We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland City Hotel
Ranked #430 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Highland City hotel,Dubai is in a good location,but service needs drastic improvement.North Indian restuarant food is not upto the hotel standards.
Buffet breakfast is really good and worth the money spent.

Rooms are airy but compact.The rooftop swimming pool is too small,probably a toddlers pool.

Disco is too loud.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deepak_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in this 3 star hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was located in Bur Dubai. It was near to Meena Bazar, Gold Souk, Spice Market, Carrefour and Boat Creek. It was owned by famous Indian hotel group and so was oriented towards Indian tourists. Reception and hotel staff were efficient and polite. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. Room had small fridge and tea and coffee sachets. However this tea or coffee was not complimentary. There was no iron in the room but we were provided iron and iron board by the house keeping staff. There was no safe in the room but we came to know later that the reception has some king of safe keeping arrangements at the reception itself. There was a Night Club on the first floor with very loud music. The buffet breakfast had both Indian and Continental spreads. There was also an Indian restaurant by the name Kebab Korner. There was a roof top swimming pool but it closed down every evening and on every Monday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akashbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Hotel location is good, located near to many indian restaurants. hotel rooms are good and clean. hotel food is not good enough, especially breakfast which contains very less amount of varieties of food item, also many items gets repeated evey alternate days. Staff is good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blackcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

There was some confusion with the reservation with this hotel as we had made a reservation a Highland City Hotel but the reservation was at Howard Johnson Hotel. Having said that this hotel was great.
The hotel is in the older part of Dubai which is not a problem. There are some good eating places nearby which is a great help.
We arrived in Dubai at 5.30am not expecting to have a room available until 2.00pm. The hotel made the room available at 8.30am which after a long flight from Australia was greatly appreciated. Also they provide breakfast which was also not expected.
The rooms at the hotel are very good with a great breakfast provided. The hotel can also organise a tour of Dubai directly from the hotel.
There is also transport available from and to the airport but you have book before arriving.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

i stayed there on my own,and the place was clean and service was prompt,the reception staff was very friendly and so do the house keeping,stayed there for 5 nights and never had any noise complain as some members did,only thing was the reception manager as he was thinking in his mind he is something above other staff as he wasn't paying attention to guests, been to the club on 1st floor nice and well controlled. nice Indian breakfast,

Room Tip: all is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aisaaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Hi, Would like to give a detailed review about this Hotel.

The biggest negative before deciding on this hotel was the reviews down that the music played by DJ was too loud. But there was no DJ music disturbing even on second floor (were our room was). Not even on weekends! Not even for a minute! The sleep was quite silent.

The check-in time of hotel is 2.00 p.m. & check out is 12.00 p.m. We expected that being check-out time 12, we would get room by atleast 12.30 or utmost 1.00. We reached hotel by 12.30 p.m. As we reached, we were told that the they could give room only by 2.00. So we went out for Lunch. We came @ 2.05 and asked that whether room is free to check-in now. The receiptionist looked at the Watch and said that now she can give the room. SHE WAS VERY RUDE IN TALKS TO EVERYONE. No Flexibitlity at all. At check-out also, she called up at 11.00 and asked that when are we checking out (though the check-out is at 12)

Regarding Hotel: The hotel & rooms are very neat & clean. Location of the hotel is okay though there are much better hotels on the same road in terms of location. One has to walk around 15-20 mts to find a good resturant. Burjuman Mall & Metro stations is also far off and not at walking distance (though on same road). The bus stops are just 2 minutes from the hotel.

Breakfast is just ok. Lot of options for Non-vegetarian but very less for Veg. It was repeat on almost all days. Jain breakfast available on request. They would give only one hot breakfast for Jain Veg. Rest one has to choose from the spread. Overall it was filling to keep you going till late afternoon.

Overall I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalinagrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Rooms were good (not big though), furniture was really good, clean bedding, and clean bathrooms. Breakfast wasn’t the best, because every morning was same thing, not much variety either, but nevertheless it was filling. Swimming pool and area on the roof was really lovely. By the way, cannot swim if there a strong winds, as dangerous to be on a roof in such weather. Adjacent room was full of people and we cannot properly sleep one night – was so noisy. The music from the club was really loud, we could hear it in the passage, but nothing could hear from the rooms - 7 store. Staff was helpful, they don’t smile here a lot, do they? The restaurant area, lifts, lobby, passages look like outdated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busybeefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
13.8 mi away
Atlantis, The Palm
Atlantis, The Palm
#118 of 561 in Dubai
17,756 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel
#284 of 561 in Dubai
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
2.3 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#125 of 561 in Dubai
1,371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#19 of 561 in Dubai
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland City Hotel

Address: Khaleed Bin Waleed street, Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $67 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Highland City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing