We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel!”
Review of Nihal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nihal Palace Hotel
Ranked #260 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in March and found the hotel to be adequate but not brilliant. The location is great, very close to the Metro station which is excellent for visiting all the many attractions that Dubai has to offer. Check in was very efficient and the young lady was very friendly and informative. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. Complimentary water was provided each day.We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the in house restaurant.
We did visit the Dubliner Pub and found it to be busy, loud and full of "ladies of the night". The bar staff were not the friendliest. I ordered some drinks at the bar and when the waitress brought them to our table one of them was wrong; I ordered Cider, I got Beer. When the waitress brought it back, the bar man rushed over insisting I ordered a Beer! Obviously never heard that " the customer is always right"......surely I would know what I was drinking! This and the fact that the waitress kept coming over to ask if we wanted another didn't encourage us to stay!
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would consider returning.....just!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Noel,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai, We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, and we are very happy to hear that we we’re able to make your stay with us a very enjoyable one.

We have taken serious note of your comments concerning the service provided in Dublin Arms which you found to be less than satisfactory. You can be assured that we will be acting upon to rectify our shortcomings as constructive comments such as yours help us improve our standard of guest services.

On behalf of the Management and staff, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropolitan Hotel-Dubai in the near future.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Nihal Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 495 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Room was adequate and clean for a night but all communal areas really smelt very strongly of smoke and garbage. The area is downmarket.There are much better newer places in Dubai in the same price bracket .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, these comments will help us to serve you better in the future, thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this hotel for the last night of our Dubai trip because we had an early morning flight so it made sense to book a cheap place for the last night.

The good; friendly staff and good location. There is a bus stop nearby and the Metro station is about a 5 minutes walk. Rooftop pool is ok as is the sauna. It's all old and tired looking but everything still works.

The bad; The hotel could do with a make over, it is dated and there is a lingering tobacco smell every where.

I couldn't bring myself to have a shower in the morning, after three nights in a very nice hotel, I was not ready for the change.

In summary, if you're on a budget, this is fine I guess but given that this is the same price as a Premier Inn/Ibis in London, I think this is well below that standard. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the friendly staff and good location we’re shared to our staff who’s very happy to learn that we we’re able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. The points you have raised are being looked at and actions are being made.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with my mother. Hotel staff were like robots! Each day we went to the pool ( 7days ) and still the pool guy asked for name and room number! Every day we were the only guests at the pool! Rooms were good and clean. Room service was good to.Near to shops and transport links.
The staff just never seemed to be happy at there work,never welcoming as i said before the were like robots. Would i stay again...mmmm maybe. It was just very odd to see the staff so unhappy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Javier,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

The comments you have given about the rooms were good and clean. Room service was good we’re shared to our staffs that are very happy to know that we have provided another good service to our guest. Our record shows that you stayed with us on year 2011 and we will be very happy to welcome you again so that you see the changes and upgrades have been made in all hotel areas and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and was far from impressed. It's probably an average 3 star at best. The room was clean enough but very noisy as the patio doors would not close properly. The hotels bar is full of prostitutes and very expensive for drinks. The pool is very small and the gym is poorly equipped. The hotel is in a fairly good location near the metro but there will be far better options that offer better value

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Paul,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

We are sorry to hear that you have encountered some issues during your stay with us, we are now looking at the points you have raised and actions are being made. Your comments about the room was clean and the hotel is in a fairly good location near the metro we’re shared to our staff who are very happy to learn that we we’re able to provide you with good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here a few times as I traveled through Dubai. I found the place to be very nice and the staff to be very helpful. The rooms were great and very spacious. The price was a little more than what I wanted to pay, but this place is very nice and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogyglfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

We are very happy to hear you comments about the place to be very nice and the staff very helpful, this is shared to our staff who’s very happy to learn that we receive another good comment from one of our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel!


Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife, son and myself stayed at this hotel for 2 nights en route to Brisbane. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we were met (eventually) by the car that would take us to the hotel.

Check in was straightforward with pelasant staff. Although we were advised that our room was still being made up we were shown to the pool area and would be advised when our room was ready. Despite the normal 2pm check in, we were permitted access to our room around 9.30am with the concierge transporting our many cases. We were made aware of the metro station which was round the corner and used this as our mode of transport for the next couple of days. Admittedly, we didn't spend much time in the hotel although we made use of the pool area (and poolside bar) on a couple of occasions. We even used the hotel bar on one occasion but I admit that I am used to UK bars where smoking is not permitted inside and found the cigarette smoke annnoying and offputting.

The room was clean and of a decent size even if it did have to accommodate a double bed and a single bed for our son. Our double bed was extremely comfortable. Mini bar was expensive however and wi fi was an additional cost.

Breakfast on both days was good with no complaints from any of us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billypaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, General Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Billy,

Thank you for staying at Metropolitan Deira Hotel during your visit here in Dubai.

We truly appreciate your taking time to give us your valuable comments, for these comments help us to serve you better, thank you very much.

We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The normal check in timings of the hotel is from 2:00 p.m. but from time to time we are giving guests the rooms earlier than the usual check in time especially the ones who came from a long flight. The comments you have given about the hotel room was clean and breakfast was good we’re shared to our staff and their very happy to hear that we have given another good service to one of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropolitan Deira Hotel


Thank you,
Metropolitan Deira Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Nihal Hotel
#432 of 554 in Dubai
82 reviews
Avari Dubai Hotel
#250 of 554 in Dubai
608 reviews
Avenue Hotel
#264 of 554 in Dubai
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Wyndham Dubai Marina
Wyndham Dubai Marina
#124 of 554 in Dubai
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihal Palace Hotel

Address: Nihal Hotel Near Dubai Clock Tower, al Maktoum Road 40c St, Dubai 33214, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#218 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $46 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nihal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Dubai, Nihal Palace Deira offers deluxe accommodations with roof-top pool and jacuzzi. It also features a well-equipped gym with sauna and a nearby Dubai Creek Golf Course.Decorated with European-style furnishings and fabrics. There is a spacious sitting area with cable TV channels and private bathroom with bathtub. Guests can choose among different dining outlets: Al Riqqa Restaurant focuses on diverse international specialties. The on-site Dublin Arms Irish Pub offers Lagers and Spirits until late in the evenings. The popular Gold Souk is a 10-minute drive from the hotel Nihal Palace Deira. The Dubai Creek 5 mins While Dubai Marina is 30 mins from the Hotel. The Al Rigga Metro Station is walk able distance from the Hotel, and Dubai International Airports are also close by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nihal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing