We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are into gold then probably worth a visit”
Review of Gold Souk

Gold Souk
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Combo Dubai City Tour and Desert Safari
Ranked #12 of 227 Shopping in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Mamiya jewellers is an jewelry establishment in 1966, having profound experience & competent prices & quality in diamond , gold & bespoke jewelry manufacturing.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“If you are into gold then probably worth a visit”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am not at all interested in gold, but as part of our tour, we couldn't really escape this part. This is an open air area with lots of small air conditioned shops that sells gold per gram or ready to wear jewelries.

Not a great time being there in noon in summer when temperature reached 45 degrees! You will get hassled by sweaty and smelly salesman almost pushing you into their shops.

I did not stop to any shop, we just went straight to the spice souk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GKtrips16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    784
    527
    126
    91
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for Gold”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Gold Souk is an excellent place to buy gold if you pay attention to what you are doing and know what to expect ahead of time. It was overwhelming for me at first with all of the hassling people in the walkway trying to get you to come to an alley to look at their "watches" and the store owners trying to hurry up and sell you anything. But once I got past that and paid attention I came out with a good price on a pair of gold hoops and a chain. I would recommend knowing the price of gold ahead of time and ALWAYS negotiate with the store owners before you buy anything. More than likely what you pay there will be about half of what you would have paid for the same thing in the US.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
382 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is must do attraction but be prepared to be hassled. We enjoyed looking at the jewellery - never seen so much gold on display before. The only downside is the shop owners constantly hassling you to come in or trying to keep you in their stores.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ianthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting but not with children intimidating”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to see I am an experienced traveller so had a fair idea what to expect but have to say my partner and the children felt quite intimidated it was worse than turkey lol I would advise to go be aware you will be pestered a lot by street vendors saying real fake that did make us laugh I would go again just without the children.

Please do the river taxis really cheap and well worth it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrugby111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Found that you could quickly get a price 50% above the international ingot gold price ( which is shown on electronic boards around the market ) for jewellery, compared to a plus 200% in the UK. Worth a visit for a souvenir.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Souk also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Gold Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing