We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and correct portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ananta

Ananta
Ranked #100 of 9,099 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $120
Cuisines: Indian, Halal, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ananta welcomes diners on a gastronomic journey through the twenty eight states and 4700 miles of Indian coastline. Refreshed with courtyard views and dramatic with crimson furnishings and crisp white linen tables, Ananta is dominated by a magnificent show kitchen where guests can watch our masterchefs hand craft Indian delicacies in traditional coal-fired clay ovens.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and correct portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved the authentic indian food and the portions which were just right.
The food flavours came out very well and it was not overloaded with spices and oil.
We ordered a few dishes and all of them tasted different, which meant that the chef was ensuring that the same base of spices was not being reused
Staff was attentive and polite, one does expect that in the Oberoi

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MVy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Ananta, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at Ananta and sharing your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the food and balance and combination of the spices. I have shared your feedback with the kitchen team which I am sure will inspire them.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best in food, service and hospitality.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    51
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The customer service at Ananta restaurant is what made me enjoy the restaurant most. The food was a great experience. My sister and I had the Ananta Thali which gave us a variety of little dishes to taste from. We visited during Ramadan and a very hot month so was not able to see if there is seating outside or scenic views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank serene54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Ananta, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with at Nine7One and sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the thali and the quality of service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance at rohan.ogale@oberoihotels.com

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD & AMBIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I just loved the food presentation and taste! A must visit for all couples. Definitely recommend the non veg thali.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank vishay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Ananta, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ananta for your Indian dining experience and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted the learn that you enjoyed the food presentation and taste. Moreover, we appreciate you recommending the restaurant and the traditional Indian 'thali'.

We look forward to your continued visits and thank you for your support.

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdshore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had dinner last night at the Ananta Restaurant located in The Oberoi Hotel Dubai in Business Bay. After walking to the hotel and finding my way to the lobby; a little tricky by foot, I encountered a smiling hostess in front of the Ananta restaurant. I asked what my dining options tonight were. She was very well versed in all of the hotel offerings; “two this evening”. She explained in detail there Ramadan buffet offering in Nine7One (which was the restaurant I really wanted to dine in). After seeing the restaurant; it was full so I made my way back to the Indian Ananta restaurant where I was again greeted with a beautiful smile and seated at a table for dinner.

The service for the entire evening was very special and made me feel like I was dining as guest in their home. During the service they offered me today’s newspaper and a magazine while I was dining. There were three menus to choose from: first was their À la carte followed by a five course prefix and a three course prefix; the five courses looked like too much food so the server educated me on the value of the three courses. I did decide on the three courses and asked her to pick the options (3 with each course). She was surprised but I did convince her I trusted her to make the best choices on my behalf.

The food came at a very nice pace, was very well presented and the flavors were exceptional. All the food was fresh, cooked to order and presented with creativity and professionalism.

During the course of my dinner I did bite into a green chili pepper that had a lot of heat. One of the waiters in the dining room took notice and eventually pity on my suffering and brought me a bowl of plain yogurt. It did the trick and cooled my pallet so I could enjoy the rest of my meal.

I did have the chance to talk with the restaurant’s manager Sandhya Joshi and the Executive Chef for the room, who both took great deal in ensuring all of their guest enjoyed exceptional personalized service.

If you are in the need for a quality Indian dinner I would highly recommend Ananta for their ambiance, food, beverage and exceptional service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kdshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Ananta, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at Ananta and taking the time to share your valuable feedback and images on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Indian dining experience and appreciate your comments on the quality of food and service. I have shared your positive sentiments with Sandhya and her team and I have no doubt that it will inspire them to continue striving for excellence.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you the best in food, service and hospitality.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance at rohan.ogale@oberoihotels.com

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent Food and great Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

All indian dishes were excellent.. try the deserts - they are to die for. All this made possible by an intelligent and attentive staff

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Ananta, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your comments on the Indian dishes, especially the desserts as well as the 'intelligent and attentive service'. Your comments will inspire the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ananta.

Thank you once again for your support.

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananta also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Ananta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing