We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #186 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

large room and en suite bathroom facing creek, with daily newspaper. Hotel good. Breakfast good selection. Opens early. Dinner in restaurant good. 15minutes to airport by taxi - reasonable.. Hotel arranges excursions. Excelllent 4 x 4 dune tour. Beware if you are car sick. Ferries across creek easy. Must go up tower - prebook before you leave home. Very hot city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    182
    43
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
108
54
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zugdidi, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I booked a room in Riviera hotel. It looked so nice in all pictures. So I booked "creek view". After checking in I was quite taken aback by what the room looked like. Creek view? from the second floor? Are you kidding me? I can only see boats. I wonder, why would I pay more for the room if I don't get no creek view? The room was very dirty when I entered. I tipped the bellboy and he snapped the money so fast I didn't even notice...The minibar...gosh I even took pictures of this pathetic thing. But the pillow cases are filthy. I just checked in a couple of hours ago and I already hate it. everything is so old in this room. And the TV that shows mostly channels in their language. Plus I asked king-size, but got two tiny beds....I mean what kind of vacation is this? no pool, no gym, nothing, just lust for money. Tour agents must know what they offer us.

Room Tip: find some other hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed a couple of days at Traders Hotel before I stayed another couple of days at Riviera as an extension to my holiday. Great location! In front of Dubai Creek where you can take the Abra (boat) ride to the other side of the Creek (Dubai Old Town). Shops are walking distance including the Gold Souk.
The Big Bus Tour stops in front of the hotel. Thus, easily for you to hop on and hop off.
The room is big an cosy with the view of the Creek. Great view especially during the night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTravelMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you want to experience the true culture of Dubai this is the place to stay. Situated on Dubai Creek , it is in the heart of the Souk and Market precinct. The hotel itself is old style with lots of character. The room spacious and the bathroom modern, spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent (Australian, Asian and Middle Eastern cuisine available). An Asian chef was on hand to cook your selection. The staff anticipated your every need. Top quality accommodation for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Tea making facility in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the creek side room, well air-conditioned and clean room.
breakfast was OK. There are some Japanese food so my husband was happy to eat with smoking hot omelet.
The staff are also nice, always helped us gently.
I recommend this hotel if you stay in Deira area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Overall room, staff, services, breakfast not bad. We had a connecting room and one of the room was big, had living room 2 flat screen tvs, 2 air-con. Breakfast was quite good too.

Unfortunately one incident spoiled the whole experience. We went for a desert safari at 4pm, my mother thought since the staff had cleaned up the room, they would not enter the room again, so she left her handbag in her room. When we came back, we were pleasantly surprise that there was the Turn Down service, and we were given chocolates dates. However my mum also discovered that her 200 Euros was missing from her handbag.

I guess my mother shldnt have left her handbag exposed, so to everyone, please be careful and take care of your belongings. Placed valuables either in the safe or locked in the luggage.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chewbacca80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

lovely hotel, rooms very big, tea/coffe making facility, super big bathroom with full size bath, lovely big comfy double bed. Breakfast was an eating experience in itself they cater for everyone from chinese to us english!! Staff at hotel were very friendly and willing to help with directions etc, the hotel is about 10 min walk to the famous Gold Souk...cheapest place in the world to buy gold!! and the choice was out of this world I felt like a little girl in a candy factory lol. Would def recommend visiting this hotel, gold souk and Dubai...loved and want to go back!!

Room Tip: make sure you request what you want when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandLThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dubai/Baniyas Square
0.0 mi away
The Carlton Tower Hotel
The Carlton Tower Hotel
#326 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dubai Deira Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Landmark Grand Deira
Landmark Grand Deira
#218 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.3 mi away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#34 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Baniyas Road, 17 | P.O. Box 1388, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Dubai
#139 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#160 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing