We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, superior Cuban food, excellent DJ!”
Review of Cafe Habana - CLOSED

Cafe Habana
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great vibe, superior Cuban food, excellent DJ!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Habana is a lovely little restaurant and bar, which gradually becomes more and more like a club as the evening progresses. Service is very attentive, and friendly. The food has its highlights: the corn on the cob rolled in cheese, the yummy pastrami sandwich (the Cuban), the Tres Leches dessert. The music is very very good, and ladies night on Mondays is a treat (free margaritas and mojitos).
All in all, a little gem of a place in the pretentious Dubai night life landscape.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    48
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced Drinks.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I used to love Café Habana. It was a new spot in Dubai serving good Mexican/Cuban food with a great vibe.
Until on my third visit there, I ordered 1 pitcher of Sangria (aprox.3 small wine glasses) and they charged me 509 AED (138.59$).

The price I paid for that sangria is equivalent to two bottles of wine and a glass of rum at this establishment.

It was a scam. We complained. They didn't listen. I never went back since.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAJ_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a Few Drinks and Snacks”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant, but the service was slow and it can get very smokey inside- the drinks were excellent though, some interesting mixes on the menu- go on a Monday for ladies night. Recommend having the bar snacks rather than a full meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenvdm8023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved Cafe Habana”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My only sorrow the place is wee tiny and too many smokers inside so an absolute no fr mums to be and people who cannot stand second hand smoke . Another damper they do not serve all the desserts mentioned on the dessert menu sheesh why oh why.Expensive and small portions but lively atmosphere and I would go there again and again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haboba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Great location, nice crowd and music.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Souk Al Bahar seems to be the place to party for Dubai's chic crowd. The place is packed on Thursday and Friday evenings and Cafe Habana is no exception. The latin house music sets the tone for late-night nightclub experience. The cusine is a strange fusion of cuban and tex-mex, having the virtes of neither. The menu is uninspiring and the food is below average. Added to this, a clumsy attempt at Cubanization the interiors, with a predictable Che potrait, and a grimy feel of the furniture make for a typical dive bar ambiance, if one was looking. Drinks at AED 70 and food at AED 40 to 60 for stsrters and AED 70 for mains are high for the overall experience. Service is eager but sloppy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Habana also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing