We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor House Dubai
Ranked #6 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a shame”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Have to agree entirely with the previous reviewer, there is definitely NO building work curfew, as stated on their website and this is very mis-leading. We were upgraded on arrival from a club room to a suite and were able to check in at 7am, which was very good of them. It was soon apparent the noise from the tower side of the hotel was going to be intolerable so we asked to move, which they did (to a 1 bed apartment on the other side of the hotel) at the drop of a hat.

All very good, lovely apartment, (we had a choice of 3 rooms on different floors in various parts of the hotel) no quibbles, but why put us there in the first place?

If you haven't got an ipod or some other music playing device, plus noise cancelling headphones, I wouldn't even bother sitting outside, the noise is horrendous. The staff reckon there is another 2 years before everything is complete, which is a real shame (unless you don't want to sit outside and you manage to get a good room) as this IS a lovely hotel and the staff are excellent.

Don't think of 'club' like Ritz Carlton 'club,' it's nowhere near as good, but with the Dubai R.C. charging £500 per night (with no chance of negotiation) I suppose it's a good as you will get for the money.

We did go over to Le Meridian to get away from the noise and it was better, but there were too many screaming kids over there for our liking, so we went back; at least water, ice, fruit, newspapers and magazines are all included at G.H.!

A word about Rhodes Mezzanine. What a beautiful restaurant; very ethereal, soft, almost spa-like back-ground music, and very dreamy looking in white and chrome, with masses a sheer voile, lots of glass, and hints of red and orange on the chairs, imagine what a restaurant in heaven would look like, and you have it. The excellent staff wear white suites (they are the angels) except the head waiter (who we nick-named the archangel!) who wears black. The food tastes and looks like a masterpiece............what a beautiful experience, let down I have to say, by their loose dress code rules. Smart is the rule, (stated in no uncertain terms when we booked) yet they let one guy in in jeans, and another with a sweater. REALLY ANNOYING.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed and constructive review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very valuable to us as it enables us to review or enhance our facilities and services to ensure that we continue to provide the highest levels of service.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by construction work during you stay. As you are aware the Dubai Marina is an ever evolving landscape and although we have the opportunity to control construction work on our second tower currently being built in front of the hotel, we do not have any ability to dictate what how other construction sites operate. I am sorry if you felt our general guidance on the website did not correctly communicate the building work in the area. We take your feedback seriously and for sure will review what is displayed.

With regards to Rhodes Mezzanine, we appreciate your concern about the dress code and will ensure that we take a close look at rectifying this as soon as possible.

On a more positive note, and as mentioned we are grateful for your kind comments with regards to your large apartment as well as the daily amenities offered.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,825
    479
    97
    27
    20
See reviews for
868
1,958
211
661
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

First, as many reviewers have said, this is a lovely hotel, but particularly geared to business travellers (we were not - we were there on holiday). We stayed in a club room, on the 41st floor, with a sea-facing view. Our room had a decent sized balcony.
Now, the down side - despite what the hotel's own web site says, and what we were told before we arrived, and what is posted by the hotel management on tripadvisor, the hotel does NOT operate a night time curfew on heavy construction work. We were kept away by the noise most nights until 3 or 4 am. Then the heavy noise stopped until about 8 am. Our room was directly overlooking the new Grosvenor House tower which is currently built to about the 20th floor. During the day, it was impossible to sit on the balcony, as the noise was horrendous, and there was a lot of dust from the building work nearby. As building work seems to be going on all around the Grosvenor House I imagine most rooms are affected in the same way. We mentioned this problem to Reception during our stay but they simply looked sheepish and offered no solution.
The bedroom we were in was spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was equally so. Every afternoon we received fresh fruit and cakes or cookies from the in-house bakery, and complimentary bottled water was regularly replenished.
The club lounge was excellent value for money. We only used the club lounge in the evening and there was a good selection of drinks (any cocktail was possible, sparkling wine, a couple of white wines and a couple of reds, plus beer and other non-alcoholic cocktails and drinks). The choice of canapes was excellent - there was a varied and different choice each evening. Staff were pleasant in the lounge, although when we had a problem with our room keycard, the club lounge staff told us to go to reception to get it fixed - I would have expected the staff in the lounge to take care of this for us.
The only annoying thing about the club lounge, to us, was that they had a dress policy of 'no shorts' at all times, which made it inconvenient if we wanted to use the lounge during the day and we'd been to the beach first.
We didn't eat in any of the restaurants in the hotel, apart from Sloanes for breakfast. The breakfast buffet was OK, but nothing spectacular. Choice of cereals was limited, and some of the hot buffet was on the cold side. Service was variable- sometimes drinks took a while to turn up, and some of our requests were ignored.
We looked at the menus in the other restaurants in the Grosvenor House and on the whole they seemed overpriced. The choice of restaurants at the sister hotel, Le Royal Meridien, was far better and we ate there a few times and enjoyed it. There is plenty of choice in The Walk beside Le Royal Meridien. The Walk is a long stretch of (mainly chain) restaurants and shops, that are reasonably priced. We also ate at Madinat Jumeirah where there are many restaurants - this is about a 10 minute taxi ride (cost about 20 Dirhams - about £3.50).
The pool at the Grosvenor House is a decent size with plenty of loungers, although due to its location, it was in shade most of the afternoon, so we tended to sit outside at Le Royal Meridien instead.
The minibus service to Le Royal Meridien was convenient - we never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for a bus. Although the two hotels are very close, because of the roadworks going on in the area it is virtually impossible to walk from one to the other. The roads aren't finished and on many of them, the pavements are blocked off (so you'd have to walk on the roadway itself). Getting anywhere from the Grosvenor House will involve a taxi or bus ride as there is so much road and building construction going on in the area. This isn't too much of a problem though as taxis are cheap and plentiful. A taxi to the Dubai Mall will cost about 50 Dirhams (about £9), and to the Mall of the Emirates about 20 Dirhams (£3.50). The hotel operates its own shuttle to both malls about 3 times a day, and the malls operate a more regular shuttle to Le Royal Meridien too.
So overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel. Although the hotel itself is good, the construction (noise and inconvenience) was too big a problem to ignore. And the fact that the hotel says they operate a night time curfew on heavy construction, when this doesn't appear to be the case, is in my opinion, deceptive and misleading.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teemgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and constructive review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

Your valuable feedback is very much appreciated so that we can individually review your experience in order that we can take the necessary actions to continually review our service and standards offered at the hotel.

We are truly sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed during you stay with us. As you are aware the Dubai Marina is an ever evolving landscape and although we have the opportunity to control construction work on our second tower currently being built in front of the hotel, we do not have any ability to dictate what how other construction sites operate. I am sorry if you felt our general guidance on the website did not correctly communicate the building work in the area. We take your feedback seriously and for sure will review what is displayed.

I also take note to your comments regarding breakfast. Although we have received many great comments regarding the size and varied buffet at breakfast your comments have been shared with our Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage so that we can learn from your valuable experience.

On a more positive note, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the club lounge and that you were able to take advantage of our sister hotel Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you once again and we hope too welcome you back, perhaps once the construction work is complete.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Have stayed there numerous times over the last two years and have never been disappointed. Only draw back is the current work they are doing to build a second tower that will ultimately block the sea view when it's finished. Choice of two bars Bar 44 and Budda that does great sushi.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 23, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that having stayed at the hotel over the last couple of years you continue to enjoy your stay with us.

The second Tower of Grosvenor House as you mentioned will ultimately block the original sea view, however the new building will have a number of hotel rooms and apartments with unrestricted views of the Arabian gulf as well as a number of new outlets and facilities which will make the Grosvenor House experience even more exciting.

We were really pleased to hear that your enjoyed the sushi selection that is offered in Buddha Bar.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

stayed at this fantastic hotel from the 23rd Dec to Jan 2nd..it so deserves to be number one on here..the service was exceptional, the food in all it's restaurants was fantastic. the spa and the nail studio are wonderful and the staff really know what they are doing. we had booked to stay in the club rooms but were thrilled to be upgraded to a suite on the 28th floor which was spacious and spotless..i recommend for you to book the club rooms as you have access to the club lounge which was good as it serves complimentary food and drinks from 10am to 8pm i think..this was handy as we missed breakfast most of the days..the staff is amazing..from housekeeping to concierge..we can't wait to go back soon.also the buddha bar is a minute away which is fun fun fun.. don't be put off by all the building work in the area as they are building everywhere in dubai! STAY STAY STAY at this first class hotel you will love it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank madameswanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas and New Year Festivities and that you found the service to be exceptional.

We appreciate your kind comments with regards to the Club Facilities and were really pleased that you took time during your stay to experience the Buddha Bar.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We have recently returned from Dubai and stayed at the Grovenor House hotel for Christmas Eve Night as we were dining at Rhodes Mezzanine. You will not be disapointed with this hotel. The service is simply excellent and the rooms and bathrooms are out of this world. Rhodes Mezzanine which is Gary Rhodes Resturarnt is first class and is a must if you are in the area. We paid a bit extra for a club room which is really worth paying for. You have access to the club louge where you can have complimentry afternoon tea, complimentry pre dinner drinks and nibbles between 6pm and 8pm and also complimenty breakfast. Having stayed at quite a few 5 star hotels in dubai and abu dhabi we both said this was the best hotel we have every stayed in.We are now looking to book the Grosvenor House Hotel for May and Septmeber this year. Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Eve with us at the hotel as well as your dinner in Rhodes Mezzanine.

We were pleased that having booked a Club room you found these facilities to be really worth paying for.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in May and September.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

In a city of excess, where every hotel tries its best to outdo the other. Grosvenor, is a excellent business hotel comparable with the best in the world. This is my third vist. The rooms are roomy, spacious and great bathrooms. The buddha bar in the lobby draws a lot of the "weekend" crowd and there are both the resturants are wrold class. If you are on the lower floors, the construction all around the Marina can be disquieting if you leave you windows open, but on the higher floors there is a nice view of the Palms and into the Gulf. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rammenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your third visit to the hotel and that as a business traveler the hotel comfortably accommodated your needs.

I appreciate you constructive comments regarding the construction. The Dubai Marina as you mentioned is an ever evolving landscape, similar to most of Dubai, however we do try our best to ensure that this is kept to a minimum.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

My husband I have returned from a 6 night stay at the Grosvenor over Christmas for our honeymoon. We can only echo the huge praise from other reviewers. This is without doubt the most outstanding hotel we have ever stayed in.
The service is exceptional, staff can not do enough to help you. As a honeymoon couple we had heard from previous residents of the hotel that we would be teated like royalty, but from what we saw, ensuring every guests happiness is the priority regardless of if you are on honeymoon or not. Everything is done with a smile and we continually referred to by our new married names! (How they all knew, we don’t know!)

On arrival from an overnight flight, we were greeted with hot towels and refreshing drink. We we upgraded to the most luxurious suite, with an enormous sun terrace that had both sea and city view. It is the little touches that separate this hotel from many others. Gifts were delivered daily to our room, candles lit nightly in our bathroom, duvet covers pulled back during the evening, with a rose and chocolate left on the pillows.

My husband and I are big food fans and we could not fault anything that we eat. The chefs (Lionel in particular) are so friendly and will cater to every taste to an exceptional standard. On one particular night we approached the food counter to find that the chef had already started cooking fresh prawns for us as he had noticed that we had eaten them every night. When I noticed that scallops were not on the selection that evening he insisted on organising some for us and had them sent to our table. It is this attention to detail that was so spectacular.

We really enjoyed spending time at the Grosvenor pool as it was always very quiet. Most people use the pool and beach facilities at the Meridien (sister hotel) as the hotel offers a frequent, complimentary shuttle to and from there. The staff around the pool, as everywhere else, were polite and friendly helping to arrange sunbeds and layout towels on the sumptuous mattresses for you. The only problem with the hotel pool - and I imagine this is common around Dubai - is that the amount of sunlight the pool gets is restricted by other skyscrapers and the hotel itself. However, it does get approx 4 hours uninterrupted, which was plenty for us.

Of course there is the issue of noise around the hotel and yes at times it did disturb our sleep. However, this issue is made plain to you before you book and if you decide to go, you have to expect its never going to be silent as the city is continually developing. We were so relaxed in our surroundings that we barely noticed it and I believe this is the case for every other guest. Your stay is so exquisite that you don’t focus on this fact.

We will definitely be returning to this hotel and have already made enquiries to return this Christmas with the whole of our family. There is not one thing we could fault about the hotel and wish that we could have spent a fortnight soaking up the beautiful weather and wonderful service!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripadvisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorHouseDubai, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed your two week vacation with us but also intend to return next Christmas.

We appreciate you comments regarding the flexibility and service of our chefs in Sloanes and your kind comments about the rest of the hotel team. Please be assured that these will be shared with all the team.

It was a pleasure to be able to celebrate your honeymoon with you and we are very happy that you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year.

Kind regards,
Mark K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 541 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#5 of 541 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Atlantis, The Palm
#93 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#11 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#25 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House Dubai

Property: Grosvenor House Dubai
Address: Al Sufouh Road | Dubai Marina, Dubai 118500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dubai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#4 Business Hotel in Dubai
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House and its two iconic 45 storey towers, Tower One and Tower Two, redefine the world of luxury. The hotel's glittering twin towers are an instantly recognizable landmark in the Dubai Marina. The hotel features 749 spacious, contemporary guest rooms, suites, and apartments with signature Luxury Collection beds, large windows with spectacular views of the Marina, complimentary Wi-Fi and attentive on-call butler service. The area's first true social destination, the hotel is located just minutes from the beach, golf clubs, malls, Dubai Internet City, Media City and more, offering an exceptional setting for business, leisure and exploration. Welcome to the finer side of sophistication. Step into a world of refined heritage, suave elegance and effortless chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor House Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House Dubai Hotel Dubai
Le Meridien Dubai
Grosvenor House Hotel Dubai
Grosvenor Hotel Dubai
Dubai Le Meridien
Grosvenor Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing