We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort (Except for Cots)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah
Ranked #3 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
2 reviews
“Fantastic Resort (Except for Cots)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at Dar Al Masyaf for the second leg of our stay in Dubai, having spent the first part at The Atlantis. We enjoyed our stays at both locations greatly, and the two hotels were very different so it almost felt like two holidays in one.

On arrival at Al Qasr we were fortunate enough to be upgraded to Dar Al Masyaf; the Arabian Villa we were given was enormous with a large living room, three balconies, a beautiful bathroom, a huge stand alone bath and shower area, and twin sinks.

The style is very much that of traditional Arabic, with lots of dark wood and ornaments around the rooms, as well as a huge bed. We have a kingsize bed at home but the beds in Dubai hotels seem to be twice as big, and this one was no different!

As the only bad point of our stay was right at the start, I'll cover it now and it is really only relevant to those travelling with infants. We emailed the hotel ahead to ask for a baby cot and steriliser for our room as we were travelling with our 12 month old daughter.

The cot in our room when we arrived was a very small, dirty travel cot. After having stayed at Le Royal Meridien and Atlantis with the baby previously in Dubai, both of which provided a very large, modern wooden cot this was a bit of a shock.

There was no way we were having our baby sleep in tha cot, so we asked for it to be replaced by a wooden one. The wooden one they brought was also very dirty and rickety to the point of being dangerous - it was actually stuck together with sticky tape!

We complained about this one and they brought another one in a slightly better state of repair but not much, and again it didn't look very clean, so we gave up at that point and the baby slept in our bed in between us.

Fortunately the bed was of an ample size for us to do this and all have our own space, but it was difficult when we got home; she had become used to being in with us and wouldn't go back to sleeping in her own cot without a fight!

We found it a bit strange that such an astonishing, lavish hotel provided such poor baby cots; for anyone travelling with an infant the most important thing above everything else is their baby's safety and comfort, so this should be a priority.

Apparently the hotel has a large consignment of new baby cots on order so hopefully this won't be a problem in the future, but for those travelling with a small baby it may be worth sending an email to check on this before you travel.

So that was a bad start for us, however from there on in it was fantastic all the way. For people looking for a beach holiday, the setup there really is perfect. The beautiful white beach looks out onto the Arabian Gulf and the Burj Al Arab towers above.

They have fantastic wooden day beds, very comfortable with enough space for two, or in our case for one little one! The guys on the beach set us up perfectly so that we had two loungers next to a day bed, so when baby got tired she was able to have her nap in safety and shade on the day bed, whilst we caught some sun on our loungers.

The service was excellent if you wanted a snack, and the guys came round with cooling lemon or pineapple lolly ices which the baby loved. The pool area is also very nice, very large and right next to the beach so you can take a dip easily.

For all these reasons the daytime setup is perfect, whether you prefer to relax by the pool, on the beach, or have the best of both worlds. We have stayed at numerous five star hotels in Dubai all of which were fantastic in their own way, but Al Qasr / Dar Al Masyaf has the best daytime setup of any of them and this was our favourite feature.

The complex is absolutely enormous and very spread out, so if you have to travel anwhere you are usually going by buggy (eight seater golf buggies) or Abras (Venice type gondoliers). We had breakfast in the main buffet restaurant in Al Qasr near the lobby every day and there is an excellent selection on offer.

We had dinner in several restaurants, all of which were very nice but quite expensive (although not overly so for Dubai). We ate in the Thai and Italian restaurants a la carte, as well as going to The Jumeirah Beach Hotel for the buffet which we were entitled to eat in as part of the deal, as we were staying half board.

They have 'happy hour' in the hotel every evening which is a great idea and a good benefit. Between 7pm and 9pm (7:30pm when we were there due to Ramadan) they open up the bar in the courtyard of your villa complex and the drinks are free. This is particularly good as alcohol in Dubai is so expensive, plus it encourages the guests to mingle and have a drink together.

Travelling around the complex on the Abras really gives you a feel for the resort and helps you appreciate the breathtaking size and expense of the complex. It is like a small city in itself, and unlike any hotel we had ever stayed in before. Waiting for a buggy can be a bit of a pain at 'rush hour' (when everyone is going out to dinner) but the rest of the time you just get used to being whisked from place to place.

The staff are wonderful, and the service was extremely good. In Dar Al Masyaf you have your own butler 24 hours a day, and our butler for the majority of our stay was a guy called Abyot. Abyot was absolutely fantastic; always smiling and laughing, couldn't do enough for you and with a great knowledge of the resort.

Our other butler later in the day Mahesh was excellent as well, as was our cleaner Indu who was brilliant with the baby and brought her little rubber ducks and teddies. From our arrival the manager Sophie was fantastic as well; she was extremely professional in all the assistance she gave us throughout our stay.

Overall we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Dar Al Masyaf, and hope to return again with family at some point in the near future. It is a truly spectacular resort, and the perfect location for people wanting to have a relaxing beach / pool holiday with plenty of eating options and no real need to leave the complex as everything you need is of an extremely high standard and just a short ride away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev_and_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, October 24, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your holiday with us at Madinat Jumeirah. I am very happy how much you enjoyed your stay and that you would not hesitate to recommend our Resort.

I was of course most concerned to learn of the challenges regarding the baby cots provided for your daughter and I would like to express my sincere apologies that this has left you to feel disappointed. I certainly appreciate you bringing this to my attention and I am grateful that this experience has not tainted your overall impressions of your holiday with us. I understand that you were informed we are soon to receive a shipment of new cots which will prevent this situation from ever recurring.

On a more positive note, thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our colleagues to ensure your family holiday was memorable – your kind recognition of Mahesh, Indu and Sophie are most appreciated and I am delighted that you continue to recall their service and attentiveness.

Once again, thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our Dar Al Masyaf villas. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,310
    250
    87
    28
    22
See reviews for
1,414
1,508
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Spent a week at Dar al Masyaf on holiday. It was unforgettable.

The Madinat Jumeirah is a high –end resort, beautifully designed and set amid landscaped gardens and waterways.

Our villa, No 24, was set alongside one of the waterways and overlooked a private swimming pool. Check-in was swift and efficient. Our room, on the first floor, was beautifully equipped, with comfortable seating area, balcony and a superb bathroom with twin washbasins, large bath and an excellent wet shower area.

We had opted for half board; this entitled us to buffet dinner at restaurants at Al Qasr, Mina a Salam and Jumeirah Beach Hotel (looking a bit tired and nowhere near as nice as the Madinat). We also had a memorable dinner at Pierchic. Unfortunately, we were not allowed to apply our half board allowance toward the meal.

We had a wonderful time, but the best thing about the holiday was the excellence of the staff, especially our butlers, Raj, Vincent and JR.

A superb, accomplished, world-class resort. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospero1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, October 5, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent holiday with us at Dar Al Masyaf. I am very pleased to learn that your stay was unforgettable and that you will be returning to us again soon.

Thank you also for your acknowledgement of our Villa Butlers, Raj, Vincent and JR. It is always with great pleasure that we are able to extend such warm recognition of their efforts to ensure your holiday was so memorable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return to Dar Al Masyaf.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

I just wanted to tell everyone that we had a wonderful time in this hotel and I have nothing negative at all the say about it. We stayed in the Arabian summer houses and our room was out of this world and very luxurious,the children loved it there, every night there were small gifts left forthem in the room so were very excited to see what else they had each night! We had a super king size bed in the middle of the room, and you wouldnt believe the amount of pillows we had on there! My 4 year old had a pull out bed which agian wasnt your ordinary standard run of the mill bed, that again was very comfortable. The bathroom was bigger than my living room at home with a walk in shower room all decorated beautifully.
All the resort staff were so friendly to us, they couldnt do enough to help us. The whole resort is beautiful, we loved the Abra's too and the golf buggies, that was my sons favourite, even my litle girl managed to fall asleep on the way to the restaurant on the buggie. The toys on the beach or a good idea for the children, saves you having to
bring things out in the suitcase for them, dont bother taking buckets and spades etc plently of things already there to play with. All the swimming pools have special life jackets for the children so again you dont need to bother buying armbands etc everything has already been thought of.
We went half board, and would recommend that, as eating in the resort is quite expensive otherwise. The choice of food was outstanding, and all the restaurants had a childrens menu if that what you like. Some have childrens play areas too, with playstation 3's to entertain them!
We visited the duty free shop on the way into Dubai and stocked up on a few alcoholic beverages, again this is very expensive in Dubai. You can keep them in your mini bar to enjoy on your balcony in the evenings!. Also every night there were pre-dinner drinks in the summer houses, which wa a lovely idea, the butlers were very friendly and you also got to meet some of the other guests too.
Will definately go back there, its such a beautiful setting and all in all a very relaxing holiday.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnetHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at Dar Al Masyaf. Thank you for choosing our Resort and for taking the time to recommend your experience on TripAdvisor.

We take great pleasure in ensuring our younger guests are also made to feel special so I am delighted to read your positive feedback from your children and very pleased they thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us too.

We look forward to welcoming your return to Dar Al Masyaf in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Well, what can I say, this is my second visit to this hotel in the last 2 months and it amazing !

The villas are spread throughout the Mudinat resort and you can choose between an Arabian Summerhouse or a Gulf Summerhouse. Villas 1 - 8 are Gulf Summerhouses and are located directly on the beach (some rooms have direct access) and the Arabian villas (Villas 9 - 29 I think) are quieter and doted around the vast resort.
You can travel around the Mudinat complex by golf buggy or Abra and makes everything accessable.

Each Villa has its own butler who can help with restaurant reservations or just general information. Every evening there is 'Sundowner' where you can get complimentary drinks between 6.30 - 8.30 (although during Ramadam this is only for one hour from 7.30)

Rooms are spacious, massive bathrooms and very well furnished.

The beach is fantastic, clean, great sunbeds and serviced by many helpful people who will help with towels as well as food and drink.

Both Mina and Al Qasr have pools which can be used, Al Qasr is much larger and we never struggled to get a nice bed.

Amazing choice of restaurants - you can use all of the restaurants in the Souk, Mudinat, Jumeirah Beach hotel and the Burj......

This time we stayed for 6 nights and ate at Noodle House, Carnavelle, MJ's and Arboretum. We recieved a 30% discount each night because we paid on our Visa card and were a Sirius member. Great deal, look out for them, they make eating on resort very affordable.
Meals, restaurant and staff all great !

Lastly, if travelling with Children the added advantage of free access to Wild Wadi is brilliant, you can go in and out as many times as you want during your stay. Amazing waterpark that is great for all the family.

Would definately go back and am already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napierlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Dar Al Masyaf on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read that you continue to choose our Villas for your holiday and that you are already planning to return to stay with us again. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

This place is complete paradise. You have everything right at your fingertips (Butler service makes sure of it!) and at the same time you still have a great deal of privacy. A ton of amazing restaurants to choose from along with nice and trendy lounges. Super clean pools and beach. Very beautiful and very calm. Huge property... be prepared to walk, take a buggy or 'boat'. Close to great shopping and even more great restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwiceTheLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent holiday with us. I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Dar Al Masyaf. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

What a fabulous experience. We were lucky to get a upgrade to a Suite which was fantastic. All the staff were highly professional, nothing was too much. This was our 4th time in Dubai, stayed previously at Al Qasr and Jumeriah Beach. This was definitely the best.

Would highly recommend it for all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EnglandJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Jumeirah Hotels & Resorts. I am very pleased to read that your most recent experience with us exceeded your expectations and that you have highly recommended Dar Al Masyaf.

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and especially for your warm comments concerning the professionalism of our colleagues; this feedback is much appreciated and I take great pleasure in sharing your kind recognition with our team directly.

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return to our Villas.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

The room, the grounds, the restaurants and the views are all amazing, this is my second trip to the Madinat and we love it. The room is spacious, clean and well equipt, you are also so well looked after by the staff. The Dar Al Masyaf summerhouses have there own staff with lobby area, between 6 - 8 in the evening they hold a complimentry drinks service, you can anything you like from the branded drinks they also have on offer champagne. Our daughter was so well treated as well, on arrival she received a teddy bear and complimentry tolietry set, and every night on her pillow she received other little things like rubber ducks, lip balm, games and sweets. The villas also share private pools which are always so peaceful if you like to get away from the bussle of the large al qsar pool. The food was wonderful, we particularly liked the mina a salam buffet restaurant with its outdoor eating area with the view of the Burj al arab. We didnt find the drinks or food overly priced which we did expect as it is Dubai. Transport around the large hotel complex is either by golf buggy or by the little boats around the waterways, the water taxis are a lovely novelty. On the Madinat complex, it has its own souk with restaurants and shops, this gives you a different aspect as it does actually feel as though you are venturing out away from the hotel for a meal or drink. The hotel also has a very professional spa, the massage is a real treat. Although we will be trying another hotel next year, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Dar Al Masyaf. I am so pleased to read of how you enjoyed your holiday and that you will be returning to stay with us again.

I appreciate you recommending our Hotel on TripAdvisor and for your positive rating of your experience. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Schupbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
10.8 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 540 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
4.2 mi away
Atlantis, The Palm
Atlantis, The Palm
#93 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#23 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
#17 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
4.0 mi away
One&Only The Palm Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah

Property: Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah
Address: Jumeirah Beach Road | Madinat Jumeirah Resort, Dubai 75157, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubai
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#2 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#7 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst tranquil gardens, waterways, exclusive pools and Madinat Jumeirah's private beach, the intimate and exquisite summerhouses of Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf offer newly refurbished elegant and spacious guestrooms and courtyards, personalised and generous butler service and an understated Arabian luxury experience. These summerhouses offer an exquisitely designed hideaway - the premium accommodation at the Arabian Resort of Dubai. Every summerhouse has a typical Arabian Majlis or living room where sundowners are served to guests daily before they depart by traditional abra boats, on foot or by golf buggies to one of the resort's 40 restaurants. Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf has been completely redecorated in summer 2015 and features Arabian, Gulf and Ocean villas. Dubai's longest private beach is only steps away, as well as the many facilities within Madinat Jumeirah Resort. Souk Madinat Jumeirah features more than 80 shops, bars and restaurants. Access to Talise Spa and Talise Fitness, tennis and squash courts as well as unlimited access to Wild Wadi Waterpark are all available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Masyaf At Madinat Jumeirah Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing