We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nihal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nihal Palace Hotel
Ranked #264 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Love it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Been there almostevery month. The staffs as usual were very friendly and good. They know my preferences. Dublin Arms was as usual and loved it there. New band playing which was ok. Again enjoyed the Italian restaurant Don Corleone. Food was excellent every time am there. Good choices for breakfasyt and improved. Cant wait for my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Salah,

Thank you for taking you time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding Dublin Arms being nice and Don Corleone being excellent have been shared with the staffs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best Regards,

Vijayakumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    172
    107
    44
    28
See reviews for
79
133
81
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I first stayed in this hotel in 2008 and stayed here again this time round, due to the location of the hotel being near anywhere you wanted to go.

The first stay was with my brother so the amentites weren't too much of an issue, I stayed at this hotel due to getting a good deal with the compnay i booked with, which had deals for my employer so I got a generous discount so I wasnt complaining to much, since we didnt stay at the hotel too much, the deal included breakfast but we only had breakfast once and its a very basic buffet nothing fancy. The hotel is near the clock roundabout so is easy to get there if you ever get lost and also near the shopping centre and lots of places to eat.

The 2nd time I went with my wife, so as I had already stayed here before. I booked it again since it was competitive on price and the locality of the hotel. The room to be fair they gace us was brilliant as it was a large room and had a balcony, the only good thing about the balcony was that there was fresh air in the room but nothing more, since the balcony overlooked the enterance and another building which was bit of an eyesore, I got a chance to wonder round Dubai a bit more this time round and to be fair I think for the price I paid I could have had a better hotel.

Overall if you want something basic, and this hotel is not a four star more like a three star, the place is OK, all basic facilities but really good for location. There was a swimming pool and a gym but never used it. The hotel is OK once, but as there is no end to the number of hotels in Dubai you can easily choose a hotel every time you go and I would for sure pick another place to stay other then the Metropolitan, this shoud not be mistaken for the Metropolitan Palace which is a few mins walk from this hotel and looks much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We are happy to know that you were happy with your rooms and enjoyed the balcony. Your feedback regarding breakfast being very basic is being looked into and will inform the concerned department to action on it. The information regarding Hotel location is much appreciated as most guests prefer hotel near important landmarks and closer to airport.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best Regards,

Vijayakumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our room was above the Irish pub in the hotel and we were kept awake until 2:30am from the noise of a disco in the pub. We were unable to use either of the two restaurants as they were full for Christmas functions no prior advice was given to us about this

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We understand that you were disturbed due to the noise from Dublin Arms pub. Your Constructive feedback like this will help us to improve guest services and will be looked into immediately. We regret for any inconvenience that may have caused you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijayakumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Friendly welcoming hotel, arrived late at night but very organised.
Breakfast excellent, rooms very clean and tidy.
A little way out but near tube station so traveling easy, would stay there again as quiet area.
Pool on roof looked good, smoking allowed in certain areas which is not good.
Bed was huge and comfy.
No free internet in rooms.
Who uses a gym when staying in Dubai anyway!

Room Tip: Choose a no smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Your comments that the hotel was welcoming and organised in the night are appreciated.
Breakfast being excellent, rooms very clean and bed was huge and comfortable has been communicated to the concerned department. With regards to your comment on smoking, smoking is allowed only in the bar as most of the hotel areas are non smoking.
We would like to welcome you back to Metropolitan Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijaykumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mediocrity with a hint of decentness. Room itself was fine; decent size, decent bed. In-room internet required a fee – 24 hour pass was much more reasonable than the hourly cost, though meaningless if you don’t need to use it that much. Lots of smoking in the bar/restaurant and outside the hotel. Hotel location is decent. Not inconvenient, but not as convenient as many others might be. There’s a reason this hotel is generally on the cheaper range of the hotels in the area, but it’s respectable for what it is. Just don’t expect high-end.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CafeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We are happy to know that your room was fine and was up to your satisfaction. Please be advised that Dublin Arms Irish pub is the only outlet in the hotel where smoking is allowed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We've just returned from our first visit to Dubai & stayed here for 6 nights. Hotel staff were really helpful from the minute we were picked up at the airport for our transfer to the hotel to the minute we were dropped back off again. The reception staff & concierge were happy to give directions & information & the young man who cleaned our room was wonderful - a lamp stopped working & he got it replaced in 10 minutes. Our 5th floor room was big, bright & very comfortable if a bit noisy due to the traffic round the Clock Tower & the bin men at stupid-o'clock but that's hardly the hotel's fault! Breakfast was excellent & well stocked right up to 10.30am. We ate in Don Corleone's which was good value for money &, again, the staff were really friendly.It's just a shame it was so quiet - it really needs to be advertised more. The location of the hotel is excellent, so close to the Metro which is incredibly cheap & efficient & in strolling distance of the Creek. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Non smoking, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mofitzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us at TripAdvisor.com. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We are very happy about your feedback with regards the staff being very helpful and Breakfast and Don Corleone Italian Restaurant being Excellent. These comments have been has been relayed to all our staff and the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and serve you better.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tete, Mozambique
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here 6 nights in December 2011/January 2012.
The hotel is identified as a 4 star, but it is hardly classified as 4 star, I would give 3stars. Anyway, in average it is a good hotel, very clean and friendly staff. The rooms are small, the rooftop gym is tiny and you have to pay for its use. the swimming spool is very small too. The lunch buffet is not varied, and the quality of the meals are average.
overral, it is not a bad experience. If I don´t enough money to pay for an upgraded hotel, I don´t mind to stay here.
The highlight of the hotel is its Irish bar at the ground florr. it is very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidaAcaci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We are happy to know that your room was clean and the staffs were friendly. Your positive comments regarding the Dublin Arms Irish pub has been relayed to the concerned department.

We understand that the lunch buffet was not up to your satisfaction however if this was brought up to the restaurant manager, this could have been sorted out immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nihal Hotel
Nihal Hotel
#376 of 544 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
2.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#64 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#259 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lavender Hotel Dubai
Lavender Hotel Dubai
#242 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#234 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihal Palace Hotel

Property: Nihal Palace Hotel
Address: Nihal Hotel Near Dubai Clock Tower, al Maktoum Road 40c St, Dubai 33214, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#53 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#223 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nihal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Dubai, Metropolitan Deira offers deluxe accommodations with roof-top pool and jacuzzi. It also features a well-equipped gym with sauna and a nearby golf course.Decorated with European-style furnishings and fabrics. There is a spacious sitting area with cable TV channels and private bathrooms with bathtub. Guests can choose among different dining outlets: Summer Place serves Chinese cuisine, while Al Riga Restaurant focuses on diverse international specialties. The on-site Dublin Arms Irish Pub offers lagers and spirits until late in the evenings. A complimentary shuttle operates regular services to the beach, the Jumeirah beach Park and to Deira City Center Mall. The popular Gold Souk is a 5-minute drive from the hotel Metropolitan Deira. The Dubai Creek and marina are 1640 ft away. The Al Rigga Metro Stop is just 1050 ft away, and Dubai International Airport is 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Nihal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing