We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be tacky tourist trap but ended up loving it - great fun”
Review of Arabian Adventures

Arabian Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Sundowner Dune Dinner Safari with Soft Drinks in the Dubai Desert Conservation...
Ranked #8 of 409 Outdoor Activities in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover Dubai and the UAE with Arabian Adventures' exciting range of tours, safaris and activities. Cruise aboard a traditional dhow or dine among the dunes - the choice is yours. Take a city tour, explore the Wadi, go desert driving, sandboarding or camel riding. We'll even tailor-make a package just for you. So what kind of adventure will you have today?
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thought it would be tacky tourist trap but ended up loving it - great fun”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I loved this! At first I thought the desert safari might be a really tacky tourist trap and while, yes it is touristy, it so was well organised that I recommend it as a great way to spend an afternoon and evening (especially if like us you have had to check out of your hotel and have an early morning flight home).

We did the Sundowner option and our driver, Liwa, was fantastic. He was actually the first Arab we met in Dubai and he was so generous in answering all our questions and in communicating what was involved.

The safari itself involved a falcon show, dune drive (fun! not extreme and lasted maybe half an hour to 45 minutes in total), 2 photo stops before reaching the camp, camel ride, dinner (pretty good and plenty of it), belly dancer (not an authentic UAE dance but she was excellent), henna painting (not sure if this was free), shisha, opportunity to dress up in traditional clothes (you need to pay for photos) and a 5 minute star gazing session. We did see a few white oryx along the way but having just come from a safari in Africa this was interesting but not our main focus.

While there are heaps of safari companies offerring a safari product, if you are a after a particular focus eg: larger dunes, more wildlife viewing etc be sure to ask your operator about this as from what we now understand some will take you on bigger dunes but may be less well organised or have lesser quality food, some offer less variety in activity and some exclude a falcon show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgentM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,810
    456
    116
    57
    127
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well organised and interesting evening”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pick up was on time and driver was very informative. When we got to the conservation reserve we watched falcon flying which was informative and interesting. The dune bashing was great but one of the travellers got sick. The dinner was great. I would recommend this trip that would warn those who get travel sickness to not do the dune bashing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank obeethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“depends on your expectations... and the group/driver you're stuck with”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was a trip with two girlfriends so we did not ant any privacy and did not care too much about being with 100's of others.
We booked the afternoon desert safari in the morning. The driver, Adnan, came to pick us up from the hotel (Hyatt Regency). He was very punctual (although we weren't) and then we went to pick up two more people from next to Burj Khalifa. Because we were running late, he ran late for the others. So I can only imagine that their first impression was completely opposite of ours. Then we proceeded towards the Conservation Area. We were happy and giggling the whole time. The music was great in the car - the sound system was booming. However I am sure that this was not the impression of the couple that was with us. The first 'attraction' was the falcon show. Dubai is quite international, but it was strange to have a falcon show given by an Australian and not someone more 'local'. Then we had the dune safari - Adnan was an excellent driver, and performed some thrilling turns and dune bashing without us feeling in danger. The music was loud, and the atmosphere ready for a party. The three of us were fully enjoying ourselves. Adnan had pretty good answers to our generic questions about the dunes, about the city, etc. Enough to satisfy our curiosity. The dinner was in a camp with the other 400 or so people. The food was good, but nothing amazing. Despite the size of the party there were miraculously no lines at the self-service station. The drinks were plenty. Although we only had a glass of wine, you could re-serve as much as you wanted... The belly show in the end was a little weak.
When the party ended, our car was not among the first to leave, but definitely not the first. But apparently the couple in the back waited for us for about half an hour. So I am afraid to read their review of the same exact trip on trip advisor!
We dropped them off, and since we were next to the fountains and we wanted to see the show, Adnan pulled the car in the parking and proposed that we go watch the fountain show and then he would bring us back to the hotel. Such a sweet touch!
I think your experience will depend on the other people in the group, as the groups are not put together based on any criteria (sort of visit -romantic, couple, family etc; language; location of pick-up; age; etc) and the driver. Adnan was a free-lancer who was able to get out of the prescribed tour and let us watch the fountain show (and thus avoiding another hour back and forth in a taxi), had a great sound system in the car, was young and had similar taste in music.
I think it's a great tour for a group of friends who are not looking for a romantic evening, and definitely looking for something fun to do rather than a cultural adventure!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank griottte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhague
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a morning desert safari and had a really good time. Our guide was very friendly. It was nice to get the chance to see the desert for a bit and we really much enjoyed driving in the dunes. Would definetely recommend Arabian Adventures!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sojoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I did an Arabian Adventures half day trip here. It was just five of us in a SUV. No one else could be seen for miles. The driver was prompt and professional. And a highly skilled driver! The landscape is something I've never seen before. We also saw ornx and gazelles.
I wish I had done the tour that included sandbaording.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arabian Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Arabian Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing