We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor House Dubai
Ranked #6 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Its a very good hotel.”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed here for a week over Christmas and overall I would rate this hotel as very good. Top 3 reasons why I really liked it:

1. Loads of things to do – it has one of the best Indian restaurants in town (if not the best), it has two very good places to go out in terms of Buddha bar and Siddhartha lounge (in the winter), in addition to the pretty happening bar on the top floor.

2. Responsive service – I would just pick up the phone and ask for stuff and it just happened. TV doesn’t work – ‘will fix it straight away sir’. I need adaptors – ‘here they are’. I need to check out really late – ‘no problem’. Need food immediately – ‘done’. I need whiskey glasses because my friends are pretentious – ‘3 minutes’.

3. Quality of space, decoration and surroundings - this hotel looks good from the outside and the inside. I had a one bedroom apartment and this was decorated excellently, nice layout, veeeeeeeeery comfy bed, nice big bathroom with a rain shower…can’t go wrong.

Some things you need to know. They didn’t bother me that much (hence the rating), but I can imagine they would annoy some people on a different holiday program.

1. The swimming pool in tower 1 is very small and therefore people turning up after 10:30am didn’t get a sun bed. Further, due to loads of tall buildings you have interruption in sunshine (no sun after around 1:30pm). You can get a free shuttle to the Royal Meridian hotel so you can you use their pool and the beach but I didn’t enjoy it because this hotel was mainly occupied by people that I’m allergic to. Food there for lunch is horrible too.

2. Some 1 bedroom apartments have only a bathtub and no shower. Not even a little shower handle as part of the bathtub. Seriously wtf. Who runs a bath every morning?!

3. Buddha bar and the hotel bar at the top floor are frequented by various ladies of the night. This is not uncommon in Dubai and they mainly keep to themselves so I don’t find them offensive. The issue is that the atmosphere is ruined because your still having dinner or a drink next to a hooker (or next to 600 hookers).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eyeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Grosvenor House Dubai.

We are truly delighted to read from your review that you had enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure to look after you during this festive season.

All your kind comments both positive and constructive are taken on board and addressed accordingly.

Once again thank you for recommending Grosvenor House Dubai on Trip Advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,866
    486
    99
    27
    20
See reviews for
877
1,986
213
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Grosvenor House in December 2011, this was our second visit and it was even better than the first, the hotel is absolutely luxurious, from the reception areas to the rooms and bathrooms, magnificent view, excellent location and the best breakfast buffet selection we have ever had. The little touches like the complimentary bottle of non alcoholic date champagne and box of chocolates made us feel so special, as did the platter of different fruit every day.
The hotel is a sister hotel to the Le Royal Meridian Jumeirah beach and guests can use the beach and pool facilities there, there is a shuttle that travels every few minutes between the two hotels, so while staying at the Grosvenor you have access to the Marina, as well as the magnificent beach at the Royal Meridian as well as easy access to the JBR walk.
My only complaint with the hotel is the attitude of the staff, they are not friendly or accommodating, and the women seating us at breakfast was aggressive, which put a damper on our breakfast. Also there was a dispute at checkout as to the amount we owed, fortunately I had all my records from check in and the matter was resolved.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Having stayed with us for the second time, we are truly delighted to hear that you had once again enjoyed your stay with us. It is also a pleasure to note that you were pleased with the little touches that came along as part of your room package. However, we are concerned to read your comments with regards to the attitude of our ambassadors and please be assured that immediate necessary action will be taken accordingly.

We look forward to be of service in the near future.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

DO NOT SAY HERE!!!
The customer service that we have received is beyond appalling. We decided to spend Christmas in Dubai and up until our checkout I wouldn't have faulted the hotel. However, upon checkout we were told that the security deposit which they had taken upon our check in was to be returned to our original account within 48hours. Checking our account 4 days later, this was still yet to appear. Calling the hotel again, we spoke to the reception and were informed that this was still yet to have been done, and the male apologised and promised to do it himself straight away. Another 4 days later, this is still yet to have happened! Getting rather annoyed at this stage, I call the hotel, only to be told by the reception that "we are too busy at the moment to handle your enquiry, could you please call back later?!" Absolutely shocked, I said no, I am calling from Singapore and this money needs to be refunded immediately. Leaving my return phone number I was told that someone from reservations would follow this up and return my call immediately. 12 hours later, no phone call. I call again, only to be confronted with what can only be described as an extremely hostile and rude front desk receptionist (who shall go unnamed at this stage). Not only did she fire up at me on the phone, but she also refused to follow this up any further stating that they had "already faxed their bank to fax our bank regarding the refund on the day that we had checked out" - the opposite of what we had previously been told. She then proceeded to go on about how no hotel refunds a security deposit any earlier than 15 business days and we should just be patient. I just cannot believe it!!! Calling back to get the name of the front desk receptionist and also the duty manager - well this was a complete nightmare in itself and the female who answered was quite adamant in providing these to us, a good 5 minute ordeal.
Such an establishment that appears to have been given rave reviews - hence our choice to stay there - and yet there is absolutely no way we will be referring the hotel nor any other hotel associated with them to anyone.
The customer service we have received is downright disgusting. You should be ashamed of yourself.
We checked out on the 27th December, it is now the 11th January - 15 days later we are still awaiting the return of our money; a return phone call from any of the people who promised to above.

Room Tip: Spend your money elsewhere - you may never see it again - as it certainly appears that we wont be
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sunseeker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First & foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for having given you cause for disappointment following your recent stay at the Grosvenor House Dubai.

We were truly and extremely concerned to have read your comments as this not at all reflective of the usual standards of service at the Grosvenor House at any time.

Please be assured that we have taken this matter extremely seriously and would greatly appreciate if you could contact us on Grosvenorhouse-guestservices@lrm-gh-dubai.com giving us the opportunity to speak to you directly.

Once again, our sincere apologies and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Grosvenor House Hotel over the Christmas period, and being fornuate to have stayed in other 5 star hotels around the world (for example, Sugar Beach, Mauritius and The Biltmore, Phoenix, USA), we rank this hotel as one of the best we have ever stayed in.

The quality of the room was second to none, as was the customer service. And, as ever, it is the little things that often make all the difference; the turn down service in the evening includes a gift of beauty products and a fresh rose on the bed; fresh fruit every day in the room; a coffee and tea pod machine; complimentary bottled water in the room, and we also had a Christmas gift of a fresh fruit basket, mince pies, gingerbread and a silver photo frame!

The restaurants in the hotel were excellent, and for something a little less formal, the hotel is situated right on the marina with a good choice of restaurants and bars. The shuttle service to the sister hotel, The Royal Merdian, to enjoy its swimming pools and the beach, were very frequent. At the most, we waited 10 minutes. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Room deal - you will have access to the Executive Room for a delicious buffet b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaLand1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us over the festivities and that you liked your room, the choice and selection of food & beverage at level 5 and with the little surprises that were placed in your room on Christmas Eve.

We are also happy to note that our team provided the highest level of customer service and this will be shared with the team accordingly.

Thank you once again for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I found trip advisor useful when we were looking for a hotel in Dubai, so wanted to write myself to say that the Grosvenor House was an amazing hotel and we had a fantastic family holiday. The food was amazing in every restaurant (especially the Indian restaurant; my 2 year old son demolished a curry!!) We had a 3 bedroom apartment in tower one which was perfect. Lots of space, really comfortable huge beds, big lounge, kitchen and so clean. The staff were so attentive and friendly (and lovely with kids). Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NandGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read from your review that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the three bedroom apartment that we had allocated for you as well as with your dining experience in our restaurants, particularly in Indigo by Vineet.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you taking the time to recommend Grosvenor House on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have stayed several times and have recommended GH to many friends who have loved it. This was our first visit since Tower 2 opened. This time we stayed for 12 nights for a pre-Xmas relaxation break and wow is their new spa the place to do that. It is one of the most beautiful spas I have ever been to - treatments were pretty good too! The new Club lounge is also amazing and with lots of the staff from the old lounge, it runs like clockwork. The restaurants, rooms, service were all as excellent as they have always been. The only downside for us is that now this hotel seems to be widely on the 'package holiday' radar, some of the guests don't seem to understand how to behave / dress appropriately. We are not being snobs, perhaps just more respectful of a different culture. Not much the hotel can do I guess, we still love it (just not some their guests).

Room Tip: Book a room with club lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katkin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Having stayed at the Grosvenor House on several occasions, we are truly delighted to know that you were equally pleased with your recent stay at the new Grosvenor House Tower Two.

It is truly a pleasure to note how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

There are x2 Towers with Tower 2 being the most recently built .
Exceptional quality rooms . Ours was tower 2 38th floor x 2 bedrooms suite with spectacular views overlooking the Arabian sea. Having the use of royal Meridien was a major bonus as its pool beach access are fantastic. Only downside is that food and drink in the hotels restaurants are massively overpriced. I would suggest looking at a half or full board option. Strangely the room service was more resonable especially for families.Plenty of more resonable restaurants at the marina and "Walk"(no alcohol however).
Fantastic Staff especially Mark the butler and Nila on the front desk.

Room Tip: High floor and pay the extra for level 5 access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Grosvenor House Dubai, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor.

We are truly delighted to read from your review that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the room that we had allocated for you as well as with the pool & beach facilities at Le Royal Meridien.

We are sorry to hear that you found the food & beverage pricing in our hotel to be expensive, however would like to assure that we continually review our pricing inline with other 5 star hotels and ensure that we compare favorably.

We also appreicate you pointing out the excellent service you received from Mark & Nila and this will be shared accordingly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#5 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Atlantis, The Palm
#95 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#13 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#26 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House Dubai

Property: Grosvenor House Dubai
Address: Al Sufouh Road | Dubai Marina, Dubai 118500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#2 Family Hotel in Dubai
#4 Business Hotel in Dubai
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House and its two iconic 45 storey towers, Tower One and Tower Two, redefine the world of luxury. The hotel's glittering twin towers are an instantly recognizable landmark in the Dubai Marina. The hotel features 749 spacious, contemporary guest rooms, suites, and apartments with signature Luxury Collection beds, large windows with spectacular views of the Marina, complimentary Wi-Fi and attentive on-call butler service. The area's first true social destination, the hotel is located just minutes from the beach, golf clubs, malls, Dubai Internet City, Media City and more, offering an exceptional setting for business, leisure and exploration. Welcome to the finer side of sophistication. Step into a world of refined heritage, suave elegance and effortless chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grosvenor House Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House Dubai Hotel Dubai
Le Meridien Dubai
Grosvenor House Hotel Dubai
Grosvenor Hotel Dubai
Dubai Le Meridien
Grosvenor Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing