We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, but service could improve” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Jade

Blue Jade
Ranked #81 of 9,408 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Marina
Description: A contemporary restaurant that celebrates Asian cuisine by taking you on a journey throughout the East. The cuisine combines authentic flavors with a contemporary style and sushi station in the center of the restaurant, creating an ultimate Asian dining experience. Dinner: from 6pm until 11pm - Sushi-licious: every Sunday from 6pm until 11pm
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but service could improve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had very high hopes for this praised restaurant, and in terms food we were very satisfied. The service was not up to the same level.

Our Asian styled dishes included a beef tatari starter. For main course we had sea bass, duck and beef with rice and vegetables.

I tasted both the duck and beef. Both were nicely seasoned, but not too spicy. Meat was nicely complemented with Thai and Vietnamese types of flavours from herbs. I preferred the beef, because it was a bit more tender than their duck.

My father ordered their most popular signature dish with sea bass. I didn't taste it myself. He complimented it as very good, actually the second best sea bass he had during 11 days in Dubai (the best one he got at the Mango Tree restaurant at Souk al Bahar). He's very demanding about fish, so I trust his taste.

Blue Jade also has a good enough selection of wines, and the prices were reasonable considering the location at the Ritz-Carlton hotel.

However, the service was not as high standard as their food. I reserved our table table in advance by telephone and asked to get three glasses of sparkling wine upon arrival. They never came, and our waiter didn't even ask if we want them. Instead we got some tea. I had already eaten my amuse bouche (which was good) before we even got the drink list, and even then I had to especially ask for it.

We had reserved a table outside, and even though it was quite a chilly evening, they didn't have any heaters outside. So we decided to sit inside instead. The decoir is not as fancy as the hotel lobby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    81
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

When I don't know a city at all, or all that well I use Trip Advisor to help me choose my restaurant. Blue Jade is number 2 on the list so I of course presumed it must be excellent..trip advisor has never let me down..well this is the first. Furthermore one expects a restaurant in the Ritz Carlton to have a certain standard. My friend and I were there last night. We were joined by a friend who just had a glass of wine with us. On arrival she ordered a glass and we ordered a bottle. My friend and I finished our glass and had to ask numerous times if they could top up our glass as they had the bottle. Then she kept coming over and asking us to order, even though we hadn't even opened our menu, since our friend was still there. Once our friend left we ordered. I had Beef Tataki and my friend rice paper rolls. Both excellent. My friend was smoking and the dirty ashtray was still on the table. Then main course. I had Black Cod and my friend had Peppered Beef. My friend said his beef was very good. My Black Cod was very good, however I received 2 huge pieces of fish which was a little overwhelming as the sauce on the fish was very strong and sweet. Dirty ashtray still on the table. Now for the atmosphere. Outside is nicer as inside it is very cold and bright. So all in all very average. Food was in general good but the service very average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DBaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Blue Jade is a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Visited for dinner; very quiet which was shocking as the food and service were fantastic. Great advice on food selection from staff. Budget options if needed. Try the black pepper beef, Vietnamese sea bass and the sago dessert. Impressed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Asian fusion dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and i dined here twice during a recent week's holiday to Dubai. The first time was so good we came back for a second dinner later in our trip. The terrace has a lovely setting and the service is very good. We are a mix up starters, dim-sum and main courses across the meals and all were fantastic. Wine menu is a little limited but we had two very good bottles with our meals. Good value food, definitely recommend for anyone looking for good Asian cuisine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank adamj_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem in Dubai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is my first ever review for a hotel or a restaurant, but I feel compelled to do so after consistently having an amazing experience at the Blue Jade, from a service and culinary perspectives.
From a culinary perspective, Blue Jade selection of Asian dishes ( Pad Thai, Sushi, sea bass) is unparalleled to anything I have had in Dubai. The presentation of these dishes is always consistent, luxurious but authentic, which is really hard typically to have a balance between.
Half of the story at the Blue Jade is the service. Welcoming, warm, authentic, attentive, generous, smiley, consistent is what comes to my mind when I think of the Blue Jade team.
I love this place, and my kids love it even more. In fact, my middle one is helping me write this review and he made sure I write the last sentence!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PartyofFive2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Jade also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Blue Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing