We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food amazing service.”
Review of Umai

Umai
Ranked #219 of 10,159 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Informal yet sophisticated, Umai, brings to Dubai an exquisite culinary adventure with the best of contemporary Japanese cuisine. An open-plan kitchen makes the Sushi, Sashimi and Teppanyaki stages part of the dining experience. Charcoal grilled dishes, exotic salads and homemade noodles entice you to journey through Japan and beyond.Located in the heart of Business Bay at The Oberoi, Dubai, one of the finest five star luxury hotels in the UAE.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife & i dined here during our resent trip to Dubai. Our server was called Allan a young Chinese gentleman he was a true professional explaining & recommending food from the menu. We had a fantastic meal & will return to Umai the next time we visit Dubai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank glasga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at Umai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service. I have shared your positive sentiments with Allen and I have no doubt that it will inspire him to continue striving for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 193 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I went to the restaurant for dinner and had their 10 course meal. It was well worth it! What made a difference was the superb service we had! Everyone was very friendly! This was a good dining experience we haven't had for a long while.Even our 5 months old boy enjoyed it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yantakchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at Umai for the 10 course Asian Tapas Supper.

We are delighted to read your comments on the dining experience and are glad that even your son enjoyed his time in Umai. At The Oberoi, we are committed to providing our guests with a memorable dining experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Umai will reopen after the holy month of Ramadan and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for your support.

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of the Best Dining experience we had in Umai on the 23rd June 2014 and was very well taken care by the hospitality of the Oberoi Hotels with the Restaurant Manager Ms Varsha Sehgal who gave us an amazing service.The Food ,The Taste and the ambience is awesome..Would highly recommend to anyone going to dubai or living in dubai,Keep it up..SUPERB !!! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sanjiv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at Umai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and were well looked after by Varsha, the Restaurant Manager. We appreciate you recommending the restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Starving for good quality food - try the Indo - Chinese items there and you will not regret. Dinner was great and the Chinese tea serving lady was entertaining. Sad to hear it will be closed in my next visit

Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with at Umai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed some the wok dishes made in an Indo Chinese style as well as the tea service. We have closed Umai during the holy month of Ramadan and will reopen in August.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your support.

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visit alot of restaurants in Dubai, and Umai is one which we always recommend to others. Everyone we have taken to this place just loves it, and ends up going again after.

Everytime we have been there, the food has been just amazing, and service excels itself each time.

The tea and overall ambience of the restaurant makes this is worthwhile visit for anyone.

Umai's black cod is one of the best in Dubai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Salma111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at Umai and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service. Moreover, we thank you for visiting Umai frequently and recommending the experience to others. I have shared your positive sentiments with the team and I have no doubt that it will inspire them to continue striving for excellence.

Umai will reopen shortly after the holy month of Ramadan and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance at rohan.ogale@oberoihotels.com.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Umai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing