We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and out of this world service!”
Review of The Oberoi, Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi, Dubai
Ranked #8 of 563 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay at The Oberoi Dubai and already missing it!

I have been to Dubai many times and stayed in most of the "top" hotels there - but this is by far and away my new favourite. I could not hesitate to recommend it, although I have to say right now part of the charm is the fact it is quite quiet and so relaxing - not like the tourist mad houses like Atlantis or Jumeirah Beach Hotels. This is peaceful, tranquil and classy in every way.

We had a luxury room - huge and extremely comfortable bed, amazing view of the hotel pool and out across the Dubai skyline. Just amazing at night. Bathroom was huge and it also had a walk in wardrobe - heaven!!

We arrived quite late on the first day and had room service - it was delivered quickly and food was delicious and well priced for the quality. Breakfast every day was fantastic, such a great choice and the service was just impeccable. The staff were so friendly and so courteous - nothing was too much trouble and they attended to our every need without being overbearing.

The pool area is lovely, and during our stay nice and quiet so we really enjoyed it, however if this hotel does start to get really popular it could be difficult to get a lounger by the pool as it is a small area. But we had a fantastic time sunning ourselves and swimming and the water, sun lotion and jasmine scented towels are a lovely touch.

We used the gym every day - it is a good size and very light and was never too busy. It has quite a lot of equipment although as a serious exerciser I would say it is lacking on a few things but we always managed to have a good workout there.

As everyone says though, the best thing by far the the staff and level and quality of the service provided. I've really never been anywhere where it was as good as The Oberoi. Midway through our holiday my boyfriend actually proposed to me - he asked the hotel that night if there was anything they could do and they made us the most amazing cake with "Will You Marry Me" on the top in white and gold! They left this and some roses in a rose petal heart in our room that evening and the next day at breakfast everyone was congratulating us! We felt like celebrities - they made the whole experience so special for us. I will never forget it!

The only downside about the hotel is the Iris bar on the top floor. The bar itself is gorgeous with amazing views of the Burj Khalifa but that staff are beyond rude. I'm from London and used to service with attitude but this was something else! The girls on the door looked me up and down (presumably to see if I was "trendy enough" for their bar) when we got there, and even though we went up on a Sunday night, when no one else was there, the hostess stuck us at a tiny corner table, even though the big sofas with views of the Khalifa were completely free. We had actually gone to the bar for champagne as we had literally just got engaged about an hour before, it was quite obvious we were celebrating but the staff didn't notice, and in fact the bar man came over and said "I hope it rains tonight then we can all go home"….. not what you want to hear in an expensive bar when you have gone to celebrate your engagement! Such a shame - they really let the hotel down and its so surprising the staff here are so bad when the rest of the hotel is so good.

I loved our time at The Oberoi and can't wait to go back. One of the best in Dubai bar none! And thank you all for making our trip so special!

Room Tip: The higher the better - the views get better the further up you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to provide your fantastic feedback about The Oberoi, Dubai. I am truly touched with your meticulousness and genuine sentiments

It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. As a hotel, we pride ourselves in the fact that our guests feel at home and have a sense of luxury being offered to them without being intrusive.

Celebration of wedding proposal was indeed a special moments and to be cherished – it is truly heartening to know that we played a role in enhancing such a special occasion for you and your partner.

Your positive thoughts have been shared with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit. We hope that you will travel to Dubai soon and make The Oberoi, Dubai your preferred destination again.

Warmest personal regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Oberoi Dubai at the beginning of February, booked a standard room with breakfast and were very pleased with the service and our room.

The Pro’s
+/+ The service is super. Very polite and professional staff.
+/+ The check-in was the best we ever had. We arrived at 1.30pm, 1.5hour before our agreed check-in time. Very friendly personnel and our wishes were adhered to (room on a higher floor facing the pool). As that particular room was not ready yet, we were allocated to the lounge where we were served nice coffee. After 15-20 minutes waiting, a lady came and apologized that it would take unknown time before our room was ready and if we would accept a complimentary lunch (and yes, we did and the lunch was very delicious!). Normally you can expect, even at 5* hotels, wording like “please come back in X hours” when your room is not ready yet, but Oberoi definitely provided service there.
+/+ Breakfast is tasty. It works with a menu and buffet mix. The buffet is maybe a bit smaller as you would expect compared to other hotels, but for sure a lot of choice and delicious food. Also the waiters were very polite and attentive, the service during breakfast was the most attentive we experienced in the Emirates.
+/+ The gym is a bit small, but the virtual tours when running, etc. are just great!
+/+ And last but not least, the rooms are great. The floor to ceiling windows and moreover the view are wonderful. The room itself is a bit different than the average hotel room, it felt more like an apartment than a hotel room, but very bright, large and clean. And the bathroom is very nice. Wonderful light design, large and very, very clean. The day on check out, we planned to go to Dubai Mall, but instead we decided to stay at the Oberoi that day to enjoy the hotel and our room!
+/+ Great location, close to the Dubai mall.

The Con’s
-/- There are no negatives, the only comment we could make is that there is no lobby feeling as usual in a 5* hotel and the drive way to the hotel entrance is constructed somewhat unhandy resulting in a car and taxi line trying to reach the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi, Dubai.

I am also pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience and thank you for all your appreciation on the overall facilities, service and our jewel, the staff.

I will certainly share your kind words with all our team.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Dubai in not so distant future.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arriving at the Oberoi you are whisked to one of several reception desk's where friendly staff check you in over a glass of juice, very civilised. We checked in before noon and were pleased to be able to get into our room early. Choice of pillows, excellent bathroom, butler service, Room service is really good. The management work well and are 'out front' at all times to assist with any issues. Housekeeping Manager Ritu was extremely helpful, and the General Manager Karim Bizid could not do enough for us, going the extra mile on several occasions with acts of kindness and thoughtfulness. This was a special Anniversary trip for us and it certainly is worth mentioning on your booking.
The Pool area is very good, Olympic size I guess and no trouble reserving beds or anything, the service is very efficient (Mona), within a minute or so or arrival, complimentary cold bottles of water, evian refreshing face spray, free sun lotion. Very relaxing and chilled, Mainly couples.
There is a free shuttle to the mall but even the hotels Mercedes 'taxi' costs only about £4.
Our Corner suite (1215) was spectacular, with views of Burj Khalifa from the bedroom and a distant view of the Burj Al Arab from the living room. Very peaceful, a real Oasis in the middle of Dubai. You could certainly live in this suite (finances permitting) and we stayed till the last possible minute.
Overall the staff are very friendly and accommodating and made this trip really special.

Room Tip: Suite 1215, Views of Burj Khalifa and Burj Al Arab from opposite windows, centrally looking down on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Oberoi Dubai!

We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic experience from start to finish and I am truly touched with your meticulousness and genuine sentiments.

Celebratiion of your Anniversary is a special moments and to be cherished – it is truly heartening to know that we played a role in enhancing such a special occasion for you and your partner.

I have shared your appreciation with Ritu, Mona and the rest our team – your words of praise means the world to them.

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Dubai and we look forward to welcome you back.

With warmest personal regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

spent 2 nights at the Oberoi – it was perfect. Service, quality of materials, decoration, food, location: impeccable! I only knew Oberoi Hotels from India, where they are known as the benchmark of quality. The Oberoi in Dubai easily matches this high standard. The interior of our room could easily be the interior of my place at home. And the service quality was just outstanding. Very, very helpful staff.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolce_Vita32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share the experience of your stay with us online.

At The Oberoi Group, all colleagues make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay with us in Dubai.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. All team members and I, look forward to welcoming you back to your new “home away from home” in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The oberoi hotel is the best hotel to stay in Dubai,every thing was marvelous and great.
Wonderful staff and excellant room service a very welcoming front desk. I will definately come back to this hotel whenever I visit Dubai.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellalouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear guest,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi, Dubai.

I am also pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your heartfelt recommendation.

I will certainly share your kind words with all our team and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

In Downtown Dubai, Oberoi hotel is an excellent addition, standing tall among the prestigious structures in the famous Business Bay area. Staff at the Front Desk is highly professional and would make you feel at home right from the start. Would like to make a special mention of the hospitality of Mr Karim Bizid GM, Madam Depika at reception and Miss Luh in Lobby Lounge. Smartly dressed staff at Entrance are always welcoming. Rooms are of very good size and have excellent view of Burj Khalifah. Rooms are extremely comfortable and the House Keeping staff is exceptionally warm, nice and caring. Overall service is excellent, timely and accurate. We simply can't stay at any other hotel in Dubai except Oberoi.
I would recommend that hotel management must include a light English breakfast in the room rate in the morning. This won't cost much but would certainly have great impact on the clients.

Room Tip: All rooms are same and have no bad points at all. Higher or lower floor depends on your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhammadAsadKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to provide your valuable feedback about The Oberoi, Dubai.

It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. As a hotel, we pride ourselves in the fact that our guests feel at home and have a sense of luxury being offered to them without being intrusive.

Your positive thoughts have been shared with Deepika, Luh and the entire team.

Also, your suggestion regarding light English Breakfast has been noted and we shall act on it.

We look forward to your next visit. We hope that you will travel to Dubai soon and make The Oberoi, Dubai your preferred destination again.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

After booking a hotel with such a high rating on Trip advisor, its not very nice to have to tell all the taxi drivers that you want to go to a hotel just behind the J W Marriott. The façade of the hotel and the drive way is very disappointing. The lobby is cool and lacks personality. The corridor to the rooms also have no character.

The rooms are however rather nice. One can't fault the mattress, although the pillows are very flat.The colourful painting and carpets add warmth to the room. The bathroom is large with a very nice tub. The Etro toiletries are very good and if you haven't been given bath salts, as I wasn't, please ask for it since it is divine. The shower area is extremely slippery and I would recommend that the hotel give a rolled up rubber mat to avoid injury. As most people have mentioned, the wardrobe area is extremely cramped and uncomfortable. The photographs of the rooms will show you full glass on the wall with a spectacular view. Be warned that this is not a one way glass and everything in your room and bathroom is visible from outside which sadly means the blinds have to be down most of the time. One can see even through the sheer curtain. The housekeeping department is excellent in the hotel.

In room dining is disappointing. The fruits in the room are boring, the tea and water is sometimes not replenished and the single meal I ordered was tasteless and was presented poorly. However the rooms are provided with nice glasses and a good wine opener. This is surprising since the buffet in the morning was excellent. What I liked is that it focussed on quality. I would particularly recommend the Saj bread with Beef mortadella as an unique and terrific hot dish. The pastry section was a bit disappointing since the Oberoi in India always has wonderful pastry in all their hotels.

To step out of the hotel one would recommend taking the office block lift past the atm machine to the ground floor and avoiding walking down the ramp. There is a mall at a three minute distance with a small neighbourhood Spinneys, an Iranian restaurant, an Asian restaurant and some casual eateries. Since the hotel is not at a central place, one has no option but to take the limousine taxies which cost 20% more than the regular taxies. The metro is a 7 minute walk through sand and construction. The hotel has a shuttle service which can be used for a drop to Dubai mall, DIFC , Jumeirah Beach. If one uses the bus for a pickup at Dubai mall, be ready for a one hour drive around Dubai before returning to the Hotel.

The best part of the hotel are their efficient staff. They just do their jobs in a cool fashion. No one addresses you by your name or asks you how your day has been. They are not overtly cheerful and will not ask you during checkin if you a good flight. Perhaps this is the Oberoi way of functioning but I personally prefer a little personality in service professionals.

There is a lovely bar on the top floor called Iris which has personality and style from the moment one steps onto the 27th floor. Its a fairly popular place with locals but was a bit too windy and chilly for my taste when I visited Dubai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having been our special guest recently and for taking the time to share with me the above objective observations.

The entire team and I strongly believe that it is only through comments like yours that will give us the opportunity to improve and becomes the best.

We don't want to be another 5 stars hotel, nor another new hotel in the chain, but we aim to be the best property in the city and in the Group. Your detailed feedbacks will definitely assist us in achieving the goal we set forth for this unique property.

Please accept my sincere apology for the all the inconvenience caused regarding the meal you have ordered which was not appealing. this matter will be looked into at the earliest.

Thank you once again for the honest feedback and specially for having taken the time to experience the hotel.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 563 in Dubai
3,720 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#15 of 563 in Dubai
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#7 of 563 in Dubai
3,005 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Taj Dubai
#13 of 563 in Dubai
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Dubai

Address: | Business Bay, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 563 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $152 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary luxury hotel that embodies height, light and space and overlooks the iconic Burj Khalifa. The Oberoi, Dubai is located within minutes from the Dubai Mall and the Dubai International Financial Centre. The 252 spacious guest rooms and suites have floor to ceiling windows and offer spectacular views of the city’s skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi, Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing