We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape around Dubai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 549 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great escape around Dubai”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the most charming desert resort ever!! It's family friendly...it's also a romantic place for honeymooners. ..and it's also the best place to enjoy the sunset on the desert. I would also recommend dinner at its restaurant located among the sand dunes, set on a typical Beduin Village: Al Hadheerah. It's a MUST if your stay in Dubai is longer then 3 nights.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TOPTRIPDUBAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the resort and that you were particularly pleased with the overall experience in our signature Al Hadheerah Restaurant.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa soon.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    428
    139
    49
    27
See reviews for
525
956
45
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

had a very nice two day stay at Bab Al Shams, this resort is great. A mix of relaxation, nice view, beautiful rooms and activities to have some fun. what a beautiful combination!! check in was easy and nice, was escorted to the room which is spacious and extremely well decorated in a manner that fits the old Arabian theme with a small Majlis and a small garden. You have the option of just relaxing by one of the pools or do some activities if you are looking for some action, there is always plenty of restaurants like Al Hadeera which is very nice and very popular (reservation is a must on Thursdays) or many other options. i loved the Indian restaurant -Masala- where the service is at its best, food is great and the music is perfect. watching the sunset at Al Sarab is a must (Beautiful view).
All in all i love my stay in Bab Al Shams and look forward to visit again.

Room Tip: an upper level room facing the desert room will provide a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this very kind review about your recent experience at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

Our sole focus is to provide a flawless and excellent service to our valued guests, and to contribute towards a memorable stay at the resort. Therefore we are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed every minute with us.

Your kind review has been shared with the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bab Al Shams in the future.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Bab Al Shams is a beautyful hotel with a nice bedouin design. It's quet and cosy and the rooms are very pretty and certainly uniquely styled. It's worth a stay but I suggest you combine it with a stay in other hotels in Dubai as it is very far outside of Dubai with not much around.

Room Tip: They are all very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you for sharing this very kind review about your recent experience at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa in TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you appreciate the entire place from the rooms, to the designs and ambience.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.


Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November . We chose it because we just wanted to go somewhere and completely wind down , in luxury and it certainly fitted the bill , we hope to return next year . Everything about it is geared for your relaxation , low lighting , gentle music , little private cushioned areas to sit and read or just relax , the gentle sound of running water from numerous water features in courtyards and little nooks and crannies .
I loved my room with it's low lighting , I found it cool and calming , the decor I would describe as rustic opulence , if you can use those two words in one sentence .
The poolside is amazing and as you would expect the staff are there to attend to your every need .
The food at all the restaurants on the resort was to a very high standard , my favourite was the Indian restaurant , which has to be the best Indian food I have ever eaten .
Finally the thing that can make or break any business , the staff , they were amazing . Everyone from being greeted at the front door , to reception ,bar/food , poolside , to the guys that swept the paths were smiling polite helpful , no one passed you by with out a smile and hello . Which all adds to the relaxing atmosphere .
Hopefully see you all next year .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your kind acknowledgements of our exquisite facilities and high level of customer service provided by our team of incredible colleagues.

We are delighted that we have been successful in achieving the high standards of timely and quality service delivery Bab Al Shams is renowned for during your entire stay.

Once again, thank you for recommending Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spend here some nights with my husband on our way to Australia and we just loved it.
The environs are of haunting beauty, a lot of work is layid on details, food is excellent and the staff genuinly helpfull . The atmosphere was magic - like in the thousand and one night stories.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virpi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

We appreciate your time taken to share your experiences during your visit and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

It is most encouraging for us to receive such praise and we look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Bab Al Shams.

Best regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My son and future daughter in law picked Bab Al Shams as their wedding venue last year, I was on holiday in Dubai at the time and we all went out to visit. It looked the perfect venue, it was quite a journey out there, it is in the middle of nowhere!! The staff were helpful and showed us around, the bride & groom loved it so the wedding was booked for November 2013.
So we come to the actual wedding day!, I would like to point out that quite a few of us had flown from England to share their special day with them.
We arrived eventually after the taxi driver couldn't find the place, we got there in the morning ( the wedding wasn't till 4pm ) and spent a lovely few hours by the pool, then it was time to get ready for the wedding and that's when the cock ups started!!!
My son had booked me a room to stay in and was going to use it to get ready, but it turned out there would be quite a few of us using the room to get ready, so my son went to reception to ask if he could use another room, so they sent him to the room the bride was getting changed in! How he never saw her was a miracle!!
Then time for the wedding, set up of the wedding was round the wrong way, there weren't enough chairs set out, they played the wrong music at one point all we heard was an awful screeching noise.
When the wedding was over guests were supposed to be led to the lawn for drinks and games while photos were taken, no member of staff appeared! Got to the lawn, no games! A camel was supposed to be there to give guests a Arabic experience, no camel... Other hotel guests had the pleasure!!
Then we come to the meal on the roof terrace, via a lethal lift ride.
The top table was set out wrong, wedding guests weren't served wine with their meal, champagne wasn't served for the toasts, one saving grace was the food that was fantastic. But by this time the bride was in tears and the groom was beyond stressed!! And while all this was going on where was the so called wedding planner? she was nowhere to be seen, there was no one taking charge the staff were a shambles.
Don't get me wrong it was a lovely lovely day, but knowing how much time and effort my son and daughter in law had put in, to making it a perfect day, to see their plans wrecked by inept staff ( I am mainly talking about the wedding planner here) broke my heart.
There are many other faults I could mention but I think I have made my point!
If you want a completely chilled, get away from it all place to stay, Bab Al Shams is perfect, can't fault it, but a wedding venue please think twice.

Room Tip: The rooms seem very dark, but are very clean, the shower was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilly_park0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience while staying at Bab Al Shams.

However your points are noted and discussed with the concerned departments and necessary actions are being taken. We are also presently in contact with the newly-wed couple clarifying all the points you have mentioned.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity to restore your faith in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa, and once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We attended a wedding here and feel that the resort fell short of expectation.
The resort is remote to say the least, ok if you want seclution and privacy then you will love it, but then why would you stay in a hotel. After arriving we made our own way to the reception area as there were no staff about directing visitors. The wedding service was beautiful but that was due to the couples organisation rather than the ability of the resort. After the service was over we again had to find, en mass, our own way to the lawn area where drinks and entertainment should have been waiting but where not. This theme continued for most of the day and into the evening, poor table service and bar staff (1 person serving drinks for 70+ people, the other just standing taking money). There was no visible sign of competent management, so the now married couple, spent too much of their time trying to resolve issues themselves rather than enjoying their wedding day.
I can say the food was excellent but that is about the only good thing apart from the guests who all made great, a bad experience.
On a day where wonderful memories should have been made I can only feel dissapointed for the couple.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

We do apologize for all the shortcomings you have encountered, the same has been discussed with all the team members concerned and we are currently working on rectifications.

At the moment, we are also in discussion with the newly-wed to clarify all the shortfalls and miscommunications you have mentioned.

Meanwhile, we really appreciate your positive comments with the food and the same has been shared with the Kitchen Department.

Once again, thank you for sharing your constructive feedback to help us excel.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity to restore your faith in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
22.1 mi away
Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
30.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Dubai
Park Hyatt Dubai
#9 of 549 in Dubai
2,092 reviews
27.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#17 of 549 in Dubai
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Desert Palm Dubai
Desert Palm Dubai
#208 of 549 in Dubai
297 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
20.7 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#52 of 549 in Dubai
5,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Address: International Endurance City, 308th Rd, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#37 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#40 Business Hotel in Dubai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#47 Family Hotel in Dubai
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Translated from Arabic as "Gateway to the sun", the *award-winning 5-star Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa is designed to resemble a fortified rural Arab village amidst the desert landscape. Featuring low-rise architecture, this sandy coloured style fort boasts the main tower with Reception area and lobby and clusters of two-storey buildings housing guest accommodation, restaurants, spa and meeting facilities interconnected by seemingly endless little walkways. The charm of Arabia is personified in every corner of the property with small lanes running through the hotel, scattered around ponds and secluded seating areas, shaded courtyards, water fountains and trickling streams bestowing the feel of cool tranquillity. The abundance of green garden areas and manicured lawns adds to the quiet and soothing environment of the resort. The rustic Arabian theme of exterior design continues to flow in the carefully selected interior decorations and settings featuring uncovered natural stone floors, bare plastered walls, dark wood and iron fixtures, warm dimmed lighting and an abundance of artefacts showcased throughout the property. The resort boasts 113 rooms and suites offering cosy accommodation in an authentic Arabian style with majority of the rooms having a private terrace. All guest rooms and public areas have complimentary Wi-Fi access. *World's Leading Desert Resort, World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort And Spa
Bab Al Shams Desert Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing