We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lebanese food at Awtar”
Review of Awtar

Awtar
Ranked #732 of 9,567 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Awtar, located in the upper Atrium, has an opulent and dramatic interior swathed in a traditional tent-style ceiling. Awtar's Lebanese menu includes a lavish selection of hot and cold mezze, and grill items designed for sharing, as well as a choice of authentic desserts. In this intimate setting, diners are entertained nightly by a talented live band, a singer and a charming belly dancer. Shisha is available in the evening. Timings - Dinner (Saturday to Wednesday) : 19:30 to 03:00 hrs,(Last order 01:30) Sunday closed Dinner (Thursday & Friday) : 19:30 to 03:00 hrs (Last Order 02:00) Eid week(Open daily including Sunday for dinner)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Lebanese food at Awtar”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The entire assortment of Lebenese food and the belle dancing was an eveing well spent in good company.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank raosalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on Awtar! Your comments are highly appreciated, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to our restaurant’s associates.

We are waiting to welcome you back for another great Lebanese experience!

Warm regards,

Conor O'Leary
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    29
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food and nice ambience”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We came here on a Thursday night with a small group of friends and parents. The staff is very friendly and helpful and especially the Moroccan waiter is superb! The place itself has a nice ambience and you can feel you are in an Arabic/ Lebanese restaurant. The cold mezzes are to die for! The meat and seafood were also delicious. The wine we had with the food was excellent and it was well paired with the food. They have also live entertainment during the evening (live band and belly dancer). It was nice for a while, but at some point it started to be a bit too much. The music is very loud and you can barely hear what the others are saying to you, especially if you sit at a table close to the band. I like live bands, but more as a background music and you can still talk to your friends without screaming. Other than that, fabulous!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swansky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your positive dining experience at our restaurant, especially complimenting our service, food and beverage offerings, as well as entertainment. It is always great to hear about our guests’ satisfaction, as this is truly what we strive for. I will certainly ensure that your feedback is communicated to the restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back for yet another Lebanese dining experience.

Warm regards,

Conor O’Leary
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

To start with you are in the Hyatt Grand Hotel here so you would expect quality. You get it. The service was excellent throughout. The atmosphere, we were outside, was great with the lights of Dubai, although not the Burj Khalifa, twinkling away, and the food was very good indeed.
It was our last night in the Emirates after a three month contract so it was a bit of a "push the boat out" time. We had the 250AED fixed menu with eight different cold starters (excluding the biggest bowl of salad you will see!), six different hot starters, six different dishes for the main course, followed by six different desserts. Too much you may ask. Yes, way too much but just go for it.
The quality of the food was first rate throughout. The cold starters just eased there way down, the hot starters, especially for me the lamb sausages and the chicken wings, full of flavour and so good. The main problem was leaving the space our waiter had told us to do, to do the main courses justice. We did, but it was hard work. The seafood part of the main course was excellent, just one prawn (massive) and some simply grilled Hammour, and was accompanied by three different types of kebab.
Now there was absolutely no way I could remember what we'd had so the waiter photo-copied the A la carte menu and underlined what we'd had. Not only that but it was given to us in a plastic folder! We'd promised to stay off the alcohol until we got back to Burgundy and we did but noting a Cote Challonaise on the wine list I asked who the producer was. The wine was brought to the table for me to check it out. The service was absolutely unbeatable throughout and was a distinct highlight. Some of the best service I have ever had in a restaurant. Thank you gentlemen for helping make a special meal unforgettable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnofBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“That what we are”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The place take you to the Arabic hospitality the food and the live entertainment give you a feeling of Arabic country the food good and the service as we'll

Helpful?
1 Thank almasry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
201 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous Middle Eastern Tastes”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved the whole experience of this restaurant! We were sat in a booth away from a large group and despite the business we had our own designated staff. The staff were warm and engaging. We chose our food and when some of it arrived it was different from our experience of Middle Eastern food. We just asked how to prepare the salad bowl of ingredients and the staff smiled hugely and gave us a lesson in how to eat the food. They kept making sure we were on track with our meal and enjoying the food. The food was fresh, tatsy and well prepared. A great experience for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jjeurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awtar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Awtar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing