We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - pleasant stay”
Review of Versailles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Versailles Hotel
Ranked #297 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel - pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

This is a 3 star hotel and I think it is priced reasonably. Rooms are basic and are clean and comfortable and have plenty of space. I followed the advice from a tripadvisor review and requested a room on 5th floor or above and had no issues with noise.

I wanted the staff to recommend places and give advice on where to go, which they couldn't. Logged onto the internet and read some reviews instead so not a huge problem. Just think that these little things add to service.

Rooms are cleaned daily and staff were polite. Must be a new pool guy now as he was very friendly. The one day we used the pool he did shut it at 5.30 however. Went to the beach all other days anyway.

Restaurant - breakfast had different items daily was perfectly fine. Don't drink the coffee though. We were half board - check this with your agent as they tried to give us breakfast and lunch and we had to get our agent to fix this. Food was fine - staff were pleasant. We were the only people eating dinner - heard that they stopped the dinner buffet due to complaints.

Location - bad for most tourist attractions e.g Jumeirah beach side - costs about £10 each way to Jumeirah in a cab. Metro is unfinished so can use to get to a few places only. Close to Gold Souk, Aviation club and a beach park.

Bar guy and girl in the bar at the pool are lovely. We got ushered into Patriots (the ground floor entertainment room!) a couple of times by the staff. The first time we stuck our heads in and then quickly left - cheesy girls dancing on stage. The second time we'd had a few drinks in Carter's (Wafi Mall - nice bar) so actually sat down. I found it too embarassing and left a couple of sips into my drink. hahaha

Agree with a previous review - the aircon in the rooms is really bad - it basically blasts freezing cold air for 5 min stretches to bring the room temperature down. Meant you had to either turn the aircon to a higher temp ot turn it off and boil, or put a cardi on!

Dubai as a whole LOVES aircon - I hated being indoors as it was colder than in England - also meant that I developed a cold after a day due to the constant extremes of temperature. My no. 1 piece of advice - bring plenty of cropped trousers, and conservative dresses and t-shirts. My usual summer wear (knee length / floor length halter neck or strappry dresses / shorts) attracted way too much attention from the men in the area around the hotel. Plus carry a cardigan and wear trousers / jeans if you intend to go to shopping malls. I was told by a friend that you can wear anything you'd normally wear, in Dubai - you pretty much can but it ruins your day if you have groups of men constantly staring at you (probably thinking you are a prostitute).

Places to visit:
Malls: All the major big ones - Dubai Mall and Emirates Mall the best I think.

Drinking - Best find was the Dubai Aviation club - very rare to find outdoor drinking in dubai and this was wonderful. Also you can find Irish Village - an Irish bar here.

Try also Carter's (Wafi Mall - has an outside terrace and links to a couple of other bars), Mai Tai on Dubai Marina - near to the free Jumeirah beach.

I would recommend this hotel as a cheap option - but would prob try to stay in the more aesthetically pleasing west Dubai (around Jumeirah) if I were to visit again - as far as budget allows anyway ;-)

p.s. as per previous reviews - no-one can pronounce the name of the hotel (Ver-Say-Les is the most common but not always recognised proniunciation). No taxi drivers know where the hotel is - say it's near Taj Palace (thanks for that tip!).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LDNLovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    46
    14
    19
See reviews for
35
46
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The service there was quite good, the staff is polite. The room is good enough but I didn't like the air in the room and the way the air conditioner worked. The location is great, in the evening you can find any kind of restaurant nearby and besides not far from it there are a lot of shpping malls.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bounty0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We had a stop-over for 2 nights at the hotel (me, my husband and 4 year old child). The hotel was clean, relatively comfortable - typical standard 3 star, nothing more, nothing less...
Staff was friendly and helpful, aprat from the guy who worked at the swimming pool...He was a bit unfriendly for some reason. The pool closes at 6 pm, which is not very handy, considering that it's so hot outside and leaving pool open till 8-9pm would me much more appropriate for the guests of the hotel. But what can you do..?
Restarant was a bit dissapointing. Not cheap, but food was not very nice. We had much better lunch at the shopping centre food court than dinner in the hotel's restarant. So i wouldn't recommend it for dinner.
Breakfast was ok, as it was mentioned by someone already- if you only paid for continental breakfast- make sure you dont eat anything from the "buffet" food, otherwise you'll be charged.
Location of the hotel is pretty good. Overall, it's an ok hotel for 2-3 days to stay in if you are not planning to spend all your days in the hotel.
Last but not least- it wasn't noisy at all as some reviews say here...Maybe because we were on level 5...But it was quite up there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntopouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We were a family of 16 staying at Versailles. We were all very pleased with the excellent service we got. The staff were polite and helpful. Shuttlebus to the beach every day was convenient. The only thing we found annoying was the noise from the nightclubs. Ask for rooms in the fifth floor. There were some prostitutes hanging around at a street not far from the hotel, but none inside the hotel. We felt very safe in the area, also late at night. The taxidrivers did not know were to find the hotel, but they knew how to find Taj Palace which is just around the corner. One tips for the holiday: the taxidrivers get paid pr. kilometer and can get very unpolite when you need just a short ride (one of them just drove leaving us standing there when he found out were we were going )Let them know you can pay a bit extra if it is important for you to get a ride.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littledoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Good location close to Deira city center if you love shopping,if you want to save up a bit go to pick and save,just ask for JR and he will point you to the direction, staff are very helpful and friendly .they look after their guest very well, the rooms are clean and the food are great .The trevel agent at the travel desk will help you to all the excursions that you desire, Dont miss the desert safari ,a trip to Atlantis resort at Jumeira palm and the tour of Dubai.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orense23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed here in january of this year and had a very pleasant time. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and as my girlfriend wanted an early check in they obliged with no complaints. Rooms were clean and cleaned daily and bathroom good size. For a budget hotel you couldn't ask for more. Only problems were, don't bother booking a trabsfer from the hotel as they don't turn up, pool is nice but lifeguard is very very strict (as in tells you off for wearing wrong swimming shorts and moving loungers). Also DO NOT go in nightclubs.....very, very strange places (loads of other good places to go for a drink in Dubai). All in all though it was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lavender Hotel Dubai
Lavender Hotel Dubai
#273 of 550 in Dubai
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel
#284 of 550 in Dubai
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regent Palace Hotel
Regent Palace Hotel
#314 of 550 in Dubai
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fortune Grand Hotel
Fortune Grand Hotel
#338 of 550 in Dubai
242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Reflections Hotel Dubai
Reflections Hotel Dubai
#462 of 550 in Dubai
113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Al Khoory Executive Hotel – Al Wasl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Versailles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Versailles Hotel

Property: Versailles Hotel
Address: Versailles Hotel 32/2 15 St | Al Muraqqabat, Behind Al Dana, Dubai 33382, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Versailles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and Convenience await you at the centrally-located all new Versailles Hotel. A fifteen minutes drive from Dubai International Airport, Versailles Hotel is located in the business and leisure district of Al Rigga Street in Deira. Landmarks such as Al Ghurair City Shopping Mall, Twin Towers Shopping Mall, Reef Mall, Abra Ferry Station are just a short walk away from the Hotel. Other attractions include Deira City Centre Shopping Mall, Government & Business Offices, Nasser Square Shopping Area etc. Al Rigga and Union Metro Stations are equidistant from the hotel -a mere five minutes walk.Versailles Hotel offers 84 luxurious Guest-rooms & Suites that include the Versailles Club Floor comprising of 14 Deluxe Rooms & Suites.Rooms and Suites are available in both Smoking & Non-Smoking categories. All Rooms & Suites are equipped with modern amenities and luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Versailles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versailles Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing