We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nihal Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$182
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah Emirates Towers(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$173
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$358
$294
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$366
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grosvenor House Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$211
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
$118
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$1,450
$1,225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
133
192
112
45
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
192
112
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish baral rigga roadrooftop poolmetro stationclose to the airportthe hotel staffdecent hotelrooms are cleanshort stayduty managerdubai mallspecial thanksdeirataxisconciergemrcreek
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 515 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a one week family holiday. Very disappointed with hotel, was in a strange location tucked away in a back street. It was very noisy all the time (mainly because our balcony door did not fit properly). Bathroom had lots of black mould. Staff very slow to organise anything and could not help with any queries. Had to repeatedly ask for more towels as only enough for 2 people although there were 3 of us. Breakfast was awful, only thing we could stomach was the cereal. Tables were never set up properly (missing cutlery) had to personally get our own. Had to ask 3 times for a cup of tea one morning. The swimming pool and gym were a joke. Not free wifi access as described. My husband wanted to upgrade to a "Deluxe Room" which seems to be any old room but you get a free bottle of wine on arrival and daily bottle of water and a fruit bowl. Met a lot of unhappy people in the hotel. On the positive side our air conditioning worked.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandfamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time taken to complete the tripadvisor comments about your recent stay with us.

We regret to note that the room allocated to you was not up to your expectations especially your comments on the room balcony and bathroom. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary actions to rectify the same and ensure this will not recur for our guests. Your concerns have been brought up to the concerned department head and have been looked into very seriously.

However, we regret to note the points you mentioned on the service and the food rendered in the breakfast area was not upto your satisfaction, I am sure if you have brought this to the restaurant manager at that time an immediate action could have been taken as we take utmost care to serve our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Hotel Deira again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Quite okay hotel with friendly staff and good service. Hotel's location is also good. Rooms are clean and with necessary equipment except that bathroom was bit outdated and felt a bit shabby, a little bit of dampness or something might have been in the air. Even though customers were largely missing, hotel's Don Corleone Italian restaurant serves good basic Italian food. In the other restaurant where also breakfast is served, the tables were painfull.. you couldn't fit your legs under the table without messing with the table legs and spilling your morning coffee.

Pool and facilities in the roof were adequet, the pool boy / bar tender was very happy and friendly guy! The problem with the large number of working ladies in hotel's pub was noticeable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank bceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you time and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Metropolitan Hotel Deira.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay except for few concerns which have been brought up to the concerned department head to act upon it immediately. Your positive feedback regarding Don Corleone has been relayed to the team. We are upgrading our breakfast area and you will find a difference on your next visit.

Please be aware that we are located in a residential area and been frequented by guests who stay nearby and visit the Hotel restaurants and Bars.

Please trust that we always strive to give the best to our guests and serve you better each time.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Among all of the new hotels in Dubai this one is an old one, however, in other countries it's not that much old, but you can see wrinkles on it specially in the bathroom.the hotel had a good service close to yor expectations of this hotel, it's not the best in Dubai but one of the good hotels in Deira in its class.I was a solo traveler and this one could be a good choice for this type of travelers, pool is small and rooms bit noisy I think back rooms are better.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us at TripAdvisor.com. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.

We took particular note of your comments regarding the bathrooms and the same will be looked into immediately.

We are also happy that you had received good service overall and was close to your expectations. You feedback will be shared with the other staffs as well as it motivates us to do better every time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I spent one week at the end of Sept 2012 and was quite pleased with the Hotel. I travel frequently in the Middle East and was surprised at the exceptional hospitality of the Staff at the Metropolitan. Room was clean by western standards. 5 star italian food. Room service was very good as well. The pub has a friendly air to it. Good value in Dubai. Well managed good staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked through Thomas cook and were told we were going to the metropolitan sheik zahid road instead when we arrived at the airport we told told we were in the metropolitan Deira, driving there late at night we were concerned about the area, the next day did nothing to make things better, we were there six nights and its not the ideally situated hotel for a holiday, swimming pool very poor I couldn't see over the high wall round ending up paying £15 each for a daily transfer to the habtour grand on the beach to get some decent facilities, went in the Dublin arms once full of prostitutes not a good atmosphere. Hotel room was clean and spacious and staff were very pleasant and helpful, breakfast choices were poor. Not the hotel for a holiday may be alright for a quick stopover. Would not stay again, did no one tell Thomas cook they had demolished they had knocked down the other metropolitan hotel and then inform us before we travelled cos we would not have gone this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Ho... D, Front Office Manager at Nihal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your honest comment on the hotel being very clean and the staffs were very friendly and helpful.

From your comments we understand that your initial booking was for our sister property Metropolitan Hotel Dubai on Sheikh Zayed Road. However that property has been demolished and a new property coming up there. We had informed all our travel partners about the same and we have taken utmost care in relocating all our booked clients from there.

One of our main facilities is the use of our sister hotel beach facilities for a nominal fee with complimentary return transfers.

We regret to note that the breakfast choice was not upto your satisfaction however if it was brought up to the restaurant manager immediately, we would have definitely looked into it and would have tried to get the breakfast of your choice. Your issues has been brought up with the concerned department head and will be looked into it immediately.

Please be aware that we are located in a residential area and been frequented by guests who stay nearby and visit the Hotel restaurants and Bars.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropolitan Hotel Deira again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Vijay Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews