We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best of starts, but great finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Country Club Hotel
Ranked #258 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best of starts, but great finish”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our first night was not the best of starts, I arrived at 3am and was told by the manager that they were overbooked due to a hospital accident next door, they provided me with another nearby hotel for the night. I was clearly not happy about this as it was my first night and having paid for the full night and arriving at 3am, I expected my check-in to be fast and trouble free.
However the next day I was picked up from the hotel from the Front Office Manager, Mr Habib, and recieved a complimentary upgrade to the suite. It was huge, with 2 bathrooms, jacuzzi and a balcony. The breakfast was great and the service from staff was excellent. I can't have asked for anything more. Would definitely recommend.
THank you to Mr Habib and his staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOHSIN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful and very detailed review following your recent stay at the country club.

Your kind comments are highly appreciated as it will serve an added motivation to us and your concerns will be further reviewed and evaluated as we always aim to provide you our valued guest our utmost services and facilities.

Again thank you and we are looking forward having you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    175
    82
    37
    42
See reviews for
160
102
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You are escaping overseas from a conservative country and want to drink, smoke and club it up without leaving your hotel. If so, this is the place for you. None smokers will mostly be put off by the stale smokey smell and I suspect the target market are new affluent who by coincidence come from countries whose governments don't yet promote preventative health care (like none smoking).

On check in the reception staff were unhelpful and at first told us we only had one room booked, not two! She also told us we would have to pay for wifi because we booked through a travel agent? We objected without result and went to our rooms; which smelt smokey and one had an ash tray - we had booked none smoking rooms. Complained to the same unhelpful receptionist who gave us the brush off and offered to spray air freshener in the rooms. In the end the manager was called - I presume this was Habib who responds to most feedback. This guy needs medal for the flak he has to take. He sorted our rooms and internet access while we were out for the day which was great. If all staff had his pro-customer attitude the place would be much better.

Our second rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious and Habib had been very gracious in sorting this out.

Buffet breakfast was reasonable and food selection and quality was ok and about what I'd expect - it is after all a modestly priced hotel.

Rooms can be a bit noisey due to the clubs in the hotel but I slept through it and I guess nearer the back of the hotel will be quieter.

Neither of our booked wake up calls happened so you need to be self reliant.

If this hotel could improve its reception attitude/reliability (and it may only be the person) and ditch their target smoking market I'd be happy to re-visit for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful and very detailed review following your recent stay at the country club.

Your kind comments are highly appreciated as it will serve an added motivation to us and your concerns will be further reviewed and evaluated as we always aim to provide you our valued guest our utmost services and facilities.

Again thank you and we are looking forward having you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Where to begin...
our flight had landed at 7 but once we arrived at the hotel we had expected early check in but no we were forced to wait until 2 by the rude receptionist.. we were not offered any drinks or water after our nearly 9 hour flight.

As we needed three rooms we expected them to be next to each other but infact they were on seperate floors which was an inconvenience. When we once entered our hotel rooms they stank of cigarettes, even after complaining I expected them to smell less but no it carried on through out the 7 days. Every time I entered my room or even the hotel infact I couldn't help but gag at the disgusting smell.

On the day we arrived we were not use to the surroundings so decided to eat at the hotel, but the food was terrible and over priced. Breakfast had a wide selection but not cook to my satisfaction, the tea and coffee served was also disgusting.

Hotels are suppose to make you feel welcomed Into a different country but the reception staff were nothing but rude.

The music in the clubs was so loud that we wouldn't be able to sleep until the early hours of the morning.

It's a shame our trip to Dubai had to be ruined by staying at this hotel, and the management team will probably say "sorry for your Inconvienence" but a apology doesn't just make up for this terrible stay. I would never stay here in a million years.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kizza04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
This is in reply to your complaints regarding your stay with The Country Club Hotel, Dubai. First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

To inform you that, we are striving to achieve the highest standard of service as guest satisfaction is our prime importance. Though, we have taken relevant steps to avoid any re-occurrence of the same
Kindly forward me your telephone number and a suitable time to call you as I would personally like to talk to you and let you know the action taken and also have a chance to speak to you.
habib@countryclubdubai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As soon as you enter the hotel you have the feeling of entering a smokers club. Our rooms, booked as non-smoking rooms have been equipped with ashtrays and also smelling like just being left by a smoker. Staff tried to refresh the air in the rooms which didn´t work, we bought our own air fresheners. The overall condition is poor, needs refurbishment as soon as possible! Breakfast was poor, coffee incredible terrible, orange juice tasted like water, one breakfast was enough, the other days we skipped it! The music from the clubs was so loud, you could hear the bass even on the third floor. Swimming pool was closed during our entire stay, only positive thing, the internet was free.
We will for sure never go there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freundlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns following your recent stay at the country club.
First and foremost please accept our apologies, we regret the inconvenience you experienced during your stay
We always aim to provide our valued guest the utmost satisfaction, and such concern are valuable and will help us to better our services and rest assured your concerns are well noted and will discuss all matters with the team to prevent similar problems occurring in the future.
I hope despite your experience you will still afford us to serve you again.
Thank you once again for providing us with your valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed on an personal trip for 4 nights, solo. Room was more than spacious and well laid out. The card was swiped prior to checkin, infact the minibar expenses were charged at the time of checkin !!!
Not much options if you are a TV buff. The water mixer for the shower was not working, so basically u either got HOT or COLD water, not the temperature that u desired. Food was decent.
Swimming pool is closed from Dec end till the time i was there ie. Feb mid on inquiring, i was told i shall so be till march end for repairs.
Staff was couteous and pleasant. Its true that the thump of loud music at ground floor could be disturbing even at the 2nd floor. Over all a decent place for short stays only.

Room Tip: take rooms in the 3rd floor, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns following your recent stay at the country club.
First and foremost please accept our apologies, we regret the inconvenience you experienced during your stay
We always aim to provide our valued guest the utmost satisfaction, and such concern are valuable and will help us to better our services and rest assured your concerns are well noted and will discuss all matters with the team to prevent similar problems occurring in the future.
I hope despite your experience you will still afford us to serve you again.
Thank you once again for providing us with your valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Dubai really is amazing!

I'm just so sad that this hotel really let us down!

Check in was awkward. We needed to swipe a credit card before check in or we wasn't sleeping there so it's a good job I remembered one isn't it!

Apparently the debit card I used to book with wasn't good enough! Why wasn't I told this before hand?

The pool was closed on the 30/12/12 so they had over a month to notify us as we would have canceled.

We paid for cancelation and would have used this had we known but we was lied to and miss informed.

Who wouldn't want to use a pool in the heat of Dubai?

The bed had a shard of glass in it which resulted in my cousin cutting his leg and bleeding all over the sheets.

How had this happened?

I then rang four times to get a iron and iron board sent to room and each time they said five minutes. It never came.

The final straw was when we asked to have a wake up call for our early flight. We set our own alarms luckily but they failed to call us. What sort of hotel does this?

No apology was offered

I want some sort of refund for this stay as nearly £400 for the 5 day stay was just ridiculous given what happened. I WILL be making a formal complaint. Do not stay at this hotel unless it is last minute.

The only good part was the Indian Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannywaited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns following your recent stay at the country club.
First and foremost please accept our apologies, we regret the inconvenience you experienced during your stay
We always aim to provide our valued guest the utmost satisfaction, and such concern are valuable and will help us to better our services and rest assured your concerns are well noted and will discuss all matters with the team to prevent similar problems occurring in the future.
I hope despite your experience you will still afford us to serve you again.
Thank you once again for providing us with your valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is difficult to find a hotel in Dubai in a peaceful area with all the facilities under one roof but THE COUNTRY CLUB HOTEL I would say meets all the requirements while you are staying in UAE.This Hotel is situated in Bur-Dubai.All the basic facilities are around this hotel including Metro Train Station.The living rooms here are good.It includes different Clubs, Dining Restaurants,Health Club,Swimming Pool.The receptionists are well mannered & always ready to help.There is a UAE tour guide sitting near the reception & transport facility is available round the clock.Overall it was an awesome experience staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern side are Bigger & less Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRIQBAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habib S, Front Office Manager at The Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your personal experience at The Country club.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your candid feedback is immensely encouraging and motivates all of us in rendering good quality service to our valuable guests such as yourself.
Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Country club Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sea View
Hotel Sea View
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arabian Dreams Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#159 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
0.6 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
0.7 mi away
Winchester Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Club Hotel

Property: The Country Club Hotel
Address: Sheikh Rashid Road, 35a | Behind New Gold Souk, Dubai 118094, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#216 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Country Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location between the beaches of Dubai on one side and the city on the other, the Country Club Hotel Dubai is well located for exploring this fantastic city.The hotels’ many facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, separate children's pool, a well-equipped gym and spa area offering sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guests can enjoy a range of spa treatments. The hotel is located right behind the New Gold Souk. It is also one mile from Khalid Bin Waleed Metro Station, one mile from the Burjuman Mall and 4 miles from Dubai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing