We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Placed But Dissapointing & Poor Service. Dont Believe the Photos Or Descriptions they are Old”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nihal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nihal Palace Hotel
Ranked #264 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well Placed But Dissapointing & Poor Service. Dont Believe the Photos Or Descriptions they are Old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

A 4 Star hotel that needs to be reviewed for the award of 4 Star to 3 star as it is now living on a what appears was previous good reputation which is very disappointing as we booked this on the photos & descriptions.

The photos & descriptions are when it was looking good & performed well, it has lost most of that appeal, probably 8 or more years ago by the look of it today.

Bar... is great atmosphere as long as you smoke! all the locals are in there which is great but they all smoke and the air extraction is non existent so you are stuck in a smoke filled place where everything is going on - it needs a decent extraction system or make it no smoking & make a smoking area away from the bar which would be much better.

Room... average but it does what is needed & the air con copes well

Bathroom ....Poor.. really let it down as it smelt like an old badly cleaned urinal toilet all the time, no fresh air input no extraction.
Water pressure so low you had to be against the wall to try and get under the shower as it wouldn't get more than 2 inches from the head. Shower curtain is a nightmare, positioned 2 inches inside the bath so you had to get wrapped in it.

Basin needed unblocking as you had to wait 2-4 minutes for it to drain away.
No spare loo roll and housekeeping didn't bother to check & leave spare so ended up having to call down for a roll when sat on the loo and in need of paper!!

No glasses to drink from in the room for the mini bar or drinks you got, went to reception requested two be sent up.... 20 minutes no glasses,, rang reception asked again...... gave up drank from the cans & bottles... 1 hour 40 minutes later went to reception asked again . this time I wouldn't leave till they gave me two glasses.. still took 10 minutes & reception is next to the bar!

Wi Fi - Reception is not helpful said had to pay for wi fi
Internet - Wi Fi is available 30 minutes free in the lobby bar when you purchase any beverage hot or cold, only found that out after 2 days when sitting in the lobby bar as the main bar full of smoke and ordered a drink using was then given a card/voucher to use wi fi 30 minutes free......
They don't advertise this or tell you, you get told you have to pay for internet!!

Food - Breakfast is a bit hit n miss, service is very slow, the waiting staff spend more time talking to each other which is frustrating when you are waiting for cutlery etc as they haven't properly laid the table. You can order eggs but expect a 10 - 15 minute wait

Watch out for the Private taxis that stand outside - they are not cheap or in line with standard taxi prices & the hotel does not stop them standing in the hotel drive point - ask the price before using them thy are 30 to 100% more expensive

Overall the hotel needs a complete shake up

Room Tip: Street noise at all levels, you can book a non smoking room, check your room for things like extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit here in Dubai!

We have read you comments and feedback about the hotel and we truly appreciate you taking time to give us your valuable comments, these comments will help us to serve to you better in the future.

We would like to highlight that all our Hotel rooms have been renovated completely in year 2010/2011 and We have made changes in the restaurants and public areas of the hotel such as Italian Restaurant, Al Riga restaurant and entire reception and lobby area last year to ensure that our guest will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We are continuously improving not only our services but also the facilities and amenities of the hotel.

The photography of the Hotel rooms and public areas were made in July 2012 after all the renovation and changes have been completed.

We were surprised to learn about the spare toilet roll and glasses for drinking as part of our standard we do keep 1 spare toilet roll in each guest bathroom and 2 drinking glass placed in the tea coffee making tray beside the 2 coffee cups which are placed in the same tray, in addition to this 2 glass are placed in the guest bathroom for other purposes. It is sad to learn these facts! It has been addressed to the concern departments to see in why this have happened.

We agree with you that the reception staff could have been more informative with regards to the Free WIFI promotion we have in our Royalton lounge, please accept our apology for that. We would like to add that our Deluxe rooms is also including free WIFI, so an alternative solution for you if the internet was important is to upgrade your room to deluxe with minimal additional charges.

The Taxis outside the Hotel are different that the yellow taxis, the charges are higher by maximum 30% as it’s a luxury lemo service however you can still negotiate with them. These taxis are in front of every Hotel in Dubai and its always up to the guest to use them or wait for a normal yellow taxi to pass by. We allow them to park for our guests comfort as we had many guests complaining that they had to wait for a taxi!

All other comments you have raised concerning breakfast have been addressed to our F & B Manager to look into it and do the needful so that it won’t happen in future.

we once again truly appreciate you taking time to give us your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Deira Hotel and to serve you better!

Best regards,
Khalid Saeed – General Manager
Metropolitan Deira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    175
    107
    44
    30
See reviews for
81
134
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Metropolitan Deira Hotel (not to be confused with Metropolitan Palace Hotel, which is a 5 star Hotel and located nearby) recently while I was in Dubai for a 3 day business trip. The rooms were nice and the stay was good. I was put up in room 517, strangely the shower in my room only had hot water 24x7 no matter which ever side you turned the tap. I was not impressed by the Soaps and Shampoos provided, as they seemed to be not so good quality. The complementary breakfast was not bad and they had few options. The breakfast starts at 6:30 and varies from day to day. There is no free Wi-Fi in the hotel and it doesn't come cheap, rates for Wi-Fi cost Dh.40 for 6Hrs, Dh.60 for 24Hrs and Dh.160 for one week. I also found the mini bar to be very costly (Sprite Can Dh.18, Small Lays Chips Pack Dh.15...), which could have been charged more reasonably. The hotel is a 4 star hotel, which I thought was over rated as per Dubai standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenLen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit here in Dubai. We truly appreciate the constructive comments and feedback.

On behalf of the Management and team, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best regards,
Khalid Saeed – General Manager
Metropolitan Deira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The convienent location of this hotel to the airport was the major selling point for my stay. Although classed as a 4 star venue,find that hard to accept,however my first impression was of a clean,tidy reception. Hotel staff took my cases for me and upon entering my room was very surprised large spacious and very well presented.the room service was very good with clean sheets everyday,and towels. I visited the hotel pool on the roof and again clean tidy and the bar was manned. Swimming at night was pleasant. I had two meals in the bar area and they were satisfactory. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly,my only concern was the breakfast,it was good well presented but I had to leave the hotel at 7pm for the airport,breakfast was meant to be from 6.30hrs but it wasn't put out until 6.45hrs so it was a quick coffee and checkout,which was painless would I stay again,yes...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevoravenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit here in Dubai.

I have read your favorable comments and reviews about the hotel and our services and we truly appreciate you taking time to give us your valuable comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that we have made your stay with us a very enjoyable one. It inspires us more to do well when it comes to guest service.

On behalf of the Management and team, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Metropolitan Deira Hotel!

Best regards,
Khalid Saeed – General Manager
Metropolitan Deira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Metropolitan Deira is an average hotel but is definitely not a 4* (maybe a 3 or 2 star). I would not recommend the hotel to families as there is a bar attached to the hotel reception. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and were welcomed by the scent of cigarettes and scenes of drunk people (great start!). We requested interconnecting rooms approximately 6 months before arriving yet we did not receive them.

The rooms were pretty clean (we had 2 rooms, one was pretty spacious and the other was quite cramped). However what let the room down was that the bathroom smelt of sewage and needed refurbishment/renewing. The rooms were cleaned daily by cleaners (the cleaner on our floor was very good and helpful). Rooms were dusted, towels and bed sheets were changed daily.

Breakfast was very basic. On the first couple of days, the breakfast and service was appalling. We had to keep on asking the workers to refill the food and had to wait a long time before they actually did it. Some of the workers were very laid back, did not smile and looked like they did not want to be there. Having complained to the duty manager, breakfast improved slightly for the rest of our stay.

Overall the service in this hotel was very laid back. On one occasion, we had a beggar knocking on our room door. I rang the reception and told them what had happened, she put me through to concierge and I explained that there was a beggar asking for money. The worker said that there was no beggar in the hotel, was not very helpful and put the phone down (why would I lie about this?). This therefore made me doubt the security within the hotel. This laid back attitude continued on throughout our stay.

This was an average hotel, I would not recommend or stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit here in Dubai!

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us you valuable comments, these comments will help us serve you better in the future.

We have read your constructive comments and reviews about the hotel. The points you have raised are now being looked at and being action by the concerned department. You can be assured that we will rectify our shortcomings to improve our guest service.

On behalf of the Management and team, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Metropolitan Deira Hotel!


Best Regards,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Initially, the location on the map is incorrect which consumed 3 hours of my time in a 4 days trip to reach it.
Rates are way above the ones listed (125$) in a relativly low season.

Plumping is bad. Shower is very small.
Water preasure is week.

Internet is extreamly expensive
Room service is slow.

On the other hand, room is clean and good for 2 adults max.

Location is very good.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sameh F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Sameh,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We have taken serious note of the constructive comments that you have given about the hotel and our services in which you have found less satisfactory during your stay. You can be assured that it will be actioned at to rectify our shortcomings and improve our standard of guest services.

On behalf of the Management and team, we look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel!

Best regards,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Delhi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights as i was on a business trip. My agent recommended this hotel as i wanted something near to the business district. The location is an advantage because most official buildings & offices are nearby. As taxi is not expensive in Dubai, it will take approx 20-35 Dhs to reach most of the places. International airport is very near, just 15 mins drive. Nearest metro station is Al Rigga which is 600 mtr by walk. The hotel has a old decor because the building is almost 20 years old, the rooms have not been upgraded since. Size of the rooms & bathroom is small. Breakfast is limited & only few options to offer. We didn't try the restaurants. It is appropriate for short stays, not recommended for Leisure stay or Longer durations.

Room Tip: Its a standard short stay hotel, so any room would be same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Pankaj,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit here in Dubai.

We have read you comments and reviews about the hotel and we truly appreciate you taking time to give us your valuable comments, these comments will help us to serve you better in the future.

On behalf of the management and staff, we look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best regards,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose to stop over in Dubai for two nights to break the journey and rest up before the long flight home to Brisbane. From a brochure we chose the Metropolitan Hotel Deira as it was billed as a 4 star property. At the end of 5 weeks travelling, we felt that should suit our needs.

The best thing I can say about the hotel was that we were able to book in and go to our room at 6.00am after an overnight flight from Rome. Unfortunately everything else was not what I would rate as a 4 star hotel, maybe it would scrape in at 2 stars.

The hotel is old and tired, the bathroom smelled, power points did not work in the room, the food was expensive and awful, the decor terrible! The service was just OK.

The check-in clerk did not ask me for a credit card impression when we booked in. As the room was pre-paid we agreed I would settle any extras at check-out. The result was that whenever we attempted to buy a meal or other in-house service (it was Ramadan which forced us to eat in-house during the day) we had a protracted discussion about payment - very frustrating.

After our first night the bill and a statement was shoved under our door. The statement advised us that payment was overdue. However we still had one more night to go!?! Not surprisingly we did not feel at all welcome.

It became farcical when we attempted to take the free hotel shuttle to a local shopping centre to have a look around. I wont go into the details except to say it was like an episode of Fawlty Towers!

This hotel was a very disappointing experience and not the way we had anticipated ending our
five weeks of travelling. I would not recommend the Metropolitan Hotel Deira to any traveller.

Room Tip: Don't book at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Bruce,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

I have read your review and constructive comments and have taken serious note of the points that you have raised. The things you have found less satisfactory about the hotel and our services are being look at now and you can be assured that it will be actioned at and we will be rectifying our shortcomings.

On behalf of the Management and team, we look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel!

Best regards,
Khalid Saeed
General Manager – Metropolitan Deira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nihal Hotel
Nihal Hotel
#378 of 540 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avari Dubai Hotel
Avari Dubai Hotel
#265 of 540 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#51 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lavender Hotel Dubai
Lavender Hotel Dubai
#244 of 540 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
#340 of 540 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihal Palace Hotel

Property: Nihal Palace Hotel
Address: Nihal Hotel Near Dubai Clock Tower, al Maktoum Road 40c St, Dubai 33214, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#221 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nihal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Dubai, Nihal Palace Deira offers deluxe accommodations with roof-top pool and jacuzzi. It also features a well-equipped gym with sauna and a nearby Dubai Creek Golf Course.Decorated with European-style furnishings and fabrics. There is a spacious sitting area with cable TV channels and private bathroom with bathtub. Guests can choose among different dining outlets: Al Riga Restaurant focuses on diverse international specialties. The on-site Dublin Arms Irish Pub offers Lagers and Spirits until late in the evenings. Complimentary Shuttle to Deira City Center Mall and Al.Ghurair Mall. The popular Gold Souk is a 10-minute drive from the hotel Nihal Palace Deira. The Dubai Creek 5 mins While Dubai Marina is 30 mins from the Hotel. The Al Rigga Metro Station is walk able distance from the Hotel, and Dubai International Airports are also close by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nihal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing