We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Country Club Hotel
Ranked #264 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It is advertised as luxurious, friendly 4 star. It is definitely not any of these. It's dirty, it's smell mouldy and there is non stop club music all night. I was totally surprised as the advert read like a quiet, well established hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone. I have booked 2 nights, but will be leaving after 1, I expect there will be no refund.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlenatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 473 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

I got an upgrade to a suite, which was huge! At least 40 sq meters, a bathroom with bath and shower and another separate shower. Free water every day. Fantastic bed, best I have ever had in a hotel. Unfortunately I got a lot of noise from the discotheque/club/bar which is on the ground floor in the hotel. I put the airco on full blast, to blend the noise out. Room a bit run down, but nothing too bad. There's an Indian restaurant, but I did not eat there, it had very loud live music. Breakfast is good, with someone making your eggs to your liking. Underground parking available.

Room Tip: If they offer an upgrade, ask if you a free of the noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchfarmeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we highly appreciate your feedback as this allow us review our service and facilities and only through comments we will able to do so.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you during your recent stay here in the Country club. We have taken a good note of its content and we shall address and discuss all matters with the team to prevent similar problems occurring in the future.
I hope that despite your experience you will still afford us a chance to serve you again in a better way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After lot of research and helpful reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to go ahead with Country Club. Did not see any negative review of the hotel which made me confident!

I wanted a hotel which is in Bur Dubai ( considering its centrally located - shopping + site seeing). These is 10 mins away from Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa,Meena Bazaar, Dhow cruise. - the main destinations which anyone would want to visit while in Dubai.

- Hotel staff was very friendly, helpful & service was excellent.
- The rooms were big and very very clean. Most of the reviews you read online boast about the rooms.
- Taxis are easily available from the hotel in case you want to go anywhere closeby.
- If you are looking to get a hotel which is in the main market area, downside is the traffic and willingness of cabs to go there ( rare though )
- Restaurants are excellent!

Would strongly recommend Country Club!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmakhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit in Dubai
We greatly appreciate your feedback that you have mentioned in your review here in TripAdvisor as this will help us serve you better.
It was indeed our pleasure to have served you and we do hope to host you and your family the next time you come to Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As a frequent traveller, I would say the country club resort is definitely a superb choice in the city of Dubai,both in respect of location and service. I had stayed here for two days while on my way back from Dubai, and had to frequently travel to the City centre. It is a mere ten minutes drive from here, and cabs are easily available, and costs about 15dirhams, if I remember correctly. The suite i was booked in was as comfortable as it gets, awesum decor with two lavish rooms and two bathrooms, one with jacuzzi, though the view was not good at all. Food was great. Something that had put me off was that sales representatives were trying to convince couples to join country club right there in the lobby and in the restaurant during breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful and very detailed review following your recent stay at the country club.

Your kind comments are highly appreciated as it will serve an added motivation to us
we always aim to provide you our valued guest our utmost services and facilities.

Again thank you and we are looking forward having you once again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked this hotel for two reasons; very, very affordable (Dhs275 per night) and it is next to the Intenational Modern Hospital where my wife had an operation. I found this hotel by chance online. After wife checked into the hospital at 10 am, kids and I walked next door at 10.15 am and asked if we could book in, as we were travelling from Abu Dhabi since 5.50 the morning. We are helped with a smile, and half an hour later, we were in a clean, spacious room with a street view. Off course we went straight to bed and slept until afternoon, ready to check on wife after her operation. Parking is free and underground, thus saving on gas, and parking fees. We had the buffet breakfast for Dhs45, the normal selection of breads, free, cereal and hot foods. Ommelettes were made to order. Only negative, we did not have time to visit the Spa and the pool on the roof.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking rooms facing the street on floor 2 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danville F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during you recent visit in Dubai and for sharing your stay experience
It was indeed our pleasure to have served you and we do hope to host you and your family the next time you come to Dubai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was in Dubai for 2 days with my colleagues for an exhibition and we were booked at Country Club Hotel by our company. Everything right from check-in to check-out was a pretty smooth experience. The only hitch was that the Hotel does not have its own vehicles and waiting for a taxi even in the October-November sun was quite a task.

The Hotel boasts of several themed restaurants befitting a Club Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our LIVE Indian Songs at Qureshi's.

The breakfast next day was amply versatile and of excellent quality. The rooms were pretty comfortable and so was the bathroom. The overall hotel atmosphere was pretty good and luxurious.

Unfortunately, by midnight, I developed a throat infection (I had actually carried it from India) and was unable to even swallow water by morning. As a result, I couldn't even have my breakfast though I sat there with my team. I kinda developed a fever a couple of hours later and had to stay back in the hotel. By evening, hunger caught up and I went down to one of the restaurants. But since I was in no shape of swallowing anything, I went back to my room for some more rest.

I was in for a pleasant surprise when I got a soft knock on my door. It was their chef who had come down to ask me why I hadn't had anything since morning and whether I didn't like their food or what! I was completely taken aback at the hotel staff's observation and eagerness to take care of a customer. I explained my problem and he prepared a certain soup which helped me with some quick relief!

I was completely floored by this experience and have vowed to take my family to this particular hotel only whenever I go to Dubai with them. My only issue was that the beds were too soft and deep for a comfortable sleep - which was a problem peculiar to me and not to any of my colleagues.

Room Tip: Make sure you provide enough money for travel arrangements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirNeerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your personal experience at Country club.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your candid feedback is immensely encouraging and motivates all of us in rendering good quality service to our valuable guests such as yourself.

Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Country club Dubai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and it is value for money. The only problem with this hotel that the ground floor café manager Denis has a permanent scowl on his face and he looks at all the visitors that you feel unwelcome. You have to be ready for this every morning on your way in to the café or way out of the hotel. The staff are very good and professional but again some body has stolen all the smiles from their faces.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kumaremirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

We are delighted to have learned that we have met your utmost satisfaction and expectation during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us and rest assured that we will continue providing our utmost to you our valued guest. Your comments have been shared with all our Team members. Looking forward to welcoming back on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#44 of 556 in Dubai
1,458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#176 of 556 in Dubai
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Arabian Dreams Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#63 of 556 in Dubai
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Club Hotel

Address: 35a Sheikh Rashid Road | Behind New Gold Souk, Dubai 118094, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#127 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#220 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $59 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Country Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location between the beaches of Dubai on one side and the city on the other, the Country Club Hotel Dubai is well located for exploring this fantastic city.The hotels’ many facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, separate children's pool, a well-equipped gym and spa area offering sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guests can enjoy a range of spa treatments. The hotel is located right behind the New Gold Souk. It is also one mile from Khalid Bin Waleed Metro Station, one mile from the Burjuman Mall and 4 miles from Dubai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing