We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with friendly, helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nihal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nihal Palace Hotel
Ranked #266 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel with friendly, helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited for 24 h only, but enjoyed my stay 100%. Nice clean room, excellent rooftop pool, Irish bar on the groundfloor, helpful staff. FMetropolitan fulfilled everything I wished for except no free wifi. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai!

We appreciate you taking time to give us your valuable comments, these comments will help us to serve you better in the future, thank you very much.

The team and management of the hotel we’re very happy to hear your comments. It really give us joy knowing that even you stayed with us for a short period of time, we we’re able to make it a very good one that you’ll be coming back again to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Metropolitan Deira Hotel!

Best Regards,
Khalid Saeed
General Manager - Metropolitan Deira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    175
    107
    44
    30
See reviews for
81
134
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was very small, we had difficulty moving around with both suitcases open. The bathroom smelt of sewerage from the pipe running under the floor and the shower pipe leaked when in use affecting the water pressure. We were woken up at various times by the prayers in the nearby mosque.

No free wifi, not even in public areas.

When asked where we were on a map provided by the hotel, the wrong area was circled causing us to walk in the wrong direction and become lost!

Dinner at the Italian restaurant was very average - small servings.

Only positive - relatively close to the metro.

How it has a four star rating, I have no idea!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adelehallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in March and found the hotel to be adequate but not brilliant. The location is great, very close to the Metro station which is excellent for visiting all the many attractions that Dubai has to offer. Check in was very efficient and the young lady was very friendly and informative. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. Complimentary water was provided each day.We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the in house restaurant.
We did visit the Dubliner Pub and found it to be busy, loud and full of "ladies of the night". The bar staff were not the friendliest. I ordered some drinks at the bar and when the waitress brought them to our table one of them was wrong; I ordered Cider, I got Beer. When the waitress brought it back, the bar man rushed over insisting I ordered a Beer! Obviously never heard that " the customer is always right"......surely I would know what I was drinking! This and the fact that the waitress kept coming over to ask if we wanted another didn't encourage us to stay!
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would consider returning.....just!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Noel,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai, We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, and we are very happy to hear that we we’re able to make your stay with us a very enjoyable one.

We have taken serious note of your comments concerning the service provided in Dublin Arms which you found to be less than satisfactory. You can be assured that we will be acting upon to rectify our shortcomings as constructive comments such as yours help us improve our standard of guest services.

On behalf of the Management and staff, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropolitan Hotel-Dubai in the near future.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Room was adequate and clean for a night but all communal areas really smelt very strongly of smoke and garbage. The area is downmarket.There are much better newer places in Dubai in the same price bracket .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, these comments will help us to serve you better in the future, thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this hotel for the last night of our Dubai trip because we had an early morning flight so it made sense to book a cheap place for the last night.

The good; friendly staff and good location. There is a bus stop nearby and the Metro station is about a 5 minutes walk. Rooftop pool is ok as is the sauna. It's all old and tired looking but everything still works.

The bad; The hotel could do with a make over, it is dated and there is a lingering tobacco smell every where.

I couldn't bring myself to have a shower in the morning, after three nights in a very nice hotel, I was not ready for the change.

In summary, if you're on a budget, this is fine I guess but given that this is the same price as a Premier Inn/Ibis in London, I think this is well below that standard. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the friendly staff and good location we’re shared to our staff who’s very happy to learn that we we’re able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. The points you have raised are being looked at and actions are being made.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with my mother. Hotel staff were like robots! Each day we went to the pool ( 7days ) and still the pool guy asked for name and room number! Every day we were the only guests at the pool! Rooms were good and clean. Room service was good to.Near to shops and transport links.
The staff just never seemed to be happy at there work,never welcoming as i said before the were like robots. Would i stay again...mmmm maybe. It was just very odd to see the staff so unhappy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Javier,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

The comments you have given about the rooms were good and clean. Room service was good we’re shared to our staffs that are very happy to know that we have provided another good service to our guest. Our record shows that you stayed with us on year 2011 and we will be very happy to welcome you again so that you see the changes and upgrades have been made in all hotel areas and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Traveller
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and was far from impressed. It's probably an average 3 star at best. The room was clean enough but very noisy as the patio doors would not close properly. The hotels bar is full of prostitutes and very expensive for drinks. The pool is very small and the gym is poorly equipped. The hotel is in a fairly good location near the metro but there will be far better options that offer better value

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

We are sorry to hear that you have encountered some issues during your stay with us, we are now looking at the points you have raised and actions are being made. Your comments about the room was clean and the hotel is in a fairly good location near the metro we’re shared to our staff who are very happy to learn that we we’re able to provide you with good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nihal Hotel
Nihal Hotel
#379 of 541 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avari Dubai Hotel
Avari Dubai Hotel
#263 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#50 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lavender Hotel Dubai
Lavender Hotel Dubai
#256 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
#341 of 541 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihal Palace Hotel

Property: Nihal Palace Hotel
Address: Nihal Hotel Near Dubai Clock Tower, al Maktoum Road 40c St, Dubai 33214, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#222 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nihal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Dubai, Nihal Palace Deira offers deluxe accommodations with roof-top pool and jacuzzi. It also features a well-equipped gym with sauna and a nearby Dubai Creek Golf Course.Decorated with European-style furnishings and fabrics. There is a spacious sitting area with cable TV channels and private bathroom with bathtub. Guests can choose among different dining outlets: Al Riga Restaurant focuses on diverse international specialties. The on-site Dublin Arms Irish Pub offers Lagers and Spirits until late in the evenings. Complimentary Shuttle to Deira City Center Mall and Al.Ghurair Mall. The popular Gold Souk is a 10-minute drive from the hotel Nihal Palace Deira. The Dubai Creek 5 mins While Dubai Marina is 30 mins from the Hotel. The Al Rigga Metro Station is walk able distance from the Hotel, and Dubai International Airports are also close by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nihal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing