We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite modern and really just a bunch of shops” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Souk

Gold Souk
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Combo Dubai City Tour and Desert Safari
Ranked #12 of 221 Shopping in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Mamiya jewellers is an jewelry establishment in 1966, having profound experience & competent prices & quality in diamond , gold & bespoke jewelry manufacturing.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
818 reviews
488 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Quite modern and really just a bunch of shops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The old Souk was knocked down so this is modern. If you want Gold then I guess its the place but for everyone else just of passing interest. You do see a bit of the "older" Dubai and Deira though.
Also guys hawking the same old fake bags and watches....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    730
    473
    117
    87
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Shopping spree for Gold Loverss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Main skill set requirement while visiting is bargaining.
Goods displayed are nice , normally price displayed will be 50 -60% off actual price. Therefore , take a rough estimation on the item desire before you start to bargain.. Eventually they will lower price to match up with your budget

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Tinkle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gold Souk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Souk was quite impressive, but felt that it was a bit sanitised for the experience I was expecting. I didn't buy anything as I felt extremely uncomfortable about haggling for price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodyNandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“MUST-SEE in Dubai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been to Dubai a couple of times and always stop by the gold souk to buy something small. It's a good place to just walk around and look at the shops even if you're not buying anything. If you do purchase something, make sure you BARGAIN! Prices are based on the gold price each day so check before you go. Also shop around before you buy something because you can compare prices. I usually go to a store called Kanz, they tend to have the best prices for the simples things that I have purchased (thin gold chain, three bracelets, and small gold ring).

WARNING: there are tons of shop employees around the area that try to lure you into their shops and get you to buy something. If you don't buy something, they get really pissed and it gets uncomfortable. So do yourself a favor and just ignore them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank StilaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I tend to not expect much and avoid dissapointments. I feel the same for the 3 souks (gold, spice and textile). To me it was nothing grand, out of the ordinary. Prices and goods not worth for me buying. Maybe for some it is depending from where you are or places you have visited. Easy to get from one souk to the other. Textile Souk is in one side of the river. We took an abra across the creek to get to the Gold Souk and Spice Souk (you can walk from one to the other).

Helpful?
1 Thank jen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Souk also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Gold Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing