We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nihal Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$182
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah Emirates Towers(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$173
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor House Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$211
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The H Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$366
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$118
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$358
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,450
$1,225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
133
192
112
45
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
192
112
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish baral rigga roadrooftop poolmetro stationclose to the airportthe hotel staffdecent hotelrooms are cleanshort stayduty managerdubai mallspecial thanksdeirataxisconciergemrcreek
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 515 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Air Emirates gave us a layover at this hotel when our flight was delayed and we were fairly disappointed with their choice of hotels. However, the best part of our experience was the staff, who handled the sudden influx of guests with courtesy and efficiency. The rooms were definitely "tired", with a balcony door that was not in good shape and wouldn't lock, the room smelled of cigarette smoke and the decor, particularly the bathroom, far from new. They wouldn't give us a different room, but they did quickly send someone up to get the door to lock for us. There didn't appear to be many restaurants or shops near the hotel but it was only about 4 blocks from a metro station so it was easy to get around.. The Italian restaurant mentioned in other reviews was not an option provided by Emirates. The food in the buffet restaurant was a mixture of tasty Arabic dishes and very mediocre international dishes. Again, the restaurant staff were excellent, though, and even allowed us to grab a quick bite before they were ready to open the next morning when we had to leave for an early flight. We are giving the hotel only 2 stars but we would give the staff 4 stars at least.

Room Tip: The rooms in the photos look nicer than the one we had so perhaps ask to see a room prior to accepting the one you are offered. If you are not a smoker, be sure to ask for a non-smoking room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time taken to complete the trip advisor comments about your recent stay with us.

We regret to note that the room allocated to you was not up to your expectations especially your comments on the smell of cigarette in the room & the balcony. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary actions to rectify the same and ensure this will not recur for our guests. Your concerns have been brought up to the concerned department head and have been looked into very seriously.

However, we regret to note the points you mentioned on the International dishes in the buffet restaurant was not upto your satisfaction, I am sure if you have brought this to the restaurant manager at that time an immediate action could have been taken as we take utmost care to serve our guests. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staffs and the same will be passed to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Hotel Deira again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night as a treat on our way to Sri Lanka. This was our first trip to Dubai.
We arrived at 8:00am and left at 7:00am the following morning.
The hotel was lovely. We chose to have our evening meal here at the Italian which was gorgeous. Breakfast was also excellent too.
Our room was lovely, very clean and staff very helpful and welcoming throughout our stay.
When we initially arrived, our room was not ready (which we expected) so we walked over to the Creek which was my highlight of Dubai! I loved the contrast between old and new and managed some amazing photographs.
We then chillled by the pool for an hour, accessed our room, took taxi to Burj Kalifa area. Taxi was very cheap. This area was amazing and a trip up the tower (book before you leave home) is a must. We then ate at the shopping mall which had a lot of choice and was good for a snack.
We then took the metro to the marina. The metro is very cheap and an efficient way to get around the City. The marina (we arrived early evening onwards) was lovely.
All in all we enjoyed our visit and found Dubai very interesting for 24 hours!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor. Our room was lovely, appreciated it's proximity to the pool. We slept like babies although we had travelled through the night so hadn't been in a bed for around 40 hours!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your honest feedback on the hotel being very clean and the staffs were very friendly and helpful.

Your positive feedback about Don Corleone being gorgeous and the breakfast being excellent has been relayed to the concerned department.

We are also very happy to know that you had enjoyed the time by the pool which was relaxing as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were delighted and satisfied with our recent stay at this hotel. The room were clean and staffs were helpful. Being a frequent visitor, have seen lot of changes happening at this hotel including the facilities. Enjoyed the rooftop pool though it was a bit crowded as i have read in some reviews. very close to city center and nearby metro station. Italian food at Don Corleone restaurant was amazing. Dublin Arms bar was relaxing and fun. Can see some ladies but they don't disturb you. Will definitely recommend this hotel. Cant wait for my next trip.

Room Tip: Request Balcony Rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Mr. Mike,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor .com. Your feedback is highly appreciated and would encourage us to perform better. Your positive comments about Don Corleone and Dublin Arms have been relayed to the concerned staffs. We look forward to welcome you back to Metropolitan Deira Hotel.

Best Regards,

Vijayakumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a one week family holiday. Very disappointed with hotel, was in a strange location tucked away in a back street. It was very noisy all the time (mainly because our balcony door did not fit properly). Bathroom had lots of black mould. Staff very slow to organise anything and could not help with any queries. Had to repeatedly ask for more towels as only enough for 2 people although there were 3 of us. Breakfast was awful, only thing we could stomach was the cereal. Tables were never set up properly (missing cutlery) had to personally get our own. Had to ask 3 times for a cup of tea one morning. The swimming pool and gym were a joke. Not free wifi access as described. My husband wanted to upgrade to a "Deluxe Room" which seems to be any old room but you get a free bottle of wine on arrival and daily bottle of water and a fruit bowl. Met a lot of unhappy people in the hotel. On the positive side our air conditioning worked.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandfamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time taken to complete the tripadvisor comments about your recent stay with us.

We regret to note that the room allocated to you was not up to your expectations especially your comments on the room balcony and bathroom. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary actions to rectify the same and ensure this will not recur for our guests. Your concerns have been brought up to the concerned department head and have been looked into very seriously.

However, we regret to note the points you mentioned on the service and the food rendered in the breakfast area was not upto your satisfaction, I am sure if you have brought this to the restaurant manager at that time an immediate action could have been taken as we take utmost care to serve our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Hotel Deira again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Quite okay hotel with friendly staff and good service. Hotel's location is also good. Rooms are clean and with necessary equipment except that bathroom was bit outdated and felt a bit shabby, a little bit of dampness or something might have been in the air. Even though customers were largely missing, hotel's Don Corleone Italian restaurant serves good basic Italian food. In the other restaurant where also breakfast is served, the tables were painfull.. you couldn't fit your legs under the table without messing with the table legs and spilling your morning coffee.

Pool and facilities in the roof were adequet, the pool boy / bar tender was very happy and friendly guy! The problem with the large number of working ladies in hotel's pub was noticeable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank bceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay except for few concerns which have been brought up to the concerned department head to act upon it immediately. Your positive feedback regarding Don Corleone has been relayed to the team. We are upgrading our breakfast area and you will find a difference on your next visit.

Please be aware that we are located in a residential area and been frequented by guests who stay nearby and visit the Hotel restaurants and Bars.

Please trust that we always strive to give the best to our guests and serve you better each time.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews