings. Also included in the Club Rotana package was free private transfers to and from the airport- very handy. Email the hotel before hand to arrange this.

With regard to the rooms- the first room we were given (1119) was absolutley TINY. Easily the smallest room we have ever stayed in. There was no storage space and the view was less than wonderful. However, we asked to change rooms and they were most obliging. They apologised for giving us such a small room and explained it was because we had checked in early (in fairness we had checked in at 6am instead of 2pm!). Our second room was fantastic. It was on the 8th floor (847) and had lovely views over the complex. It was very clean and spacious and was furnished to a high standard. It was cleaned thoroughly every day with fresh robes, slippers and water being provided twice daily.

The staff at the hotel were excellent-some of the friendliest and attentive we have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble and they provided a great 5* service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is a super hotel in a great location if you are looking for a city break. I have been to Dubai times and this hotel is one of the better ones I have stayed in. We paid around £40 per night which was a great rate. It is located off Sheikh Zayed road, opposite the Burj Khalifa ( tallest building in the world). It is around 5 mins in a cab to the Emirates Towers which is always worth a visit, and probably one of the best located properties that I have stayed in.

Tips
Do ask for a room on a high floor as the nightclub is audible from the 2nd floor.
The hotel swimming pool is closed for maintenance until Sept 15th. However they allow hotel guests to use the adjacent pool which belongs to the apartment complex. This is excellent as the pool is 4 times larger, and has plenty of sun loungers. As the hotel is a city one it is not full of tourists and as a result few people actually use the pool. The busiest day was Friday ( Dubai's Saturday ) when around 50 people were around the pool mainly from the apartments, but there was still plenty of loungers.

As always Dubai is very expensive so be prepared to spend circa £3-£5 for a soft drink around the pool....a burger is around £9, and a bottle of beer around £7.

I would recommend that you try More Cafe....this is around a 3 min walk from the main hotel entrance, located on the right hand side ...prices are similar to the Pool bar however the choice is far more extensive.

I also ate at the Indian restaurant in the hotel which was excellent. I went on one of their promotional evenings where it was a fixed price of around £35 per head.

Also worth trying is the Glasshouse (Gordon Ramsays Brasserie) in the Hilton Dubai Creek...around a 5-10min cab ride and on Mondays and Wednesdays it is a promotional evening of 1dirham per drink (20p).
We enjoyed Friday brunch at the Jumeriah Beach Hotel....which is around 15 mins in a cab. For £40 there is the most jaw dropping, selection of food on offer it is worth starving yourself the day before for.

It is worth investing in a copy of Time Out magazine when you get there it will tell you all the great promotions and restautant deals available. It is very easy to get through £100 per person per day on food and beverage alone.....so worth looking at.

We ate at the Meat Company in Madinat Jumeriah......which was amazing...however at £50 for a steak you should expect someting pretty spectacular

Anyway all in all this is a good property and a fab location if you don't want to be stuck at the beach ..which we didn't.

It is perfectly possible to walk to the Dubai Mall as there are pedestrian Crossings installed....it takes less than 5 mins. However walking any distance in Dubai in June is just generally best avoided otherwise you arrive a hot sweaty mess.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

This hotel has everything you need to just enjoy some time in the sun. There are restaurants galore. Burj Al Khalifa is only walking distance away with the entrance in the Dubai Mall across the street. This is absolutely one of the best places to stay in Dubai. The staff is ultra friendly and breakfast was awesome. I can't say enough about this hotel. The business services were excellent. Please don't everyone book at once because I need a good place to stay the next time I visit.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CLYoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The H Dubai
#22 of 549 in Dubai
1,414 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#70 of 549 in Dubai
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#17 of 549 in Dubai
475 reviews
Rove Downtown
#35 of 549 in Dubai
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Al Murooj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Al Murooj

Property: Roda Al Murooj
Address: Al Saada Street, Dubai 117546, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#51 Family Hotel in Dubai
#74 Business Hotel in Dubai
#91 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Roda Al Murooj 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star Roda Al Murooj Hotel is situated across from Dubai Mall and the famous Burj Khalifa. It features a lush garden with a large swimming pool and free WiFi in public areas. Dubai World Trade Centre is a 10-minute drive away. The luxurious accommodations offer views of the city or the lush courtyard gardens. Each one feature flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a working desk, minibar and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom includes a hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. The hotel’s dining options include the award-winning Double Decker Pub and Pergolas the all-day- dining restaurant serving international dishes as well as Circle & City lobby cafes. 24 hour in-room dining is also available. Bodylines, the fitness centre, has a fully equipped gym, sauna, and a hot tub. Massage treatments can be booked at a surcharge. The complex also benefits from an on-site beauty salon, babysitting services, steam room and tennis courts. Roda Al Murooj Hotel is a 40-minute drive from Al Maktoum International Airport. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Dubai Mall, Kidzania and the Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo. Dubai International Airport is 20 minutes by car. Downtown Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, luxury brand shopping and food. This property is also rated for the best value in Dubai! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roda Al Murooj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Murooj Rotana Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing