We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem...”
Review of Rice Creamery - CLOSED

Rice Creamery
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 18, 2014

You know that a business has done a great job when you find yourself saying "Why haven't I thought of that???"

Tucked away in a corner of Citywalk is Rice Creamery.

As you go in, you're immediately wrapped in a homey feel. I love the simple decor with whimsical touch of country. As a first time customer it was quite a chore for me to decide... with a number of rice pudding flavors to choose from (each one tasted great) and dozens of toppings, it literally is a foodie's dilemma (a good one at that).

When I finally made a decision (Crunchy with mixed nut topping), I was thrown back to childhood memories of milky rice puddings alternating with fantasies of how the other flavors could possibly taste.

The crew were friendly, efficient and knew their products well.

Really worth a future visit... maybe when they open another store or when Citywalk is no longer a nightmare to get in and out of.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmANomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amer A, Owner at Rice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

All we can say is that you really put a big smile on all our faces after reading your review because you defined exactly what we intended to do when we first came up with this concept a while back which is to bring back those childhood memories.

Thank you very much for your awesome review and we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience at Rice Creamery.

If you're on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, please follow us @Ricecreamery for all our latest news and events.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Absolutely genius, they have managed to franchise the traditional Levant rice pudding in a most marvelous way. Innovative flavors, excellent quality and at the same time reserving the goodness of the old fashioned recipe. A real lip smacking treat. It is light, not too sweet and just fantastic. The presentation and decor are extremely pleasant and the attention to details is admirable. I recommend Rice Creamery for everyone!! With all due respect to Sultan, this is NOT something that falls short of some NY franchise, this is a totally different taste, it is a very successful modernization of a traditional, home cooked dish, tastes differ, and trust me the rice pudding in this place is one of the best you can have. If you want the traditional one just have it plain, the orange blossom with no topping or the Arabic misteka again with no topping. I chose the knafeh and it was heavenly!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sardast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amer A, Owner at Rice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Maan,

Your feedback and comments put a big smile on all our faces! Thank you for that!

While we recognize that Rice to Riches in NYC were the pioneers from a commercial perspective, our inspiration for creating Rice Creamery came from our grandmothers' kitchens :-)

We are extremely happy that you had a positive experience at our store and we look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great variety of rice pudding flavors and extra toppings to choose from and friendly helpful staff always a winning combo will be back :) choc + oreo for the win!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amer A, Owner at Rice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks a lot for the positive feedback, really means a lot to us :-) Hope to see you again and if you're on Facebook or Instagram please follow us for all our latest updates!

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Rice creamery is a delicious Arabic sweet . It's cold and you can choose your toppings. They have different flavors of the pudding itself . My favorite is s'mores I add marshmallows to it and they toast the marshmallows . YUM

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sara11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amer A, Owner at Rice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it means a lot :-)

More S'More is definitely one of our more popular flavors and we're glad that you liked it ! If you're on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, make sure to follow us for all the latest happenings at our store.

Thanks once again and we look forward to hosting you again!

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited Rice Creamery for the first time on Sunday November 24 in the evening; and what a surprise! They sell different kinds of "rice pudding"; pretty much the same concept of an ice cream store. They have comfortable seating inside and outside, and very friendly service. But what a delicious treat, so tasty! Its great for that "super" snack while enjoying time on the relaxing terrace outside. I want more!

Better than ice cream; I recommend this place to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Review-by-Ewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amer A, Owner at Rice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Ewald,

We couldn't agree more! Rice Pudding definitely gives ice cream a run for its money :-)

We're glad that you enjoyed your experience at Rice Creamery and we look forward to hosting you again!

If you're on Facebook or Instagram, please follow us @ricecreamery to stay updated with the latest at our store.

Happy Holidays,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Creamery also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing