We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to celebrate my birthday.”

La Serre Bistro & Boulangerie
Ranked #246 of 9,474 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Description: La Serre is a homegrown lifestyle dining concept consisting of an authentic Parisian-style boulangerie on the ground floor, with a bistro and bar on the first floor, both spaces deliver the same quality with different ambiances and different menus. It is a destination where there is a discovery of great offerings of bread and traditional French cuisine in an atmosphere which identifies with its origins. A restaurant that is driven by the quality of its raw base products. Although the bistro and boulangerie are connected and share the same quality mission statement, they are treated as separate entities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good way to celebrate my birthday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I chose La Serre to celebrate my birthday.The Hotel has easy accessability from the Boulevard. The retaurant upstairs have a lovely view of the Boulevard with a clean minimalist look. The Staff was friendly and the service was prompt. I like the sharing concept of food.one of the starters that stood out was the grilled prawns in an olive sauce, that combined beautifully with the toasted bread. The tomato and goats cheese combination with dukka being one of my favorites. We had the veal chop and lamb rack for main and both were very tender. We ended it with the creme brulee and certainly the best i have had. Creamy at the bottom and just the right sweetness.The food was very tasty and well presented. Overall a good experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reddesert15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    150
    57
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average below my expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were really looking forward to this place, as it is a wonderful location.

When we arrived, we had to wait 20 minutes for our table. The service was friendly but not as perfect as usual in the U.A.E. After all, it was not bad, but the next time, we will choose another place

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Start To The Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was out with the my guy friends late night on a Friday and we had choose to go chill in Vida Hotel Outdoor Coffee Shop. It is the same place where La Serre is. I went into La Serre and found that the restaurant was lively and full while the Bistro downstairs looked calm and relaxing. They told me they open early on at 7 AM.
It was going to be my last day in Dubai before leaving again and hence I told my fionce to wake up early to have a fresh start to the day. She had gone to the restaurant a couple of times and loved it and I suggested the Bistro in order to have an early start for the day before we both leave to complete our chores.
We got in the morning close to 8 and it already had people eating. The place was lively and the staff gave out a great vive. We choose to sit inside overlooking the outside seating. The Maitre D' sat us and gave us a brief description. We ordered and the food came soon after.
It was a perfect start to my long day. I spent some quality personal time with my woman. The tables are close and yet far enough so that you get the vive of the place but still can have a personal conversation. The staff are not intrusive and give you your private time and do not overly interrupt. The food is delicious and I thought the portions were just about right although I would have imagined the portions to be a bit bigger. What I also admired was the fact that after we finished our meals, we waited for our friends to come to say hello before we left and the waiters did not intrude or inquire at all. My lady loved it and she took alot of pictures to save this memory. I will go again definitely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buyousif13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not impressed at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

After a long and lazy noon at home and a good half an hour spent at the gym this morning (all beginnings are to be taken slow), we decided that we deserved a treat and headed towards down town. The desired destination? La Serre (glasshouse) Bistro & Boulangerie, on Emmar Square. It was a beautiful day in Dubai, one of these days where the sun is shining just as much to keep your skin warm while the wind cools it down again. Winter in Dubai. La Serre’s guest garden seemed to be the perfect spot for a late lunch this weekend. The parking space, just a couple of meters away, makes it easy to reach the bistro and is for free, if you do not forget to get the ticket stamped on the way out again.

The place looked quite busy from far, and it was only at the hostess’s desk when we heard that everything was occupied outside, and we either had the choice to wait at the bar or sit inside for lunch. As three other couples waited as well, we allowed our hungry stomachs to make the decision and headed inside.

Most of the tables were free inside, therefore no one had to seat us and we ended choosing our own table at the window. Yasin, the waiter for this section, greeted us after a while and asked if we wanted water to start with. We ordered sparking water and asked for the menu. When the water was served, and we placed our order, Yasin got shy, nearly turned a bit red and said: “Sorry, I forgot to tell you this is all not available…” He then informed us that the dish and the quiche of the day, were sol with fries and salmon quiche and that those items were available and made fresh today. Curious to find out what his recommendation might taste like we agreed to order both dishes of the day.

We placed the order, he reconfirmed the same and left.

While waiting for our food (and we had a lot of time to pass) we observed the rest of the staff at La Serre. A restaurant of that size would normally not have more of ten staff around per shift, but today at La Serre, we counted 14 (front of the house), which contained hostesses, waiters, casual support staff and a lot of managers.

Do you know the saying: ‘Too many cooks spoil the porridge?’ That was the case today. It seemed like everyone was all over the place and did not really know what to do at the same time. Yasin, as it turned out later on, was one of the casual support staffs, and asked to look after an entire section on his own, while outside, 4 waitresses, 2 hostesses and a manager walked around, looking more busy than they actually were.

We have been there and done that, and this is why our observations in general are based on facts. Having spent a decade working in five star hotels and restaurants around the World, we have seen places which were much more busy and coped with less staff. More examples? We waited for about 16 minutes after our beverages were served and the orders taken for anyone to pay attention and serve us bread and butter. As we had lunch in a French boulangerie, we assumed it was pretty standard to being offered the same. Only after we asked one of Yasin’s colleagues, we were served a couple of slices of bread.

Another 12 minutes passed for our food to arrive. Salmon quiche and breaded sol with French fries sticks and dip.

The sol was alright, and tasted like a French version of fish and chips. The quiche on the other hand, served on a starter plate (even though listed under ‘mains’ on the menu) was cold. Yasin was asked to take it back to the kitchen and replace it with a fresh, warm one. Another 10 minutes passed and he returned with a new quiche. It was as expected, a standard pre – cooked salmon quiche, not bad but also nothing extra ordinary, what deserves more than 35 minutes of preparation. We are not chefs and can only talk about the service side of things, but then again, when it comes to value for money (150 AED for 2 guests), and the service is unprofessional, then the quality of food is crucial for a guest’s decision to return one day or stay away for good.

While finishing up our mains, we kept on observing a waiter and (we believe) female manager having a chat outside, of how to clean up the guest garden and how to shift previously rearranged tables back to where they were. While talking to each other, the waiter dropped a fork on the floor, lifted his shoulders as if he was saying: ‘Ops’, picked up the same and placed it on the freshly laid table again. The manager, standing right next to that, did not even say a single word about that unprofessional and unhygienic behavior of her staff. We, were just speechless and felt irritated about both behaviors, while taking a bite from our food.

We asked for the bill and left. When leaving the restaurant, none of the service staff noticed us, greeted or thanked us for the visit. One felt that as soon as the bill is paid, you just occupy space for other guests waiting.

A rather unfortunate experience and discovery. We truly expected more, based on La Serre’s reputation and previously released reviews.

However, we wish La Serre all the best for the future and good luck.

Keep exploring,

SEB

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Servicexcellenc... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location and in a quieter (maybe more grown up) section of town away from the Zuma and La Petite Maison area. Amazing short ribs and roast chicken with foie gras. The pain perdu for dessert was to die for. Breakfast at the boulangerie was pretty good as well. Outdoor seating was comfortable and service quick.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ludette867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Serre Bistro & Boulangerie also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to La Serre Bistro & Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing