We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveler rating
1,591
461
155
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,591
461
155
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmasalacamel ridingdesert viewal forsan restaurantindian restaurantterrace roomle dunerooftop barauthentic arabianarabic stylearabian nightsbelly dancerdubai cityinfinity pooldesert safaricold towelsamazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bab Al Shams came recommended by a friend who lived in Dubai. At first we thought it would be a bit naf...like a theme park. But boy were we surprised. More than just a resort, this truly is an experience in itself! It's as though you've gone back in time to the old world of the Middle East. The atmosphere is amazing, as though you're in a remote, secluded desert oasis. The pool looks out over the dunes and the layout is as though you're in an Arabic fort.
It's 40 minutes from the city of Dubai and a little bit longer from the airport.
There are camel rides at sunset and a falcon show. The restaurant is amazing and the chef is very accommodating to special dietary needs.
On the negative side, it's quite expensive. But if you're willing to spend a little on a special experience, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravBugTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic location in the desert,an oasi of peace an tranquility along with and incredible spa, outside swimming pool that gives you the impression of swimming into the desert dunes, great cucine,definitely I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a desert view room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxi66olbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Bab al Shams for 2 nights after a cruise out of Dubai around the Arab Emirates. The transfer from the port took around one hour. The check in was rather confusing. Greeted at the entrance "morgen". I explained we were English, not German but the staff didn't seem concerned by their error. We had booked a superior room and assumed we would have either a balcony or terrace as stated in the brochure. "The resort's 113 rooms and suites each feature a balcony or private terrace". We were told only some of the superior rooms have this facility and if we wanted one we would have to pay a supplement. We paid up but not happy about it. The terrace had a view of the desert but we hardly used it as the table and chairs were so dusty. I know this is to be expected in the desert but I would have at least have expected them to be clean when we arrived especially as we had paid extra and supposed to ne 5* hotel. The welcome letter we were given was addressed to Frau and I couldn't read it as it was all in German so not sure about the meals or what we were entitled to. I assumed we would be given one in English when I explained I couldn't read German but had to go and ask the following day.

The room was ok but too dark. I realise they are trying to recreate an authentic desert experience but it would have been nice to have a brighter light to read. The pool area was beautiful. One of the pools was heated, the other a little cooler. Fantastic comfortable sun loungers with large soft towels. It was a pleasure to swim in the warm water surrounded by the desert landscape. The sunset falcon display was also good. It is not well advertised so look out for it around 5.00pm. The complimentary camel ride is also a bit of a secret.

Breakfast was only just ok. All the hot food was cold. There was a good enough selection and the bircher muiseli was good. Smokers in the outside eating area were a problem for us and also around the pool. It would have been good to have a non smoking section.

Evening meal was included for us but it was confusing as to what we were entitled to. The waiter in the buffet said the evening meal was 170dhm. It stated in the welcome letter, which we eventually managed to get in English, that the buffet was included but we could eat in the othwer restaurants with 140 dhs towards the cost. The waiter was unaware of this and wanted to charge us 170dhs for the buffet.
On the first evening we ate in the Al Hadheerah Desert Restaurant close to the hotel. We were told when we booked that we would be given 140dhs off the cost and soft drinks were included. When we arrived I asked the waiter which soft drinks we could have and were told just water and arabic coffee. I queried this but he was most insistant no other drinks were included. I mentioned this when we checked out of the hotel and we told we should have had lemonade, cola etc. The arabic show whilst we were having dinner started off ok but went on far too long with every act going round every table for photographs which were later on sale, totally spoiling the ambience of the evening for us. It got very tedious after a while and we left before the end. I would say the whole experience at Al Hadheerah is a money making racket. It was not the authentic experience we were expecting, far too touristy. The food looked impressive on the various cooking stations but the quality was mediocre.

Be prepared to pay for extras at Bab al Shams, there is even a charge to play table tennis! Out bill for extras for 2 nights was more than our on board spending for a week on the cruise. We don't object to paying for a quality experiece but Bab Al Shams was sadly lacking in too many areas for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary at this hotel with the whole family. Our kids ranged in age from 8yrs-1yr. The architecture was splendid and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were fantastic and always there to help. The chef never said no to any request we made. We travelled in June so it was hot but the shaded areas over the pool were excellent for swimming and chilling with the kids. At night you will be lucky to hear any noise, being miles away it felt just superb to take in the true beauty of nature. The eagle display, desert safari were equally brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just a 30 minute drive from Dubai and around an hour from Abu Dhabi this desert resort offers a nice escape from the city, a very comfortabe desert experience and is great for a few days. If you want nothing else but hang out by the pool, enjoy the spa and ride a camel you may even want to stay longer. Its a bit older so it doesn't offer the glitz of the newer resort but feels a bit more original. The open air Arabian restaurant is a real treat. But be beware when you come during the winter - the desert gets very cold at night and there is no heat. Bring you jacket and ask for an extra blanket in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews