We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Beautiful Middle Eastern Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #53 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Yzerfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really Beautiful Middle Eastern Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My daughter lives in Dubai and we all spent the night there on the evening of her wedding. She had been there a few times and insisted that we join them there even though I thought it was a bit expensive. I am so glad I let her talk us into it as it was certainly worth the price, a truly first class hotel designed in way to make it feel like you had gone back in time but with all the latest facilities. The rooms were awesome and I have to say that the shower was the best I have ever had in any hotel I have visited in all my travels. Restaurants served very good food and the pool was very inviting, that is both the swimming pool and the pool table in a very pleasant bar area
Just sorry we only had time to spent one night but will definitely be back again as there is so much more we wanted to experience

Room Tip: Try and get a desert view as the sunrise and sunsets are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your stay with your family in Dubai.

We are committed to providing exceptional facilities, good food as well as to delivering warm and friendly service to our guests, and your feedback has been shared and very much appreciated by the team.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,
M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    405
    136
    48
    27
See reviews for
500
900
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really nice location, close to the city but away at the same time. Perfect weekend escape spot.
We stayed during Ramadan and it was very good. Food was amazing especially during evening with some shows arranged.Next morning breakfast ok too.
However I was expecting a bit higher level of customer service from 5* hotel .Unfortunately it was not delivered on this occasion. Maybe because I got it of Groupon and I have not been considered as their usual Guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blade911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

I greatly appreciate your comments but at the same time I was very concerned to read that there are areas we did not meet your expectations therefore, has not been up to “Bab Al Shams standard”. For that, I would like to apologize.

Your invaluable feedback is very important to ensure that we continually deliver the service Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa is renowned for.

Nonetheless, I hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to make your next reservation, so I can ensure you will be well-looked after.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Bab Al Shams resort is a truly magnificent property - made even more exceptional by the superior staff that it has. We have recently been lucky to have stayed at some exceptional properties - Montage in Laguna Niguel, the brilliant Le Palais Namskar in Marrakesh and a few others. Bab Al Shams holds its own in every way in comparison to the very best. Bab Al Shams is a sophisticated resort that offers unique experiences and exhilarating vistas. The sand dunes and the majesty of the desert takes your breath away - particularly as the views are framed by the blue skies and big dunes. The property has some of the best staff working in the hotel industry anywhere. Priyanka at the reception from the time of check-in untill check-out made us feel like we were visiting a beloved family member. She went out of her way to make sure our every need was taken care of. The the amenities were second to none - with wine and tea and coffee . There were numerous activities for guests - throughout the day. In the evening we chose to have dinner in Masala Restaurant- arranged by Priyanka from reception. The dinner was an awesome experience as it is one of the best Indian Restaurant. Al Hadirah is also one of the best dining experiences one can have. If I'm not mistaken it was Vinod who served us in one of the restaurant - sorry for not remembering - such a nice guy and very good service. For us it will always remain unforgettable. We loved the experience - and the night sky - untouched by city light pollutions made the stars light up in all their magnificence. Overall, a brilliant experience in every way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonSnowWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this very kind review about your recent experience at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa here in TripAdvisor.

It feels great to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us especially with the way you were taken cared of by our colleagues.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We went to Bab Al Shams to shoot our engagement photo. The place is amazing. The sand surrounding the hotel are nice. The hotel is well maintained. And the staff, they are fantastic. The hotel manager even assisted us himself. The crew from the pool are very helpful. Would plan our visit soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeCee1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this very kind review about your recent experience Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa here in TripAdvisor.

It is most encouraging for us to receive such praise and we look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Bab Al Shams.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I been a regular guest at Bab Al Shams for past 8 years, and I set this Hotel as my global favorite. The rooms are delicatly decorated and the bed is so comfortable so you could sleep for 100 years.
You need to lounge out by the pool, you need to visit the rooftop, and you need to have a meal at Al Haddeira outdooor restaurant.
It is all a an unforgetteble experience.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate all the very nice comments you have posted on our room, decoration, pool and F&B outlets.

It is great to have you as an ambassador for Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Once again, thank you very much

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you have a few days and are tired of the bustling city of Dubai, take a little break and visit Bab Al Shams. It is by far one of the nicest resort I have visited; the service is great and it in a very relaxing setting (in the middle of the desert... so very calm), the facilities are well taken care of and the rooms and comfortable and gorgeous! We had a nice dinner at Al Hadeerah restaurant which is an experience in itself, very worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilieno22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your experience in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your appreciative and specific comments on your dinner experience in Al Hadheerah Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you again to the resort in not so distant future.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
577 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed one weekend with my brother at this hotel.

Location: in the desert about 20 minutes drive from Dubai city centre.

Hotel: inspired in a desert fortress, large pool area, a few restaurants, great gardens.

Room: very spacious, richly furnished, comfortable bed, all mod cons. Bathroom with great bathtub and shower, nice toiletries.

Food: buffet breakfast, but no fresh juices which was disappointing given the star rating of the hotel. We dined at the Indian restaurant, the food was exquisite!

Customer service: hit and miss, pool staff was friendly but not very professional. Breakfast room staff was rude, check in staff required more training...

I would recommend this hotel for its architecture, but given the rates I would have expected a better breakfast and of course better customer service experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

First of all, we greatly appreciate your positive comments on our rooms, swimming pools, Masala Restaurant, garden and desert areas. However we are very concerned that you have had an unpleasant experience with members of the staff.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience. The same has been discussed with our F&B Manager to avoid the similar incident in the future.

We have also noted your suggestion of having fresh juices on our breakfast buffet.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity to restore your faith in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa, and once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,
M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Desert Palm PER AQUUM
#191 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#22 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 540 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
Taj Dubai
#11 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Address: International Endurance City, 308th Rd, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#38 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#40 Business Hotel in Dubai
#47 Family Hotel in Dubai
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Translated from Arabic as "Gateway to the sun", the *award-winning 5-star Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa is designed to resemble a fortified rural Arab village amidst the desert landscape. Featuring low-rise architecture, this sandy coloured style fort boasts the main tower with Reception area and lobby and clusters of two-storey buildings housing guest accommodation, restaurants, spa and meeting facilities interconnected by seemingly endless little walkways. The charm of Arabia is personified in every corner of the property with small lanes running through the hotel, scattered around ponds and secluded seating areas, shaded courtyards, water fountains and trickling streams bestowing the feel of cool tranquillity. The abundance of green garden areas and manicured lawns adds to the quiet and soothing environment of the resort. The rustic Arabian theme of exterior design continues to flow in the carefully selected interior decorations and settings featuring uncovered natural stone floors, bare plastered walls, dark wood and iron fixtures, warm dimmed lighting and an abundance of artefacts showcased throughout the property. The resort boasts 113 rooms and suites offering cosy accommodation in an authentic Arabian style with majority of the rooms having a private terrace. All guest rooms and public areas have complimentary Wi-Fi access. *World's Leading Desert Resort, World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort And Spa
Bab Al Shams Desert Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing